Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Picos De Europa

Campsite Search > Europe > Spain > Asturias > Camping Picos De Europa Reviews

Camping Picos De Europa
Avin Onis
Avin
Asturias
Spain   (Browse area)

Tel: 0034 985 84 40 70
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nikki_johnson 13 reviews from this member

 The drive to this site from Santander is spectacular. Beautiful scenery, a twisty road but worth it when you arrive. It is located in a National park.

Reception staff are very friendly and clued up about Covid precautions. The pitches aren't limited by hedges and are generously sized. We pitched next to a babbling stream, absolute heaven.

The facilities were absolutely spotless.

There are ablution blocks scattered around this massive site. At the time we went only 3 were open - the site was not very busy.

A brand new swimming pool and ablution block is nearly complete. The swimming pool was out of action - there is another smaller one. The new showers, toilets and washing up facilities were operational. Ironically these showers weren't as hot as those in the older block nearer the restaurant. The restaurant is popular and staffed by very polite people. The supermarket is sparsely stocked - shop before you arrive. Go early morning for fresh bread.

There are caves close by but they were closed when we were there.

We relaxed by the stream, caught up with lost sleep and chilled. We loved it so much we stayed an extra night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: CErrington 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite- we stayed for 4 nights- sadly it rained for three of them, but it didn't put us off the location. We were given a choice of pitch and opted to go over the little bridge into the tents area which had a lot of open space to play games. The facilities were a bit dated but always clean. There is a little pool, but not heated so we didn't use it. There is a small shop, and a great little bar and restaurant doing lovely food, with very helpful and welcoming staff. The area around 'Picos de Europa' is absolutely beautiful- we did some walks, and hired canoes to go down the river- it's well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roy gallafant 3 reviews from this member

 Perhaps it was because we stayed on this site out of season but we thought the site was run down.

The reception were friendly although the time that we needed them (when the electricity stopped working) there was no one to be found.

The showers were basic although the water was hot, the shop was very basic.

There is lots to see in the area but if I was going to this area again I would not stay at this campsite.

Perhaps it is a nicer site in the summer months! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bignose+jo 12 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with easy access from the main road, although it does slope down towards the reception area. We had a pitch in zone 3, next to the stream that runs through the site. This area gave us a choice of direct sunshine or shade and plenty of space. The toilet blocks are very clean with a decent supply of hot water although the pressure could drop at very busy times - we never had to wait for a shower though. There are two blocks, one newer with yellow cubicles and plenty of space and an older block that has traditional wooden doors and slightly less space and no stool to sit on in the cubicle. I preferred the older block as the water seemed hotter with greater pressure. Both wash areas were always clean.

There is an on site restaurant and bar. The meals are excellent and extremely good value for money. They have a daily specials menu and a menu board that you can order from. The staff were extremely patient and friendly and took the time to explain the various dishes whilst serving us. Just as an example, a two course meal for four people with drinks came to 28.

The washing machines were 3 a cycle and there were driers available, although we didn't use them. There is a small, circular pool that was clean and well maintained with sun loungers available although it was unheated. There were also enclosed trampolines for children and a pool table. Wi-fi was a free but only available near reception and the bar.

Their website shows the various zones. The far ends of zones 1 and 2 had more space than those pitches near the reception, but the trees were immature so there was less shade. There is also a flat touring field that we saw a number of motor homes and touring vans using. Pitches are marked but not separated by hedges.

The Picos mountains are rugged and well worth a visit. There is a Sunflower Books walking guide for the Picos which I was pleased we had and used this to follow two walks: the glacial lakes at Covadonga and the Cares Gorge. The gorge walk was 11km each way and spectacular! The lakes walk was very pleasant and easy to follow.

There are a lot of outdoor activity centres close by. Four canoes for a three hour river trip came to 90.

This site is well placed for both the mountains and the coast. We took a trip to Potes and checked out the other two campsites shown on the map. Those sites looked good but many of the pitches were smaller that this site but their pools were better. The mountain views around Potes were arguably better. We were pleased we'd chosen this site on balance. We were given a discount for staying longer than ten days. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Smart Family 57 reviews from this member

 We arrived at this site for 3 nights with our 3 teen age children. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and as the site was quiet we were given the choice of pitches. As our Motorhome is 8m with the cycle rack we choose a pitch on the top terrace near the road as they were the biggest. The pitches were however quite close together and would be tight in busy season. However we were told we could use 2 pitches if we needed. The toilet blocks were very good and kept clean and the showers excellent. There was paper in the toilets also which is unusual for Spain. The area around here is stunning and the 2 villages nearby are very quaint and rustic. There are some small shops and restaurants in Benia De Onis which is a 15 minute walk along a safe footpath. We used a few of the cafes and restaurants and most were very nice except, The Case El Teyeru, where the woman owner was positively rude and clearly did not want tourists in her restaurant. For walkers there is a footpath directly behind the site, turn right at site gate which goes up to a mountain pass with stunning views. Our children loved the swimming pool, which they rated one of their favorites on the tour. I would certainly return to this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Etherton 3 reviews from this member

 Reviewers : 2 adults and 1 10 year old boy.

Beautiful setting, with mountain views all around and a small stream where the kids paddled or fished. Away from the facilities pitches tended to be larger - ours accommodated our Montana 6, with room to park the car and space for eating outside, weather permitting.

Toilets (3 blocks) all fairly near to reception were immaculate and a separate room with plenty of hot showers. Reception were very helpful and spoke English, sited next door to a small shop. The shop was open from 8 to 9pm with a break for lunch/ early afternoon. It sold most basics including fresh bread and croissants daily. Small restaurant was very good value for food and drinks. We only ate there once and food was good, county food - cost 25 euros for 3 with drinks, espresso coffee was 1 euros. Open late until 10pm for food, hot chocolate or beer.

There was a small play area, 2 trampolines, an unheated swimming pool and a small paddling pool. In addition there was a covered seating area where you could charge a mobile or cook ( mainly used by spanish people) and housed a pool table, where most of the kids congregated. WiFi was free in the restaurant and in the area near to the reception. Washing machines and driers were 3 euros. Electric hookups available.

Perfect for those who want to explore the mountains or seaside. Llanes only 40 mins drive - a lovely town to explore with a supermarket just off the motorway and beaches nearby, eg Poo beach. Covadonga lakes are breath taking on a sunny day, 30 mins drive. Fuente De cable car is about 1hr 30 mins drive.

Would definitely return, really lovely friendly campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joolsp 13 reviews from this member

 About a 2 hour drive from the port at Santander, a lovely site that I would recommend to anyone.

Sites suitable for all kinds of units.

The areas are divided up into sections - 3 levels directly out from the reception, past a shower/facilities block - some of these pitches are quite small (narrow) and seem quite crowded in. Then over a bridge over the stream to two separate grassy areas either side of the swimming pool / second shower block.

We had a fairly large level grassy pitch for our tent on the 3rd of the levels and it was quiet and more spacious.

Quiet expected from 12pm - 8am

We were there just at the start of the end of the season - the site was almost completely full but we never had to queue for showers / loos etc.

Good clean facilities.

The shop is limited but useful (has cold beer and wine) and has bread

The little bar /restaurant is very good - it has a menu of the day, and also serves tapas/raciones all at very good prices.

All staff are lovely and helpful.

Only gripe would be having only cold water for washing up.

For major shopping you have to travel to Cangas which is a lovely town about 15k down the road. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Somerset teacher 1 review from this member

 I agree with a lot of what the previous reviewer said. This really is a campsite of 2 halves. The smaller units were in a cramped area right next to the road.

However, we were lucky enough to be in the family area over the stream (zona 5) which was a lovely area with a mix of Brits, Dutch, French and mainly Spanish campers.

I had booked and requested shade, but there seemed to take no notice of this and no shady pitches were available.

Our tent (a 7 man) only just fitted on the pitch and if the site had been full we would have had nowhere to sit outside or park the car!

However, having said all of that this is a lovely site with a really peaceful, calm friendly atmosphere. At night all you could hear was the stream, distant cowbells and the occasional car.

The facilities are very good, constantly being cleaned and never had to queue for a shower.

The weather was mixed some rain, mainly at night, a couple of really hot days and then mostly about 22-24 degrees

The area is lovely and we will return, plenty to do for a family, we took the funicular to Bulnes, the coch to the Lagos de Covadonga, canoed down the river Sella ( a must do, really beautiful scenery) and spent a couple of days on the beach

8/10 for the site, small pitches and road noise, 10/10 for the area 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EssexGirl 5 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent campsite. The chap who was on the front desk when we were there says his English isn't very good but don't believe him: he speaks it well and is also very helpful.

The pitches were a fair size and level. Quite a bit of shade (but not much sun when we were there. ) and a lovely gurgling, rocky stream in which various children played all day. Clean, pleasant pool. Grass on which to knock a ball about. Hence kids happy. (And before you panic about the stream, it's securely fenced off from the area the families with kids seem to be given. )

Facilities for washing, washing-up etc all very clean. Lots of hot water for the showers but less for the plates (best way round, mind you).

Two washing machines and a tumble drier which all worked - powder included for the machines in the 3 Euro charge. Covered area with free-to-use plug sockets to recharge batteries etc and tables and benches, and I think there was wifi there too but I didn't use it.

Shop with all the basics (just as well as there doesn't seem to be a shop in Avin just down the road, though there is one in Benia about 1km away). The cafeteria-type meal in the bar in the evenings (from 8. 30) costs 8 Euros and is fantastic value - three courses, bread and a drink - and it tastes good as well.

Cannot speak for the hookups etc as we didn't use one. Lots of taps around the site.

Excellent base for the northern side of the Picos, which are stunning. The site is about 15-20 mins drive from Cangues de Onis, and it's close to various outfits which run pony treks, canyoning etc (just ask at the desk. )

Lots to see and do within half an hour's drive - fantastic walks, cows with cow bells, pretty villages (the funicular to Bulnes and the walk down worked well for us - youngest in the party is 9 and managed the walk no problem), etc etc. If you really feel you need the sea, it's half an hour to a lovely beach.

Would use this campsite again and recommend it wholeheartedly. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cllr_gyppo 9 reviews from this member

 This is one of the best campsites we stayed on. As it was out of season, We were the only tent on site, but there was a couple of Motor homes also staying.

This is a great site for Outdoor Activities, with plenty to do in the near by vicinity, Reception can organise Hiking, Caving, Canyoning, Whitewater rafting etc. The Site has an Outdoor Swimming pool, however it was not in service when we stayed.

The Facilities on site were good, to a very high standard, with Plenty of very clean showers and toilets. Electric Hookup is available. It has a Lovely Bar area with a great Log Fire, Food is Excellent in both Quality and Value.

Free Wifi is available in the Bar area. The Site has its own shop, but this is not a facility we used. There is a Small Village about a mile or so away, which has a couple of Small Bars and village shop.

The Site was very quiet and peaceful, we pitched next to a stream, which was gurgling away, which was pleasant to listen to. How noisy it would be in summer I am unsure, but the pitches seemed well spaced out.

The Staff were very Friendly, and have all would appear to speak good english. They were very helpful, and made Suggestions of good walks in the mountains to suit our abilities. Additionally during conversation, we advised where we were heading next, the member of staff suggested a good places to visit there as well, which were also good suggestions.

I would Highly recommend this site, and definitely return again. Our only regret was not staying longer. In hindsight, we would have changed our plans, and stayed longer and not proceed to our next site.

Unable to comment on Child friendliness, as we do not have children, however there was facilities available for them, and the site is safe.

We Paid 15.00 a night with an ACSI Card. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Picos De Europa child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Picos De Europa have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Picos De Europa?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Picos De Europa dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Asturias      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Spain

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4556 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement