Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Phillimore Garden Centre Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Royston > Phillimore Garden Centre Campsite Reviews

Phillimore Garden Centre Campsite
Cambridge Road
Melbourn
Royston
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
SG8 6EY
Tel: 01763 260537
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rsmpil 1 review from this member

 Beautiful well proportioned sites. Friendly people.

Would recommend and go again.

Toilet and shower block could be modernised but with covid we used our own. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I have been threatening to visit this campsite for over a year and so many things have got in the way, weather, CV-19, commitments, etc, however this weekend just gone I finally made it.

I enquired by email and they answered promptly and quoted me the price for 4 adults, one dog, a VW T5 and small pup tent, which was £13. 50 if we shared a pitch or £10.50 per couple if we had our own pitches. The pitches are huge, so we shared.

You have to check in at the garden centre and they required a £20 cash deposit for the gate keys, this is because they lock the outer gates at night and allows you access throughout the evening.

The site has quite a lot of permanent caravans and chickens roaming around, and neither the chickens or permanent residents were any hassle and left us alone. There was a dog wandering unattended at one point, but we shoo'd him away and he left.

We found a pitch at the far end of the site near to a fire pit and it was flat, spacious and loads of them had electric, however we did not opt for hookup. We had use of the firepit and luckily I brought some logs along and this was a lovely touch.

We opted to wander up to the Green Man, which took about 15 minutes from the pitch to the door. We did not eat there but the food coming out looked good and the menu selection seemed good and reasonably priced.

Lots of the usual beers, wines, spirits, etc and the pub was fully CV secure with hand san, one way system etc.

There is another pub the other way out of the site, but we did not venture there, however a couple of the residents on site said it was nice and defo worth a visit next time.

Back to the site, there are a quite a few trees, so watch where you pitch if you like morning or evening sun. The whole site is very flat and there is fresh water taps as you drive and bins and recycling too.

We did not spot a washing up area, however the toilets were very clean and there were showers, but as we were just a quick one-nighter we did not use them. I did notice them being cleaned at around 10. 30, which is good. The toilets don't have loo roll, so do be prepared to bring your own.

There is a garden centre on site along with camping shop and presumably a cafe too.

Close to Duxford IWM and many other attractions. It is also close to the A10 which could be heard throughout the day / night, but it was not that intrusive.

I will be back to this friendly, clean and great site. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tezza1 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this site last year, but on arriving this year found it to be much improved, Jeff, the site manager keeps it in good condition, some trees have been removed which opens the site out, pitches are more defined and marked and all have electric. The toilet facilities are much the same unfortunately, only one for male and female, and no hot water, however they do appear to have been spruced up from what I remember. There are 4 showers which appear to be mixed with plenty hot water, and a laundry room with washer and dryer, one sink, no hot water. This site is adults only, with some seasonal caravans sited.

For a stay of a couple of days it is ideal, especially for Duxford and Cambridge. Security is good, the main garden centre gates are open during wotking hours, but the gate to the site is kept locked during these hours, a key is provided for this, and the main gate with a deposit of £20 refundable.

Nearby attractions are the aforementioned Duxford (well worth a visit) Cambridge, best visited by using the park and ride off the M11/A10, very cheap. Shepreth wildlife park is a 15 min drive away, RSPB Fowlmers the same, and a co-op and other small shops (plus chippie) in melbourn down Cambridge road (turn right out the site.

There are rail services to London from nearby Meldreth and Royston, the latter also has a morrisons. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tezza1 4 reviews from this member

 Found this delightful little site when visiting Duford air festival, and was let down by my previous booking. The guy in the garden centre (which is in charge if the site) was very helpful and sympathetic and found a spot for me in their over spill field, no hook-up, but all on my own.

The main site is in a beautiful fruit orchard, with electric hook-ups, toilet facilities were basic, but adequate as was the shower, though an extra few facilities would improve things no end. There is a garden centre on site and also Cross camping, with tent displays and a well equipped shop.

There is plenty wild birds on the site, and if you're in to birding, RSPB Fowlmere is a short drive away.

Access is easy off the A10 down Cambridge road with Phillimores' being the 2nd garden centre on your right. Cambridge is easily accessed from the park and ride just over the M11, and of course Duxford Air Museum is a short drive away.

I'm hoping to get back this site this year for the Air Festival in May. I can thoroughly recommend this site.

Didn't have a child, but there seemed to be plenty of space for them to enjoy. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gartempe 5 reviews from this member

 We came here because it was close to the garage where my car had been fixed following a breakdown (a505 vehicle services. Great place, thank you very much). What a lovely find. Site is perfect, peaceful and very clean. The only drawback is that there are only two toilets (one of each) but it was quiet when we were there so no problem. Toilets a bit basic but adequate. New showers now open. Just a suggestion though, more toilets and a washing up point would improve things immensely. Didn't bother us though, we would stay here again. Perfect as an overnight stop on way to Channel ports or a visit to nearby Imperial War Museum and Cambridge.

Can't really comment on child friendliness as no children about ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bert n Bob 1 review from this member

 Little Gem of a site

We came over this wonderful caravan site, purely by coincidence 👍🏻

My husband and I plus our 2 little dogs have just returned home after spending 5 days at this wonderful little site.

Although close to the A10 the noise isn't really noticed, we pitched our caravan in a adorable apple orchard where we were surrounded in peace and tranquility.

We had electric hook-up and there is a nice clean shower block which is for ladies and gents, enjoying lovely hot water each and every time we had a shower.

Last but not least a very friendly garden centre where you can have a wonder round, and enjoy a nice cup of tea and a very pleasant meal indeed.

Also a pet and wild bird centre present.

We throughly recommend this delightful little hidden gem which is adult only. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fredbell 1 review from this member

 A very quiet site and lovely surroundings in the orchard. The facilities are poor with the toilet block being the main disappointment. Makes sure you take toilet roll with you. The showers are ok, water is hot but I agree with a comment earlier that you need to keep your clothing out of the way as everything gets wet. Would I stay here again, yes. Its a good location and now I know what the site is like I could cope quite well for a week caravanning. If I was in a tent then no. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan patterson 3 reviews from this member

 This site did not live up to the previous reviews. The setting is beautiful, with tourer sites in the orchard, very green and pleasant. However site is also used by local workers, residents who all share the very basic toilet amenities. There is one ladies toilet, and two gent's. Toilet paper is limited so need to walk across the site carrying the necessary toilet roll. The showers are good and hot, but hanging space for clothes and towel is limited and it can be difficult to keep them dry while showering. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue6 38 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site and I would use it again, dog friendly. Nice garden centre, very helpful also a very good pet shop. There is a bird reserve near by at Fowlmere, that at a bit of a stretch you can walk to. The nearest pub you can walk to, but the drinks are expensive. Royston Cave is worth a visit and the heath is good for a walk, the club is open to the public. Hitchin is an interesting town. Duxford Imperial War Museum is good. Adult only site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mckenzie567 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights lovely peacfull site, set among orchard trees a grand little café set in the well stocked garden centre had good fish & chips for lunch, will certainly come back a very security site main gate close at 5. 30 but you pay £20 for key to come back any time money is refunded when you depart. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Phillimore Garden Centre Campsite child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Phillimore Garden Centre Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Phillimore Garden Centre Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Royston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2046 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement