Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Poplars Camping And Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Bridlington > The Poplars Camping And Touring Park Reviews

The Poplars Camping And Touring Park
45 Jewison Lane
Sewerby
Bridlington
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO15 1DX
Tel: 01262 677251
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dazormshaw 24 reviews from this member

We stopped here for the Spring bank holiday, lovely site in a great location, I would have given it's location a 10 out of 10 but for the train line running adjacent the site, it isn't a busy line so wasn't a bother to us but I could see it affecting some. It's only 5 minute drive from Bridlington's North beach. The owners were very friendly and helpful on arrival and always said hello when they were out and about. I'd definitely stop here again.

The site has a mixture of hard standing and grass pitches, the pitches were a bit on the snug side with not much room outside our awning but didn't detract from our enjoyment.

The toilet block is showing it's age but it was always clean and had plenty of hot water, the showers were free and had temperature control which is great when trying to get young children clean. There is also nothing for the children to do on site.

There is a pub just outside the entrance which we tried to book in but couldn't pre-book (although when we arrived a table had been reserved) so be aware. You are also able to use the facilities at Fir tree.

All in all a good site and I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davidandjunemuir 24 reviews from this member

This is mostly a small touring caravan site, but there are some all-grass pitches and they allow tents. We found the pitches quite tight for space, since we have a 5-man tent and a car; but it was doable. We did feel rather hemmed in by everyone else as it's a popular site and most nights it was pretty full, even during the week. The facilities are a little old but good quality, and always plenty of hot water, both in the showers and in the wash-up sink (only one, but most units are caravans and they tend to wash up there). The wash-up area drain was clogging up, so greasy water was flowing out onto the floor; and when we mentioned it, the owner just said it is because people put fat down the drain. Well, we know why it is, but it still needs fixing. On the positive side, it's a nicely kept site, and good value at 20 a night including EHU, free wifi, free showers (electric, so hot water never runs out and you can have as long as you like), and the owner will refreeze your freezer blocks for you each day for free. Location is also very convenient.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stoz 1 review from this member

Very friendly site, stayed one night with dog for a quiet weekend away

Toilet/ shower block nice and clean

The couple who run it very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be going again and will recommend it to our family and friends

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Natalie Hurst 6 reviews from this member

Again a lovely site. Been here 3 times now and always happy. The site is clean and tidy the shower block could do with a lick of paint but always clean. A suggestion was made to russ that maybe we could have a mop and bucket with disinfectant in for you to use to clean the shower prior to use. It would be of great help. The site is well placed for getting around. The bus stop at the end of the lane.

Will be back next year as usual. The owners leave you alone but are there if you need them. That suits us.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dusty675 1 review from this member

A great campsite, one of our favourites. Sarah and Russ are a lovely couple and always make us feel

Very welcome.

A perfect site to relax, peaceful and clean.

Looking forward to many more visits.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Natalie Hurst 6 reviews from this member

Do not agree with the last review. We have been here 3 times the last time in august 2015. The new owners sarah and russ are lovely. The price is good 20 in high season and bank holiday. Some sites are a lot more expensive. The toilet block yes, could do with updating but they are always clean and tidy. The site is child and dog friendly, but has no facilities for children. The pitches are of good size, awning caravan and your car. If you are in the middle you can leave your car in front of your caravan which gives you more space around you. All in all a good site and I will be going back next year. Ideal location for walking into sewerby. And you can visit the farm shop and cafe around the corner. Turn left at the end of the road. They do good food. They also have an animal corner, where the children can pet and feed the animals.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Daptor 1 review from this member

Toilet block clean but looks tired.

Grass had been cut and we walked it in to van.

Very slight sloping pitches.

Very quiet site but doesn't seem child or dog friendly.

Felt like we were walking on eggshells

Also felt squashed in not very cosy

Felt that 18 pound per night was too much for the very basics

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lekkiman 9 reviews from this member

What a lovely little site---not really for families with kids as there are no children's activities or playground. Toilets always spotless and grass kep't neatly cut. The owner was pleasant and helpful showing us to our pitch and even offering to lend us a tv ext lead if required. Being in a motorhome we rely on public transport and the bus stop is only a few minutes walk down the road (hourly and very punctual) Didn't try the pub but heard good reports about it, maybe the only slight downside was that a lot of the pitches consisted of concrete slabs which could do with some remedial work on them but not really a problem

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Linda mick 9 reviews from this member

What a lovely site, we booked this last minute, we know the area but not the site. We were not disappointed it was peaceful. The trains pass about one a hour but not a problem. The toilet and shower facilities were clean and tidy. The downside is there is only one washing pot sink. But there was never a queue. There are no facilities for children but we like that. We have booked to go back the week before august bank holiday. The prices are really reasonable, even at bank holiday. The owner walked us to our pitch and helped with siting the caravan. A lovely couple. More than helpful

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan-c1 8 reviews from this member

Suffice to say there's little new to add here, the almost universally positive feedback is well deserved.

We visited the site for 4 days having read the favourable reviews on this website; we weren't disappointed. On arrival we were met by the owners who were exceptionally friendly and made us feel immediately welcome. Having been shown to our pitch and set up we had no need to bother them again, they were available but discreet; presumably not wishing to intrude unless someone needed assistance.

The pitches are adequately sized - even with a porch awning - and not too uneven, despite the site being on a slight incline. Because of the small nature of the site all facilities are near all of the pitches and the site itself was wonderfully peaceful. There are no 'child friendly' facilities making this a terrific site for peace loving adults! The only 'minus' here being the 2 static sites on either side from where some noise emanated at the weekend, but we've certainly experienced much worse.

The toilet block was always spotlessly clean and unlike many other small sites did not 'close' for cleaning; something that I always find irritating! If you want to use the facilities during cleaning, the owner just waits until you're finished before resuming; excellent service.

Although there aren't any 'local' shops in the immediate area, there's a pub next door, the Martonian which is 2 minutes walk and the 'Co-op' is a short drive away. As is the '149' fish and chip shop; simply the best fish n chips I've had in years - don't miss this one!

Location very good then, peaceful as explained but a short drive to either Flamborough or Brid, and a pleasant 20 minute walk to The (Sewerby) Ship pub too. The locals in Flamborough we found very friendly also and the karaoke in The (Flamborough) Ship was fantastic on the Sunday; wonderfully amusing tone deaf locals giving it their all!

As for the immediate area, other reviews have accurately mirrored our experience. I'm reluctant to mention the oft quoted 'Malt Factory' as it simply wasn't an issue at all; no noise, smells or nuisance problems at all. The trains are almost as unobtrusive; very occasional 2 unit commuter units that simply sounded like a passing lorry.

All in all a terrific break and we'll certainly return!

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3781 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019