Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Auf Kengert

Campsite Search > Europe > Luxembourg > Larochette Medernach > Camping Auf Kengert Reviews

Camping Auf Kengert
Op Kengert 1 L7633
Larochette Medernach
Luxembourg   (Browse area)

Tel: 00352 837186
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/03 To 08/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sumitra 23 reviews from this member

Excellent high quality site. Pitches average size, shower and toilet blocks clean and a good standard. Small shop, good restaurant and takeaway. Pleasant swimming pool. Plenty of open space for children to play and a small walk through the woods which we enjoyed as it was very hot during our stay. No public transport though and no taxis and the nearest town was about 2 miles down a very steep hill. We enjoyed our stay and would come again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suzanne wilson 4 reviews from this member

This is the 3rd time of visiting this site and I don't think it will be the last. My first review was 4 years ago and since then the lovely owners have made improvements.

There is a new wash block with 8 washing up spaces with hot water and drainage facilities. Shower cubicles with or without sinks, cubicles with just sinks and communal sinks, plus the normal toilet cubicles. My children are grown up now, but I couldn't resist a little peak at the children's bathroom facilities. The owner's have used a woodland theme to decorate it with a little pond theme for babe's in arms and mini baths for toddlers in their own little bathroom with plenty of room for parents to move about to see to them, any kid would love bathtime in there.

There are now pods to rent as well as cabins and already erected tents.

This year wild boar was spotted in the adjacent forest, but Robert the senior management of the site assured us they are more frightened of us and won't bother you, but gave us a story to tell.

We made good use of the laundry facilities and the excellent bofferding beer.

Yolanda, marco and Martin were always on hand to make sure we had a great holiday, and we will be keeping in touch for another great relaxing holiday with them.

If you have never been to Luxembourg before, give it a try yo won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikey951r 15 reviews from this member

I was extremely impressed with this site because of it all it had to offer. Although the site is slightly sloping all pitches were level and have good hook up facilities. The Reception area also encompasses a well stocked shop, bar and restaurant and the prices were reasonable. They even do a take out service and we sent the kids two nights with bowls to collect chips. Also in the Reception area there is a multitude of information for visitors in various different languages and also a daily news paper from your own country. Bread and pastries have to be ordered the previous evening for delivery the next morning. There are two toilet blocks, the upper one is older, but still of a very high standard whilst the lower one has some of the best facilities Iíve ever seen including a bespoke shower block for children with diddy showers and a small baby bath in the shape of a volcano. All free and very clean. The childrenís play park is big with various different things including a zip wire. The owners are extremely environmentally aware and everything is geared towards recycling. Anything that cannot be recycled is placed in blue plastic bags and left by your van and is collected twice a day by the campsite. Unbelievable service. The town of Larochette is a five minute drive away although it can be reached on foot through the woods. There are numerous woodland walks nearby and also a bare foot walk trail on the site and an adventure trail. All very new and well kept. The on site pool is clean and well kept and right in the middle of the site. Buying a Luxemburg Card from Reception is a must because it gives unlimited travel by public transport in the whole country and also free entry to lots of different places. We paid 48 Euros for a family card for two days for five of us. On the first day we visited Larochette Castle, went a cable car ride in the town of Vianden and also visited the castle there, another museum and went on the Benni train tour of the town, all free. The following day we went in to the capital city by train from Mersch. Whilst there we visited the Natural History Museum, the Bock caves and had a good look around the city. Luxemburg is the cleanest and most orderly country I have ever visited. We paid around 140 Euros for 3 nights including hook up in August.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blueclouduk 10 reviews from this member

This was our second stay at Auf Kengert. We had stayed 7 years earlier with a frame tent.

The site has only improved.

The same family run the site and there seems to be unlimited help available.

The reception staff seem to be fluent in English, French, Dutch, German and Luxembourgish.

We both have mobility problems and we were pitched as close as is possible to the older sanitary block which has the level access showers and loos.

The on site shop is well stocked with essentials, including a very tasty and very cheap local beer.

We used the on site laundry which is in the cellar. One of the staff saw us heading for the steps and sorted it all out for us so that we didn't have to negotiate the stairs.

I was cheeky enough to ask for help taking the roofbox off the car so that I could go and have some 'fun' on the Autobahn, which is less than 30 minutes away. Within 5 minutes, a chap turned up to help me.

A little tip for diesel owners. The price is ridiculously low in Luxembourg. The most I paid for diesel there was 85p per litre.

Can't wait to make a third trio there

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Travel29 1 review from this member

Excellent site. The facilities are good and the staff, who speak good English, are extremely helpful. Within easy travelling distance of both Luxembourg City and Vianden. Site is a short distance from the local town where there are restaurants, ATM and petrol station. Good restaurant on site that is reasonably priced and serves very good portions.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Suzanne wilson 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here in September. We arrived in glorious sunshine after travlling through the night from the Midlands. Site is gently sloping and some pitches may require wooden blocks supplied by the site owners to level your unit. We were given a site at the bottom close to the gateway to the woods. We think it was because we have a large dog and they wanted us away from other units. But it was useful to step out of our camper and 10 yards into the woods. The site is very pretty with great shower blocks. We joked that you didn't really need soap as the dirt was sand blasted by the power of the water from the shower. The toilet blocks are very big and clean. The washing up area was a bit strange. It was located outside the main toilet block and the 'sink' looks like a water trough and only cold water is available - tip take a bowl with you and get the hot water from inside the toilet block. There is a shop on site that stocks all the basics and alcohol, which is very competitively priced.

The owners speak very good english and they directed us to a very good vet to get the checks completed for his passport before we left. The owners were very friendly and often sat and had a drink with us when we returned from a day out. We forgot a scart lead for our TV and they very kindly lent is one for our stay.

The restaurant is excellent, loads of food. We struggled and couldn't eat it all. They also do a take away service.

There are lots of marked walks from the campsite I would recommend taking the one to the castle in Larochette. Stunning views from the castle.

It is very difficult to find supermarkets the same size as in england but we found one in Mersch called Cactus. It doesn't look like a supermarket from the outside, but you can't miss it if you are coming from the direction of the site and it is only 10km away.

Places of interest. I would recommend, Viandan and Ecternacht, very pretty places.

Our children are grown up, but there is a pool and inside and outside play areas for the children.

We were surprised at the number of English people at the site, some returning year on year, and it doesn;t surprise me. We will definitely be returning again to this site.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Colourdmd 2 reviews from this member

Site is a little far from town for an easy walk for a meal but the on-site food is very good. Fairly quiet during our visit and swimming pool only at 21C a bit too cold for me. Pitches are mainly grassed but some hard stands for motor homes. Toilet facilities good but showers are in separate block and are a little cramped.

Shop has only a limited range this early in the season and is a little expensive but a new small supermarket is now open in Larochette about 2KM away.

A good base to explore Luxembourg with your own car as there is no local transport from the site

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Howardbarnett 1 review from this member

Very good campsite, great facilities for children. As mentioned, the pool was too cold even for the kids. The new shower block is by far the best I have ever used anywhere, beautiful with lavender hung from the rafters and very well heated.

The on site shop didn't have fresh meat and was not very useful, bear this in mind because the supermarkets nearby were ultra expensive so stock up before you get there.

The snacks were limited but good and the ice cream was ace. There are a lot of statics on the site so if that's not your bag then avoid this site.

The area is very scenic but if in a motorhome be prepared to have to leave your pitch sign and make regular journeys off base.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Luxembourg

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3885 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019