Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Municipal De Gannat Le Mont Libre

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Auvergne > Gannat > Camping Municipal De Gannat Le Mont Libre Reviews

Camping Municipal De Gannat Le Mont Libre
10 Route De La Batisse
Gannat
Auvergne   (Browse area)
03800
Tel: 0033 04 70 90 12 16
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Derekcbr 79 reviews from this member

 First time at this site. Using it for a one night stop before heading north. Really lovely site, well kept level grass pitches, separated by hedges which give you privacy. We were able to choose our pitch which gave us a wonderful view. The man on reception spoke good English and took our €15 which is wonderful value for this lovely site. The sanitary block had a his and her side and was clean and tidy. I have no hesitation in recommending this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: PoppyDaisy 11 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. Everything is spotlessly clean and they even have loo paper! Good size pitches, with well grown, high hedges giving you privacy, which I like. There are also some without the hedging. Wifi free all over the site. Bread orders taken at reception. There's also a cafe and a small shop. There's a wee children's playground and a tiny pool which looked lovely. Good walking for my dog just outside the site too. I'd just pulled into a layby to try and find somewhere as it was getting late and I'd driven from Montpellier and come far enough! Hey presto, I found this on your site. I mentioned ukcampsite but they didn't know what I was talking about! Ha ha. If I'm in the area again, I'll definitely come back. Highly recommend. It's quite a big site with 55 places but well spread out. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geof261145 1 review from this member

 I have used this site many times during my journey to and from Spain, I find it an excellent site for one night or longer, the toilet facilities are very good with hot showers and washing water, the staff are friendly and obliging, because it sits high above Gannet the views are great, wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site to any caravan or motor home traveler, Gannat has many restaurants and supermarkets within easy reach 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lidds0 34 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely little municipal site which we've used a few times for a night or two stopover (the location is spot-on as it's not too far off our route south).

As has already been mentioned, it's set on an incline but most pitches are level and of adequate size. Sanitary blocks are basic but fine, and clean. There is a small pool on site.

What really makes this site, for us, is the ambiance and the helpful, kindly, smiling staff. We've twice encountered characterful and free 'entertainment' which is provided by local groups: once, a puppet show (absolutely wonderful!) and once, a local folk group (campers took their own chairs or spread picnic rugs on the grass, and free food and wine was provided - we've never encountered anything as special as this before, ANYWHERE!).

This is a special site. We love it! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roxydog1234 1 review from this member

 Stayed only 1 night going south in July and stayed 1 night going north in August, just about spot on as a half way point to the Med.

The toilet block looked newly painted and were very clean, with toilet paper on our visit lots of hot water.

The site was a good size and very good as a one night stop over there seemed to be a lot of other campers doing this. The site was quiet on the way back could have been the time of year and sits high above the village of Gannat only 5 minute drive to shops Lidl etc fuel was a good price in superstores so supplies are easy to come by with a 24 hr garage on the way out going south to fill up also takes uk bank cards.

The location of the site is less than 10 mins from the A71 just before Clermont-Ferand making it an excellent break point before the trek over the Pyrenees.

The staff were very friendly and helpful was told to pick a pitch and come back and book in.

As this is a municipal site but\I must say for €14 a night for 2 people and a dog it was very good staff could not do enough for us.

Overall – An excellent well maintained site that was clean and tidy Good for a one night stopover or a week. This is a very quiet site that we will be visiting again in 2015. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Farside1 17 reviews from this member

 Best thing about this site was the birdsong. Beautiful.

On the downside the grass was very long and the toilets (lots of hot water) were only so-so in cleanliness terms with no seats on the steel toilets (I hate them) and of course no paper. Just felt a bit run down and although a great location for an overnight I think I might look elsewhere next time. Be careful where you park - very few electric hook up points so you may need a very long power lead. Only €14 though so good value and there is a small playground and secure perimeter fencing. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smarksmith 27 reviews from this member

 Ok, let’s get the ‘not plus side’ points out the way as I can’t really think of any negative points for this site.

Firstly if you are taking a caravan, make sure you have a well matched towcar as the little road up to the site is a fairly steep one.

The toilet block is best described as dated, however they were very clean, newly painted and served the purpose quite adequately.

The ‘Plus Points’, the site was a nice size and excellent for a one night stop over as we were using it for (as well as many others we saw). It was also used for longer stays judging by the set-ups that some people had. The site is very quiet as it sits back from the village of Gannat up a hill, that said it is only 5 minute drive to Carrefour, Intermarche and Lidl so supplies are easy to come by.

The location of the site is less than 10 mins from the A71 just before Clermont-Ferand making it an excellent break point before the trek over the Pyrenees.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. It does say on the site you can’t book in till 14:00 because the site office is closed 12-2. We arrived at 13:00 so sat around waiting, however one of the staff was passing and saw us and kindly advised us to just pick whichever pitch we fancied and sort out check-in/payment later.

As this is a municipal site it is not set up with all the bells and whistles but for €14 a night for 2 people and electric it is very good value for July. There is a small pool and kids play areas however after an 18 hour drive we found sleep a priority over pool time so I can’t comment on these facilities.

Overall – An excellent well maintained site that was clean and well cared for. Good for a one night stopover or a week. This is a very quiet site that we will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DawnAnnMason 31 reviews from this member

 We used this campsite for a night halt on our way south and loved it and at just under €14 including electric hookup, I don't think you can go wrong.

Only took approx 10 minutes to reach from the A71, we got a bit lost at first but once you reach the town centre, there are signs for the municipal campsite.

The campsite has to be one of the most peaceful sites we have stayed on, with virtually no noise from traffic; just the sound of the birds.

Friendly lady on reception, who spoke limited English. Small array of groceries for sale in reception at very reasonable prices, plus bread ordering service.

Spotlessly clean toilets and hot showers.

Lovely town centre with in walking distance with a selection of bars and restaurants.

As mentioned in the previous review, there is a relatively steep hill leading to the campsite, but it wasn't as bad as what we thought it was going to be and was no problem for us or other units we saw, so don't let that put you off.

We will definitely use this site again and is very good value for money. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jillbabe 4 reviews from this member

 Usual French municipal site. Nice and clean toilets and showers with plenty of hot water. Very good night halt. Washing up facilities for campers. Small round unheated outside pool. (Only opens in season.) Positioned on a hill with large terraced pitches. Very steep gradient to the entrance of the site but no problem even for large caravans as the road is very quiet. Loads of Dutch use the site every year. About 11 to 12 euro's a night for caravan with electrics. (Electrics reversed.) Some pitches have hard standing with good views of the countryside. 10 minutes walk into the town of Gannat and 2 minute drive to the supermarkets 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Municipal De Gannat Le Mont Libre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Municipal De Gannat Le Mont Libre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Municipal De Gannat Le Mont Libre?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Municipal De Gannat Le Mont Libre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gannat      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Auvergne

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3432 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement