Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Windy Harbour Farm Hotel

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Glossop > Windy Harbour Farm Hotel Reviews

Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Woodhead Road
Glossop
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK13 7QE
Tel: 01457-853107
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 8 Reviews
                6/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alanterri 52 reviews from this member

 We chose here to be within 6 miles of my brothers 60th party.

Good Points:

18 a night for a fully serviced, stable 16amp pitch.

Portacabin toilets X2 and shower / toilet room were spotless well heated and loads of hot water.

The owners of the site and hotel were welcoming and friendly. Excellent beer 2. 90 a pint and homemade food. Try their roasts or the steak and kidney puddings.

Longdendale trail about two miles away.

Glossop 1 mile with plenty going on.

Not so good :

Windy - lives up to it's name.

Quite a few units are very shabby and occupied by 'away from home workers'.

Very small pitches by today's standard.

Ground is potholed and muddy with large puddles.

Chemical waste point is fine except for the grassy mud approach.

A lot of junk is lying about.

Adjacent road is noisy but in fairness didn't bug us.

Poor TV reception. Aim SW vertical and high as possible.

No space to sit outside caravan.

No dog walk.

We will return but for family convenience not for a holiday. 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lord Congi 5 reviews from this member

 Just spent a pleasant three days at this site.

The location has excellent views across the countryside but is situated right next to a very noisy road, my pitch was maybe 2 metres from the road with just a stone wall and bushes between them.

At 18 per night for myself only in a small campervan in November I thought this a little pricey as the site itself is all hard standing and resembles a car park.

There is only 1 toilet each and a unisex shower.

The dish washing facilities consist of 2 sinks without hot water in the open air, I had to empty a load of leaves from the sink before washing up.

Also there seems to be various bits of waste scattered around the site which could do with being shifted.

The owner seemed friendly and helpful and there is a restaurant on site but there was a wedding party during my visit.

The location and views and walking are great although it can get windy but that didn't spoil my enjoyment. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zoe J 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a short stay at Windy Harbour Farm Campsite. (We cut our trip short) I can certainly say that it lives up to its name. As the site is situated on top of a hill it really does get the brunt of the weather. We chose not to put our awning up because of the wind and had to help a caravanner opposite to take theirs down in the windy weather.

It is directly adjacent to a surprisingly busy road which our pitch backed up to. (only a couple of meters between our pitch and the road) Unfortunately the noise was loud and shook our caravan when certain vehicles went past. This was particularly disturbing in the night. This coupled with the noise from the aircraft over head made for a restless experience.

The site comprises of 10 fully serviced hardstanding pitches. (18 per night) The pitches are level and generously sized. The site also has 1 mens toilet, 1 ladies toilet and a separate unisex shower cubical. The facilities were adequate if a little dusty and a few too many cobwebs for my liking. We chose this site for these facilities as we have 3 children however we decided to use our own facilities in the end.

There appeared to be 3 permanently sited older caravan which I understood from staff are used during the week by their residents. The areas around one of these units was clutted (gym equipment, dirty crockery, electronic punch bag) and therefore unappealing. I feel that the site would benefit form some TLC. It has the potential to be a lot more attractive than it presently is.

The hotel itself seemed nice and staff friendly. Although we did not use the facilities as they were fully booked for Sunday lunch whilst we were there which is a good sign the food is to a high standard.

A very big plus side for the site is the fantastic view. We travelled along snake road to get to Hope and Castleton which are well worth a visit. It is also only 40mins to Manchester for a very different day out. A Tesco is situated in Glossop itself along with several good pubs. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Len. 29 reviews from this member

 The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and we had a decent meal on the first evening, with some very good company.

The road is a bit noisy, as were the aircraft but the latter added some interest for us.

The sanitary facilities are clean etc. But would suffer if the site were busy with tents etc. I think they are too basic for 18 per night.

The very well behaved D of E expedition in the tent field either did not wash and pee, or did so at very strange hours, so we didn't have a problem. The washing up area was full of leaves.

Glossop has a market on Saturdays, and Castleton is a busy walking centre.

We enjoyed our weekend. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grahammm 8 reviews from this member

 This site is basic, there's a huge camping field which I doubt is ever full but I've not been there in the height of the season. As for the facilities, think previous reviews have described pretty well. 1 male/female toilet is a little insufficient, particularly when there were 30 ish DofE students all wanting to go to the loo and get off at the same time in the morning.

From my observations, it seems to be a hotel with a bit of camping and caravanning as a side earner for the spare space available.

Beautiful area and good links to Glossop which has big shop, pubs, etc 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pollypocket74 4 reviews from this member

 Site - 18 for one night in campervan inc ehu (Whit week). Small and quiet; purpose built on a flat gravelled area adjacent to the hotel carpark.

Each pitch was spacious with modern ehu tower and drinking water tap. Could get decent TV reception. Staff were friendly but not intrusive. Resident llama and chuck on site!

One ladies and one mens toilet and a shower each (didn't use them as have our own facilities but appeared to be kept clean). Unfortunately not able to use bar as there was a function on.

Location - surrounded by lovely scenery, however, beside quite a busy road which was not a problem regarding noise but no path for part of the walk down to Glossop (turn right out of site and continue for approx. 20mins steady walk)

Glossop is bustling with a number of bars, restaurants, shops, a post office, railway station 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Corkynic11 1 review from this member

 Campsite located in glossop on the entrance to the beautiful peak district so not far from castleton where all the caves can be found.

Excellent location for walking treks. Not far from Manchester so easy access from motorways. 5 per night per adult or child in a tent on a field. Electrical hook up availablle for caravans.

Must book in advance and the staff were very friendly and happy to help. Food and Bar available in the main hotel but there are also many food establishments in Glossop town centre. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Windy Harbour Farm Hotel child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Windy Harbour Farm Hotel?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Windy Harbour Farm Hotel dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glossop      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5154 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement