Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wild Boar Wood Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Haywards Heath > Wild Boar Wood Campsite Reviews

Wild Boar Wood Campsite
Wild Boar Wood
Horsted Keynes
Haywards Heath
West Sussex   (Browse area)
RH17 7EA
Tel: 01273 980218
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 9 Bell Tents
Open: 08/04/2022 to 09/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (30)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AlexWalter 1 review from this member

 We have just spent a fantastic weekend at Wild Boar Wood, with our group of Italian students. I have been camping for over 30 years and never have I found such a wonderful campsite, so cleverly and sympathetically (to the environment) laid out. However, the real jewel in the crown, were the two wardens. To be honest, they were not really wardens (in the sense that I have experienced previously on other sites) rather they were an excellent host and hostess, for whom nothing was too much trouble. They are a huge asset to the campsite and as a result, I will be returning to Wild Boar Wood, later this season with just my family. Next year, I hope to bring more groups and larger ones to stay as well.

The site is the most beautiful site I have ever had the privilege and pleasure of staying at in the UK. My young children (10, 8 & 6) who usually try to be glued to their tablets, did not once ask for them (we hadn't brought them anyway!) They loved it, as did our teenage Italian students that are with us at the moment. From cooking over an open fire, helping the wardens (hosts!) with planting a tree, playing rounders in the field, exploring the wood, to mad running into said field to wave at the steam trains of the Bluebell Line (who always waved back) the kids never once were bored and slept soundly both nights.

Off grid wild camping (but without the need to 'make camp') this is quite simply the place to go! We are coming back later this year and next year!

Can't wait. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billybill 1 review from this member

 Had an amazing time at Eco Camp UK with my son Jack who's 13. Great set up, great booking support, great locations and great wardens. I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of going.

Had an amazing time at Eco Camp UK with my son Jack who's 13. Great set up, great booking support, great locations and great wardens. I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of going. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicola- 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic time here, the kids absolutely loved it, and my husband, who hates camping, has eagerly agreed to come back here next year. Eco Camp offers all the fun of camping (cooking on our own fire, using a bucket shower (with lovely warm water)) but in addition a spacious tent already set up for you, with comfortable mattresses. We had everything we needed to hand, and the wardens were extremely friendly and helpful when we needed them for any little thing, and very respectful of our space when we didn't need them. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arkiboys 1 review from this member

 Pros : nice woodland location, relaxing, friendly warden.

Cons : Car park is far from the tent but warden helped to carry our items using a wheelbarrow.  


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Danni Keenan 1 review from this member

 This campsite is an absolute delight. Hidden from any surrounding roads with only the sound and the magnificent sight of the Bluebell steam train (roughly 3 times a day). From the moment you arrive from across a field (1-2 minute walk) you feel as though you are somewhere magical.

We were lucky to have the whole of the Wild Boar Campsite to our family with 15 of us camping for the weekend and 4 extra visitors for an open fire cooked barbecue on the Saturday night.

Everything we needed was available on site from fire wood - bottle openers. Having stocked up a plenty on food and wine there was no need to venture anywhere else.

However we did go for a short walk to the dairy farm where we were greeted with huge smiles by the farmer. All 15 of us had the opportunity to milk the cows and we bought delicious cheese to go with our biscuits and port that evening (we bought our own port to 'glamp' with. )

We were aged between 17 and 62 and everyone had a delightful time.

Thank you eco camp! We will be back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Recycled_disciple 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights at Wild Boar Wood at the beginning of August, with my wife and 2 young daughters, to celebrate my 50th birthday. When we booked back in April they had only just opened for business, so it was a little risky on our part, but we weren't let down.

Hugh and Paul have put a lot of work into getting this site up and running, they made us feel really welcome and we had a thoroughly enjoyable time.

The site consists of about 9 furnished bell tents - everything is set up for you, you only need to bring bedding and a few extras - however, it is completely off-grid.

That means a wood-fuelled stove, water from a tank, compost toilets which were clean and adequate. At the time of our visit, Hugh was close to completing the shower system which included a wood-fuelled boiler and pressurised water.

We, however, had the fun of using the bucket shower - by the time you had gathered enough wood to boil 3-4 kettles-full of water you needed a shower anyway. The wood is being brought back into proper management, so you can help yourself to logs, twigs, etc. Which are everywhere.

When we arrived everything was very dry so no problem, but after 2 days it rained and then it was a different proposition. The tents slept 2 adults and 2 children comfortably and coped pretty well with the rain but obviously getting stuff dry is a bit of a problem.

Most people coming here would expect peace and quiet and they'll certainly find it. There are no signs to it and it's a good way off the road.

Also, Hugh and his partners don't generally stay on site at night. One night we were the sole campers, so the only company we had was a friendly woodmouse and a noisy owl. All part of the fun. Facilities for kids are limited but it's a great place to run around and go wild so they probably won't care.

The location is great - for outdoor enthusiasts Ashdown Forest is on the doorstep and well-known gardens like Sheffield Park and Wakehurst Place nearby. The Bluebell Railway runs literally yards from the toilet!

Overall, it could be classed as 'glamping' - that depends what your idea of glamour is! If you're my age, you can relive Swallows and Amazons or pretend you're Ray Mears for the weekend. It's not everybody's cup of tea, but the guys are offering an experience that's a bit different and we hope they do well. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nina+colin 1 review from this member

 We are fairly seasoned campers and thought we would try the 'glamping' side of things for something different. And we had such a fab weekend.

The bell tents are extremely spacious with futons and tables all included inside. Virtually everything you need is provided- cooking utensils etc as well as a wood burning stove for a kettle and a fire pit to cook your burgers and jacket potatoes!

The shower is a proper outdoor experience- watching the sky whilst washing under water heated by a wood burner, and the compost toilets (which we were a little scared about!) are actually not that bad at all! Certainly good for the environment!

The site is beautiful- in the middle of the Bluebell Woods and this is on the whole such a relaxing and pretty place to spend a weekend. There is a great atmosphere around the site and the two owners, Hugh and Paul, are really friendly and helpful.

We've had a great weekend here and will definitely come back again! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingtara 1 review from this member

 Our booking was handled really well, very friendly and welcoming. This matched the reception on our arrival. We were met by one of the owners who showed us to our beautiful bell tent and showed us around the camp ground pointing out the various features, all Eco.

The bell tents are really wonderful and spacious. Fully equipped with double or single futon and a hamper of quality camp dining equipment and accessories. Basically everything you need.

The Eco toilet was very nice and would be the most luxurious Eco toilet experience I've ever had.

I didn't use the shower but had I stayed longer I certainly would have. With its wood burning stove to heat your shower water and the pail bucket which you hoist above your head, I felt like it would have been a pleasure to shower in such a quaint, rustic open air cabin out in the woods.

The cows surrounding the woods were quite the campsite characters following you around as you enter & exit the campground hoping for a feed no doubt & the sound of the steam train passing in the distance added to the whole experience taking you back in time and giving you a sense of calm as it magnified the true woodland silence and natural forest music of bird song and rustling leaves.

Although it will set you back the price of a cheap hotel room or a nice enough B&B, staying at Eco Camp UK is really worth a try. The experience will outweigh what you've paid.

I cannot wait to return again to view the development of the communal fire pit and other intended developments. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wild Boar Wood Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wild Boar Wood Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Wild Boar Wood Campsite dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Haywards Heath      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2932 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement