Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Skirlington Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Skipsea > Skirlington Leisure Park Reviews

Skirlington Leisure Park
Low Skirlington
Skipsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO25 8SY
Tel: 01262 468213
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
                9/10 from 50 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lynnse23875cx 1 review from this member

 We stayed at the Cliff Top Site our first time at camping with our son aged 9. The campsite was clean and we had lots of space.

The lady on reception was really lovely and accommodating and made us feel at home as we arrived late on Friday night and was fighting to get the tent up before dark, was helped by fellow campers and we had a lovely time.

The club house at Skirlington was great and the swimming pool to have all the amenities just down the road and the band on the Sunday was great. Great entertainment on all weekend.

Will definitely stay there again soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Jonnypanic 15 reviews from this member

 Great site, good facilities, but could have benefited from a couple of extra showers in the block.

Loads of things to do, live music, entertainment, bars, fish and chip shop, mini supermarket, amusement arcade, American diner, hairdressers, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, gym, and even a market and car boot sale next door.

You really don't need to leave the site if you don't want to. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roobeeroo 15 reviews from this member

 Booked on this site last minute as needed a couple of nights to stop on tour. Was actually impressed with the site, lovely heated shower/toilet blocks, clean and warm,

The whole site was clean and well maintained. The fact that everything on site was a close distance inc clubhouse, cafes, fishing etc, not like some sites where you have a 15 min walk to the main facilities.

Can't comment on kids facilities as it didn't apply to us. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barryorton 6 reviews from this member

 Bit worried when we first arrived because the site was full and it's a big site, but we needn't have worried. There was no noise and there were no queues for anything.

It's a great site for kids of all ages, with lots for them to do. Access to beach and cliff top walks is good.

Especially recommend the fish and chip shop. Some of the best we've had anywhere.

Water points are a bit scarce so if this is important to you try to pre-book a pitch close to one, or check on the map given to you when you arrive and ask reception staff to change. The staff are very helpful.

We were puzzled at the lack of grey water disposal points and were told by staff to empty into any drain. Can imagine that this might sometimes leave an unsightly mess but never actually saw any.

As a retired couple we usually stay on very quiet, very small sites, but would certainly stay here again if we had our grand-children with us (as we did this time). 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barnabys 29 reviews from this member

 Just returned from bank holiday weekend we all had a great time.

A bit tricky on arrival as sat navigation takes you to their site next door which is statics only, could do with better signage but we were stopped by the warden who was really friendly and took us to the next site and checked us in and shown us to our pitch.

The pitch was grass and level and also large.

Water points took a bit of finding and aren't too many, no signs for waste disposal so emptied ours down the road drain.

Toilet and shower block spotless only 2 showers but didn't see a problem with queuing, there is 3 or 4 more blocks on site.

TV signal is good, mobile okish and I had no 3g for Internet, there's free wifi at the site pub but slow as all the kids are on it lol.

Swimming pool is small so go early or late and if your kids want to do the fun swim make sure that you put their names down earlier in the day or it will be fully booked.

Good kids play park, there's a better one on the other site only a short walk

Didn't use the pub or evening entertainment so can't comment on that.

Very dog friendly with great walks along the cliff or beach.

Short drive to hornsea or Bridlington.

The site was nearly full but didn't feel cramped in and was very quite in the evening.

Would definitely recommend this site, clean, tidy, friendly experience! 10/10 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pikeybob1 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights had a great time. Site lovely and clean no litter any where. All grounds really we'll tended. Toilets and showers spotlessly clean and warm. The site was very busy but everything was spot on.

Had tea in the Hollywood diner lovely grub at a reasonable price. The service by the girls in there was fab. They were bubbly and polite and couldn't do enough for you.

Carvery in the Tow bar on Sunday very nice at a good price. We asked to be sited near to the dog walking area and this was accommodated. They only disappointing thing if anything was the irresponsibly dog owners who let their dogs off the lead and let them run around uncontrolled then moan when you walked near them with my dog on his lead! There are signs all over he park saying keep dogs on a lead! Not the fault of the park though

This is a lovely place to stay and he staff are a credit to the park. Keep it up we will be back 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wobbler24 6 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for the 1st time as it had fishing, golf and a swimming pool and were not disappointed. The fishing however requires a permit which cannot be purchased on site and would have appreciated this being advertised a bit better as we had to pack up and drive back to the town for a permit!

This aside we had a great time. The swimming pool was great and not too busy. Sadly we never got to play golf as the fog was too bad. The 1st hole is a bit too near some sales caravans for my liking but I assume this doesn't cause an issue as it is where it is.

This is a very large site but is very well looked after and maintained to a spotless standard.

The on site shop is really well stocked and has everything you would need.

The amusement arcade was great. There is a great Chippy on site and the fish, chips and sausages we had were amazing. There was a young boy serving who was very polite and attentive and should be acknowledges for his customer service skills.

I think the best thing about this site is the fact that the toilet/shower blocks were spotless clean and warm. We would definitely come back here if in the area and hope this review will encourage others to do the same. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Taslinx 2 reviews from this member

 After reading some of the reviews, was surprised this was the same site! We were part of a group of 4 adults with 2 caravans who stayed for 2 nights mid-week and we couldn't find a fault with this site. We have been previously last autumn and will definitely be returning. We asked at reception when booking if we could be next to the dog walking area and was given a perfect spot right across from the toilet/shower block and close to the access to the beach walk. The staff were all friendly and very helpful (even the builders that were doing some repairs had kept the noise down and changed the area they were working in til they saw we were up and about)! The shower block was immaculate and well heated and loads of facilities on site (pubs, shops, takeaway, playgrounds, pool/sauna, fab walks and great location for lots to see & do). Thanks for a great stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ldh2905 1 review from this member

 We booked this site at the last minute after watching the bank holiday weather. After reading previous reviews we were almost put off but needed somewhere with indoor facilities due to the cold weather. We have also stayed at Park Resorts on the Isle of Wight which was great.

First the staff who as mentioned in most reviews could not have been more helpful. The site was a good size with facilities that could have been great given some forward thinking.

Our tent pitch was perfect until we realised that our hook up just was not long enough. The hook up was in the middle of 4 pitches in a row. This meant we had to go around the neighbours to hook up. Not the best idea to have wires across pitches especially in the dark? Because it was so quiet we had our pick of other pitches to choose from and were changed very quickly.

Went to the bar on the first evening to find that they had no draught lager but Stella left and would have their order in 2 days. Been a busy bank holiday weekend! Considering the weather would have thought would not have been as busy as usual this bank holiday. Also had no fruit shoots, ran out of coke and blue slush. Previous reviews have mentioned lack of drinks and I still don't think this has been resolved. This is only the beginning of the season so plenty of time to use any over orders.

The joke was that they would run out of water next, this did happen but only in the shower block! Man cleaning the ladies (without any warning signs) said 'hope you don't want a shower, having problems with the pressure'. Not now I don't! He proceeded to carry on cleaning whilst I quickly brushed my teeth and had a quick lick around the face with the flannel. Didn't even offer to wait outside or give me and my daughter some privacy.

Children's play area was fine and the pond was lovely. Pool and evening entertainment were great but very busy even at such a quiet time. Could imagine the chaos at peak times in the summer.

We would go back again but certainly not at peak times. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheapancheerful 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home from the bank holiday weekend, having stayed for 4 nights. Overall it is a very good site, but one or two things let it down slightly.

It is quite a large site and the entirity of it is as level and well maintained as a bowling green. Asphalt lanes with kerbs between the rows of caravans in great condition. Some idiot on our last night though thought these lanes were for his entertainment, zooming up and down them for half an hour on his motorbike at over 30mph in the dusk with kids playing yards away. Loads of bins and emptied regularly. The pitch sizes are very small though. The caravan that parked alongside us was 2 feet away from our's once they had put up their awning. Trying to get to sleep or read a book was difficult due to this as their lively chat felt like they were sat in the room with us.

The toilet/shower blocks were clean and plentiful enough. Water was always hot, although the showers could do with being a little more powerful.

The chip shop on site does fish and chips for 4 which were gorgeous and a proper size fish too. The following day though I ordered pie and chips but they had run out of pies, and my wife kebab meat and chips. Waited ages because the kebab meat was frozen (eh??) and needed re-cooking in the microwave which was broken. When it came out it was awful and not cooked properly. But to their credit they replaced it with lovely fish and chips.

We ordered 3 take out pizzas from the Towbar pub but they weren't particularly great, smothered in oregano, which was all you could taste.

It has direct access to the beach with a lovely beach top walk to get to it. Wake up early enough and you'll see a dozen or so rabbits hopping about around there. The beach was very pebbley and very few people on it, which was great for us as we could let the dog play in the sea further up where there were no people about.

The on site shop was well maintained and reasonable, a small arcade and big well maintained playground were perfect entertainment for our 9 year old daughter, and the wife loved the sunday market that was also on site.

The location is good too as 10 mins in the car you're in Bridlington, or 5 mins the other way and you're in Hornsea and the Freeport shopping centre which has some fantastic bargains on very fashionable clothes (not the usual rubbish stuff unsold from the main stores you usually see at discount shopping centres). I spent 40 in the Nike store which got me a pair of trainers, flip flops and a summer jacket. All of which look the biz.

Would we go again?. Maybe. 


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Skirlington Leisure Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Skirlington Leisure Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Skirlington Leisure Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Skirlington Leisure Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipsea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6653 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement