Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lady Heyes Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Frodsham > Lady Heyes Touring Park > Reviews

Lady Heyes Touring Park
Kingsley Road
Frodsham
Cheshire   (Browse area)
WA6 6SU
Tel: 01928 788557
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 67
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 169 Reviews
                8/10 from 169 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  169 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: December 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ina 33 reviews from this member

 We'd booked a pitch for 2 nights with friends and were able to book adjacent pitches. Access is good off the main road and there is ample parking outside reception whilst checking in. They ask for photo ID on arrival, which is clearly stated in the pre-arrival email. You have to pay 5 deposit for the barrier card, which is also needed for the men's facilities and washing-up area, but not for the ladies' facilities.

First impressions weren't that good: the roads and pitches are made up of what looks like dark grit/ash; it sticks to your shoes when it's wet. The roads also have potholes in places. Perhaps local rules state that tarmac isn't allowed, have seen that on other sites.

Pitches are quite sloping, so levellers needed. They aren't that big, although some are longer than others, some are actually quite short. Water, waste water drainage and EHU next to pitch, seemed to be shared between 2 pitches, at least it was where we were. The light on the bollards wasn't very bright, definitely need a torch for going outside in the dark.

There are quite a few caravans and also some motorhomes which are obviously left all year round. Some of those clearly haven't been looked after, one caravan in particular had an awning which appeared to be rotten, that area gave a rather neglected feel to the site. Both our pitch and that of our friends had rubbish around it, things like a plastic knife, an empty drinks carton, an old sock, which also didn't exactly give a good first impression.

The toilet block is quite big, with underfloor heating which was very welcome on a frosty December night! Showers are adjustable, but 3 of the ladies' showers have fixed showerheads and there is no way of keeping your hair dry (I don't want to wash my hair twice a day!) as it sprays everywhere. Rather than pointing down, they point outwards, and although there is a curtain, that doesn't help. There is a family room with a showerhead that can be moved and also a room for disabled people where the showerhead is also adjustable.

We had a walk round and into some of the shops, but didn't go for any walks further afield due to the weather. We didn't go anywhere in the car either, so don't really know anything about the surrounding area. On the 2nd night we did walk to the Travellers Rest pub for a meal. It had recently been taken over by new owners; all 4 of us really enjoyed our meal very much and would certainly recommend it. The walk there took around 15 minutes, there is a footpath, but part way there that stops and you have to cross the road to access the footpath on that side. Not a problem though; it was a bit dark in places, so bring a torch, we had 2 between us.

Would we go back? Possibly, but it certainly wouldn't be our first choice of site, although the chance of having another lovely meal at the pub could persuade us, but only for a couple of days again; it was convenient for us to meet up with friends, that was the main reason for going this time. We just felt the site had a rather uncaring feel to it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Frenchcamper 8 reviews from this member

 Very disappointed with this site.

Pitches are very small and not level.

No control with noisy campers. Friday night noise and music until 3am. Saturday evening we have 2 different disco parties running. Our neighbours have about 3 dogs that never stop barking.

The roads are made with a very dusty gravel which gets every where when windy.

Not a good site in my opinion. 


Date of Visit: January 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michel 1 review from this member

 Lovely site with good clean facilities. A cafe serving a good choice of food and drink.

Was pleasantly surprised to see a place to do a little bit of retail therapy, with an excellent candle shop were I purchased a few little candle gifts.

Loved it here even though it was early January and freezing, didn't spoil it though.

We will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: PHIL ROCHFORD 1 review from this member

 Staff very pleasant and helpful.

Pitch good and quite level

Shower block heated and very clean

Site itself well kept clean and tidy

Cafe area clean could do with a bar at night just sold cans from the cafe fridge 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tango55 23 reviews from this member

 Rather disappointed as the pitches are mostly sloping, not only to the side but front also to the front so a lot of chocking to get the caravan level. The double step had to be supported by a pair of two inch pieces of timber in order to make it level which was dangerous to say the least.

We couldn't use the awning either due to the fact that we were pitched adjacent to a low tree on the door side so a waste of time taking it taking up extra space.

The electric point was on the opposite side of the caravan and the waste drain was at the front instead of the back which needed a long stretch of waste pipe which I didn't have so ended up having to use the waste tank.

Each pitch had an electric hook up post with a light on top which the one on our pitch wasn't lit plus the branches on the adjacent tree were overhanging and had to duck to empty the waste tank at the drainage facility.

However, the toilet blocks were excellent and there are several dog poop bins around the site although they all looked a bit rusty at the base with the old paint peeling off.

There is a take away within a few hundred yards so decided to try it on the 6th night which although they did chips they didn't do cater for curry sauce, only mushy peas and although the chips were quite tasty they weren't 100% cooked and a bit hard in the middle.

Not very pleased with the site in general compared to others we've stayed at so not very encouraging in returning in the future. However, the campsite has a lot of potential but it needs some improvements especially on the level of the pitches and removing adjacent trees that are too close to units. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 124 reviews from this member

 This, our second stay was marred only by the mess made by the lawnmower strewing wet grass all over the access roads and pitches, with clods of wet grass being trampled.

It really made the site look very unkempt, especially given the rough cinder-type surface.

The shower blocks were lovely and warm and although the ladies block was cleaned twice a day, the gents didn't seem to be cleaned as often, or as required.

Unfortunately the grey waste area was fairly flooded and messy and unlit.

Sadly, the bis were full and overflowing by the weekend too.

I have to say that the reception staff were the most pleasant and helpful we've come across in over 11 years of touring and were a credit to the site.

I'm not one to generally moan about places, but given a little more pride in the place by the owners, this could be an outstanding site.

We will however, revisit, as it's in a good location. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: SheepySian 1 review from this member

 Absolutely LOVE Lady Heyes, it has everything we need for a little break away and isn't too far from home.

The facilities keep getting better and the staff are great.

Would highly recommend staying here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hammy106 2 reviews from this member

 Nice well run site, good service at check in and well in touch with current covid guidance and it's application is apparent in all areas.

Only stayed for one night enroute but would stay again and explore the area using Lady Hayes as a base. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LEO02 38 reviews from this member

 We paid 18. 50 per night for a pitch with EHU, and at that price the site offers good VFM.

The site was half full, and is a mixture of touring caravans, seasonal pitches and lots of glamping pods.

The best thing about Lady Heyes is the toilets/ shower block.

They are spacious, clean and warm, and are amongst the best we have ever encountered.

On site are a collection of antique shops, a children's play area and a tea room/cafe/bar all combined into one venue.

The site reception staff are really pleasant and helpful, and the security barriers offer good security.

Locally we visited Frodsham Town centre, which is packed full of little shops and pubs, and we also drove the 4 miles to Delamere forest to walk our dog.

The forest is well worth a visit, and is very popular.

The only negative thing we experienced at Lady Heyes were intolerant old people who shouted at some young children for bouncing (yes bouncing) a ball near their caravan.

We will return here, no doubt.

There are prettier, better landscaped sites, but at 18. 50 a night we were really happy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Gowdy 1 review from this member

 Just a bit disappointed, with a little more TLC this site good be so much better. We were on pitch 79 with a twin axle caravan, we could get the van all the way back due to the trees overhanging onto the pitch, with a small porch awning up we had nowhere to put the car so we had to put it on the sodden grass.

The toilet block is one of the nicest we've seen, unfortunately the shower curtain isn't wide enough so you end up with your belongs being soaked, no dry area to change in very cramped.

The web site states the club house is dog friendly, it's not, you're asked to go and sit in a dirty, damp, cold tent/ marquee with no actual entry door. When we mentioned that the web site said it was dog friendly the reply was we asked for them not to say that and the issue is the environment agency that wouldn't let dogs in. They must be special because all the local pubs/ restaurants are dog friendly.

Not the best of sites. 
via mobile


Previous     169 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lady Heyes Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lady Heyes Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lady Heyes Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Frodsham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56631 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement