Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Orchard House Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Canterbury > Orchard House Certificated Site Reviews

Orchard House Certificated Site
Elmstone
Wingham
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 1HJ
Tel: 01227 722336
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sezmat 1 review from this member

 We disliked nothing. A+. Lovely quiet site for a well earned rest. Amenities good. Only one loo but wasn't busy when we went.

Lovely couple very helpful and friendly would love to go back.

Nice walk to the village. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nickhedgehog 1 review from this member

 Small but friendly site, very basic but clean amenities - one toilet, one shower, sink. Washing up and water disposal point, drinking water fill up point. Quiet site, friendly owners, very pleasant. A few old cars and a couple of old boats at the top of the field but the camping area was nicely cut and level and had a few fruit trees. Electric hook up available. Dogs allowed, unfortunately the two units next to us didn't observe the 'dogs on lead at all time' rule, neither did it seem to be enforced by the owners. Though there was no real problem during our visit with our dog, not all dogs are friendly with people or other dogs/animals so it might've been in the owners best interest to enforce this rule. Other than that, walks opposite to exercise the dog around and throughout the neighbouring orchards. Nice part of Kent - give them a look :-) Pub in nearby Preston - Half Moon and seven stars, great food and atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Starry sky 1 review from this member

 Arrived via windy roads, but our car and trailer cope ok with these. The owners were friendly and helpful, one lockable washroom with two sinks and hot / warm water, one toilet (toilet rolls topped up daily) and small handbasin with cold water and one shower (free) with hot water and a stool. All three in separate rooms which were clean if a little tired but hey it was only 9.00 per night per unit, so personally I would rather make do with 'tired' and save my money for another trip etc. There were outdoor sinks for washing up but no hot water however if you nip to the washroom you can get warm water there (remember to take a washing up bowl to do this).

We did have couple of negative points:

There was a neighbour who started using a power tool like a petrol strimmer or chainsaw at about 5.30 or 6 one morning.

We stayed for 6 days (coming home a day early) and of those six nights next doors (house) dog barked for 5 of them. There were two dogs both kept in an outside run, and we felt the barking went on for a good 50% of the night - sometimes more. We had taken our own (quiet) dog with us as the site is a dog friendly one, so we are doggy people but still felt that next doors dog ruined the stay a little for us.

The last grumble was that the field that is used for the campers was a bit like a car graveyard, there were 3 forgotten about caravans / 2 or 3 forgotten about boats and 10 cars all at the top of the field that you camp in, you have to walk past some of the boats / caravans to get to the washroom / toilet.

All in all an ok campsite which represents good value for money, just needs an injection of life / the cars etc clearing away and more shrubbery planting between the cars an field and next doors dog to deafen the noise a bit. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bowlers 3 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a couple of nights at this quiet and peaceful site. The owners were very helpful and not in any particular hurry to take the money which was just 12. 50 pn. inc. EHU.

Just one unisex toilet and one unisex shower and one washroom (which you can lock for privacy), we found them lovely and clean and adequate. The roads on approach to the site were a bit windy and a little narrow in places but we did not find it a problem.

We heard very little noise from the area in general or the road. It is a short drive to Wingham where you can catch a bus (every 20 minutes) to either Canterbury or Sandwich.

We would certainly return to the site if we wanted to return to this lovely part of Kent. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Langmed 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this sight for one night, it is set in an Orchard so we were able to park under fruit trees, it was quite full with caravans and motorhomes, tents.

Everyone was very friendly, and the owner was very helpful. No hot water for pot washing but the toilet(only one) and the shower and wash room was lovely and clean with plenty of hot water.

There were was some nice walks for the dogs over the road, and a quaint church nearby, we didn't get to see the village, perhaps next time!The road outside the site was quite busy, but didn't hear any noise. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Parmit 4 reviews from this member

 My partner and I spent 9 nights at this lovely site. We arrived on the Tuesday to find we were the only ones on the site. The owners were on holiday so we were directed to find our labelled pitch and set up.

Our first night was disturbed by a dog belonging to next door constantly barking, however the neighbour did come to us the following morning and apologised saying he had only just got the dog. We found this considerate that he had taken the time to do this.

We had the site to ourselves for the first few days only seeing the owners son once in that time.

The site is a basic one but level with all amenities. Shower was lovely and hot however no hot water for pot washing, had to get some from the hand wash basin.

We did eventually get some 'neighbours' who turned out to be very friendly. The owner came to welcome us and we totally enjoyed our time there.

A lovely site with plenty to do and places to go in the area.

With some thought and planning more space could be opened up for more pitches.

Very reasonable price with EHU and we would not hesitate to recommend the site.

Hoping to visit again very soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thebullbok 8 reviews from this member

 Our second stay here at this wonderful site. So peaceful and restful.

Had two nights stay here, as last time. Helpful and friendly couple who run this site.

In the middle of Elmstone village not far from the beautiful, if small, church.

Wingham Wildlife Park is only a short distance up the road from here and it is not to far from Ramsgate, Broadstairs, Margate, Sandwich and Canterbury which all have some fantastic attractions.

Highly recommend this site for a tranquil getaway. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Orchard House Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Orchard House Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Orchard House Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Canterbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1062 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December