Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Major Bridge Park Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > East Yorkshire > Holme On Spalding Moor > Major Bridge Park Certificated Site > Reviews

Major Bridge Park Certificated Site
Selby Road
Holme On Spalding Moor
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO43 4HB
Tel: 01430 860992
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Flearn 11 reviews from this member

 A nice quiet site. 3 separate fields so plenty of room.

Grass kept nice and short and not trailing everywhere.

Toilets and showers are basic but clean.

Site steward very friendly and helpful.

Nice walks or cycling along the old railway line from Bubwith to Market Weighton. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jondy376 62 reviews from this member

 We received a lovely warm welcome on arrival, the pitches are grass with plenty of room. The showers and toilets were spotless, Brilliant for a dog walk down the old railway about 3 mile to the West and 2 to the East, we walked to Market Weighton on of the days and caught the bus back, they’ll drop you off right outside the gate The site is well maintained with easy access. We enjoyed our stay. Thank you 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Readytogo 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful six days at this site, there is so much room to choose from when we were there, as there are two big fields to choose from and the owners were so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble, the shower and things were basic but clean, we used our own in the caravan.

The village had all the things that you will require eg food and drink, and as one of the other reviewers said don't be put off by the entrance once through the view is great and the grass is well short at all times. We will return 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Charsue6464 1 review from this member

 If you are looking for a friendly site with owners who care and look after you well you have found it, set in open countryside covering three fields one with electric hook ups.

A quiet site plenty of room for kids to play and if you like walking you can walk the old disused railway track that runs through the middle of site.

Shops in village about a mile away also open until 10pm handy if you forget anything, good pubs serving food also cafe and chineese in village.

If you want a nice break give it a go we go every year and would recommend, another point you are only 20 mins from York, Coast 45 mins and moors an hour. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kevin Fear 11 reviews from this member

 Especially recommended for large motorhomes.

Another successful visit to this wonderful site. Tucked away from the world with easy access for large campers (we have a 9. 4 mtr RV with trailer) and plenty of space for our grandchildren to run around and play. Hard (very hard!) grass site with access to electric for a limited number-you may need a long lead. Shower and loo's are adequate if a little dated. We were able to empty our on board waste tanks without a problem. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Chinese take away and local shop around a mile away. Market towns within 20 minutes drive. Very reasonable fees! Will definitely visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Familycamper21 6 reviews from this member

 This is a quaint, quirky little site!

The owners are very friendly and will help out with electic hookups etc.

The caravans and tents are arranged around a large greenhouse and there is also a large field at the back.

There are good toilet facilities and a funny shower for which you are invited to pay £1.

The only thing we found odd was the complete lack of washing up facilities which did make eating at the site challenging.

The site is just next to the disused railway track from Market Weighton to Bubwith which is great for cycling.

The site is near to Holme on Spalding Moor which has a great Chinese Takeaway.

This site is great value and we will be going back. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lurcher Mac 50 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights at this great site as we wanted to walk the Howdenshire Rail Trail which runs through the site.

It is a large site that is spilt into 3 areas in two fields. There is a lot of room to spread out, which isn't always the case on some sites. The main field has an area by the greenhouses where EHUs are available. If you don't need EHUs, you can chose your own pitch anywhere in the field.

There is another fantastic field on the other side of the railway trail that is used during busy periods. This area wasn't open for camping when we visited and was used by children on the campsite for playing ball games.

If you have little ones, you may want to pitch near the toilets/showers which are well maintained. This site is great for dogs as there are loads of walks in the area where they can have a run off the lead. Our dog loved it and snored very loudly at night!

Holme on Spalding Moor is a short walk away from the site. There is a great chippy which is open lunchtimes and until 8. 30 at night. There are some shops, a butcher, cafe and a couple of pubs that serve food. There is a general store which is quite expensive and has a limited range.

There are shops/ pubs/ supermarket in Market Weighton and Pocklington which are both nearby. There is a great Italian restaurant (Pane E Vino) in Pocklington, if you don't fancy cooking.

If you fancy doing something different, canal trips are available on Sundays at Melbourne which is a short drive away. The canal is located behind the Melbourne Arms pub. The trips are organised by The Pocklington Canal society (a local charity) and do not need to be pre-booked. There is no set charge for the trips, they ask for a donation which goes towards the costs of the upkeep of the boat.

This is a great site, in a fab area, at a bargain price of £8 per night for 2 adults and a dog (without EHU). We will definitely return to this site 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Travel Bug 14 reviews from this member

 We first stayed at Major Bridge on the ukcampsites meet in May (great weekend). We loved the site and enjoyed the friendliness of the wardens and owners.We stayed again the following weekend and we plan on more visits this summer.

We loved the location of the site, 2 miles from the village which has 3 takeaways, 4 pubs, bakery, a butchers, cafe and a few other shops.

The facilities are basic but kept clean, no washing up facilities but we used hot water from the tap and washed up back at the tent. Fees were £8-£9 per unit so excellent value for money.

The site is a large, flat field with the best dog walk, at the back of the site. Whilst on our walks we saw red deer, foxes and rabbits only meters away from the site.

On out second visit we didn`t hear the bird scarer not sure if this is because we were pitched away from the farmers field or if they only use it when the seeds are first sown.

This is the first time we have camped with limited facilities but we enjoyed the peace and quiet and the wildlife so much that we plan on finding more sites like this one. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: A.lawton650 7 reviews from this member

 Having recently visited this site for two nights this may I felt I should pop in a review of this lovely site!

The site is set in a huge well drained and well mowed field surrounded by huge trees that are great wind buffers as well as lovely to look at! campers and caravanners all seemed to pitch around the edges of the site leaving the middle free for the kids to happily play on with no bother to anyone else, the rules on how far you are to be apart from each other are stuck to which is nice!

The toilets and showers are fairly basic but lovely and clean, there's no washing up sinks but the lady in charge says this is on the cards for very soon!

My only complaint and sadly a biggy for us is that the site is surrounded by high value crops that are protected from being eaten by birds by a 'bird scarer', this lets out an almighty bang from first light to dusk every hour, so we were woken up early by this and made to jump out of our skins until we got used to it, this is such a shame as this site is brilliant but future campers should be aware of this if taking young children who wake or scare easily and elderly people with poor health ! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Francophile1947 17 reviews from this member

 Totally agree with the previous two posts - a basic site, but everything you need with very reasonable rates and friendly staff. I always take my rubbish home anyway, so the lack of bins wasn't a problem for me.

Of interest to the older male visitors is the frequent sight of old cars that may, or may not, have been restored. Whilst there I saw the following restored vehicles - Morris Minor, Ford Corsair, Humber Sceptre and a 1930s Austin of some sort, plus an unrestored Morris Minor for sale.

Payment is dealt with in a relaxed manner. I expected to pay on arrival, but was shown to my pitch and told 'I'll be around sometime for the money' - £18 for two nights with EHU! 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Major Bridge Park Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Major Bridge Park Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Major Bridge Park Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holme On Spalding Moor      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54608 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement