Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cross Hands Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Moreton In Marsh > Cross Hands Certificated Site Reviews

Cross Hands Certificated Site
Indemnifying Farm
Little Compton
Moreton In Marsh
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
GL56 0SP
Tel: 01608 674288
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
                7/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stef Jake 5 reviews from this member

This is a nice size site with clean facilities.

It has a compact wash area.

It is next door to a great gastro pub. If you get the chance pitch near the loos as it's a bit further away from the road, so less road noise. Unfortunately some star gazers nicked our pitch!( apparently it's a great site as there's no light to interfere with the telescopes)

They also have pods which you can hire

We will be going back

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dicko57 1 review from this member

This is a very basic site, a small field with a unit which consists of a mens toilet, a ladies toilet, washing up type kitchen space and one shower. All very old-fashioned, but when we visited, were clean. There is literally nothing else on site, however, the nightly rate reflects that and the site is, therefore, fairly good value for money.

We stayed over a weekend and did not see anyone in charge the entire time and when you leave, you simply post the money owed through a door.

The site is adjacent to a very busy road, so road noise is quite bad, although this does quieten down at night. There is an excellent pub literally next door with friendly staff and good food.

Unfortunately, the weekend we stayed, the owner had rented out one of the farm buildings for a rave, but forget to inform us of this forthcoming event when we booked. Had he done so, we would have certainly gone elsewhere.

The noise was unbearable, beginning early evening to the early hours of the following morning, with the party goers, making even more noise as they were leaving. After talking to other disgruntled and very tired campers, we learnt that this was the first time this had happened.

Therefore, be warned when booking, it may be worth enquiring of any forthcoming events - unless of course you simply love garage music and feel that being kept awake all night adds to your weekend.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mondilife 2 reviews from this member

We had a very pleasant stay here. It has all the basics including hook up, chemical disposal point and water with some extra little creature comforts you don't get in many sites such as washing up liquid beside the sink, kitchen roll and a soft hand towel in the ladies loo. There was a camping pod nearby which even had a torch hanging up outside the front door. All these things suggested a site put together with care, thought and consideration for visitors. We didn't notice the hardstanding (on left through the gate) when we arrived and parked on the flat grass. It had been raining and when we bumped into the owner while he was cleaning the facilities, he offered to tow us out if we had any difficulties. We didn't but it was a kind offer and we appreciated it. We also liked the gate allowing access to the Greedy Goose pub next door where we had a warm welcome, a decent pint, a nice meal and a bowl of water for the dog too. Good hospitality makes both campsite and pub worth a visit with Chipping Norton, Moreton in Marsh, Stow on the Wold and the Rollright stones within easy exploring distance.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Benfold1 11 reviews from this member

Stayed for a night as a stopover really on the way up the the Lake District. We had a hard standing opposite the reception and toilet block with 16 amp hook up. There is a field for tents etc also. Compact and basic but everything you need, toilet, shower and washing facilities. Nearly next door to the Greedy Goose pub which you can walk to on the grass verge. Nice walk out to the back of the quarry which was next door. We didn't notice any noise from the road and only saw two vehicles going to the quarry in the morning. Nothing for children there if you have them. Overall, very handy and a good price at 15pn inc h/u. Good access roads leading to it. Accepts dogs.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vinylvaughan 19 reviews from this member

A really enjoyable stay at this site. All the facilities were situated right next to us. Washing up room, a single toilet, shower room. Also a chemical waste disposal, water points and recycling. The owner met us on arrival and made us very welcome. Most of the pitches are on grass, but we did find a bit of an hardstanding pitch to stay. The Greedy Goose pub is just around the corner from the site, on the main road. Just be careful of the traffic, there is no pavement, but there is a grass verge. Pub is well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angie g 1 review from this member

Small site situated on the main road between Moreton in the Marsh and Chipping Norton. A perfect spot for exploring the fantastic Cotswolds. The noise level of the road was not bad.

Only one toilet and one shower but both were clean and well equipped, the shower was really large. There is a pot wash area which had information about the area and about the fossils that can be found in the quarry adjacent to the site.

The Greedy Goose Pub is right next door but we didn't sample their hospitality. There is a supermarket in both Chipping and Moreton with farm shops along the road.

Very friendly owner. Will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gggg 1 review from this member

We were on a small break returning from Avebury so we decided to make a small visit of the Cotswolds as it was on the way home. This also let us take in the Rollright's at the same time; catching them in the evening with the sun starting to set is a truly magical scene with fields of corn stretching out before you. A must if you're in that area.

Arrived and found we had the site to ourselves. Small site surrounded by trees and hedges and accessed by two large gate it is adjacent to the A44 which gets quiet after 10PM till 8 and though pitched close to the road didn't really notice the traffic, but there is a small layby nearby and the noise of the trucks (two) fridge-systems could be annoying at first. Next to the campsite is a small working quarry but again didn't really notice it.

Owner was very pleasant. Site gate unlocked with instructions on the front of the hut. Facilities very limited. One uni-toilet, one uni-shower, and one sink. All clean but if more than 6 persons then things could be fraught in the mornings.

Pub within walking distance (100 M) but no prices on the outside so didn't go in. Chipping Norton, not a lot there but locals very friendly. Anything major you'd have to go to Witney. Bear this in mind if you start getting short of gas, etc.

Toured the area. Very picturesque. Mueseum of Oxfordshire worth a look, as is Witney. All had free time-limited parking but found no problem with this as it's generous, but check.

Overall a few enjoyable days and at 7/n for both of us was great value. On our last night an owl perched very close by and we fell asleep to it's hooting.

Wonderful end; Britain at it's best. Negatives, this site is probably not suitable for children.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 176 reviews from this member

This site situated halfway between Chipping Norton and Moreton-in Marsh on the A44 takes its name from the now closed site at The Greedy Goose pub. Being a certified site there is no reception but just ring a number on arrival by the gates at the site entrance. Found the owner to be friendly and even gave me a lift to Chipping Norton as buses are very sparse. Site has a large field with some ehu points for tents with some trees at one side. Being a working farm there is some vehicles passing occasionally, there was also some quarrying being carried out too,that said it was very quiet at night with even the road noise dieing down. Toilets a bit basic but clean and functional with a modern shower cubicle. Limited hardstanding so best to ring first if this is required. The Greedy Goose pub/restaurant is just down the road. Paid 16/night with ehu and hardstanding.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019