Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Takoda Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Takoda Camping NOW CLOSED
Kirkby Stephen
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed from 2017

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gamekeeper1809 1 review from this member

This is a relatively small, quiet campsite. Despite it being near the main road from Brough to Kirkby Stephen, there is not a lot of road noise. Facilities are relatively basic, but more than adequate for camping.

The walk into Kirkby Stephen takes about 10 minutes, which has a good range of shops and services. Plenty to see and explore round about, including Brough Castle & Church, Brougham Castle

(Near Penrith), Tan Hill.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ajax31 5 reviews from this member

Small but perfectly formed site, clean toilets & showers. Just 8 PPPN, no arrival departure restrictions. Nice local pub in Winton just a mile away which had nice ale & food. Ideal for Eden Vally & How Gills. It was our first trip away for one night in our newly purchased trailer tent, so ideal location & weather on this occasion.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mmick 5 reviews from this member

Wonderful shower/toilet block - spotless, clean, spacious, new and heated with free showers which was a relief after I'd needed to wear gloves in May on the hills.

A warm welcome, quiet tidy site on the banks of the Eden for tents only and a short stroll from town for food and refreshment. Good value for money in a location ideal for visiting the Yorkshire Dales and North Pennines. I will be back shortly.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zipie 1 review from this member

Excellent little site. Clean free showers. Large heated common room with seating & tables (useful when wet/cold!. Can plug your phone in to top up (did see a family using the room to plug in a hair dryer etc).

Friendly & welcoming proprietors - have a few 'essentials' available in office if you've forgotten anything.

Close to small & lovely town of Kirkby Stephen - plenty of takeaways and pubs.

Woke up to curious bird noises - huge colourful Parakeets flying wild around the neighbourhood.

Some traffic noise - tip: camping over in the main field would be quieter than around the amenity block.

Enjoyed the whole experience - I'll be back

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kenny M 1 review from this member

I stayed at Takoda for one night on Saturday 11th May. I arrived on my motorbike soaking wet and cold, the lady in reception could not have been more helpful, she put the heating on in the site lounge and told me the water would be hot for a shower shortly. I should point out that I was the only visitor on the site, I felt embarrassed having all the facilities to myself. Others have covered the local town Kirkby Stephen and district so I see no reason to. This site is a little gem.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PioneerVenture 2 reviews from this member

My buddy and I stayed at the Takoda during our coast-to-coast pushbike ride, and it was our favourite campsite of the jaunt.

The facilities are really good, especially considering the reasonable fees. The showers are token-free, push-tap jobbies, and are nice and hot. You can charge your phone in the lounge area, which is handy if you're on the move for a few days.

The Takoda is a short stroll from town for your evening vittles. The campsite is just the right size and it has a friendly feel; the owners seem to be doing everything right.

Being next to the main road, there was a bit of noise from traffic, but it's not a particularly busy route, so it wasn't an issue during the night, and I'm quite a light sleeper.

The grass was maybe a bit long, wellies would have kept my socks dry, but that's me casting about for downsides really.

And don't worry about the occasional screech from the trees - that's just the local wild parrots!?!

I would recommend the Takoda to other coast-to-coasters, or any campers who prefer to steer clear of massive sterile caravan parks.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Norrisg 31 reviews from this member

Would love to leave a five star review about this site as its got so many good points, however there were a couple of niggles.

On the positive side, the owners son was very welcoming and lent a mate of mine some milk. The pitch is level and its a good location by the river and close the town which has everything you need.

The club house is excellent a really good space for if the weather is bad. Toilets pretty clean and showers free and hot.

Unfortunately when we stayed the grass in the main field was miles too long and this made walking on on it when wet, pitching up, using camping stoves all troublesome.

The tumble dryer was broken, and the showers have one hook and nowhere for you to put a shower gel or shampoo - really annoying!

That said we'll definitely go again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Riff 15 reviews from this member

We went to this site for the August Bank Holiday weekend as it seemed the whole of Yorkshire was fully booked!

The site owners were welcoming and the pitch fees reasonable, especially considering it was a Bank Holiday.

The facilities were clean-ish but the mop for the shower was looking a bit sorry for itself and could do with replacing. That said, I never had to wait for a toilet or shower as there are sufficient facilities for the size of the site.

The location is slap-bang in the middle of some wonderful walking country and Kirkby Stephen itself is only a ten minute walk away. All three pubs we went in had good beer, good food or both.

I must mention the really, really excellent curry house as well (Mango Tree). I tend to go for house specials at curry restaurants. I was not disappointed. Seriously - try it!

The downside of the weekend was we had to cut our trip short a day early. As mentioned elsewhere, the grass is rather long. If the grass was trimmed it would make all the difference. It makes it impossible to keep your feet dry. It also means you cannot see if there are any dips in the ground. There was a (forecast) severe rainfall on the Saturday. We didn't realise we were camped in a dip which formed a puddle under one corner of the tent. This soaked up through the groundsheet and up the tent walls. The result was my bed, sleeping bag and the contents of my rucksack got saturated. With no dry clothes left and a soaking bed, we had no option but to leave the following morning.

I will return to the site at some point, but will pick my pitch much more carefully. Even experienced campers like us can become a cropper!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pinochio1963 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for two nights recently, great site, level and well cut,

The weather wasn't the best so the on site clubhouse which was heated was a big bonus, there's power to charge phones etc,

the toilet and showers were tip top and there's parrots flying around the site during the daytime, I had to look twice!

A short walk to the town also, great supermarket and a few pubs and takeaways. Only thirty to forty mins from the lakes too.

The river runs right along side of site, plenty of wildlife and the midges were not too bad,

will definitely be visiting again.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2770 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019