Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of North Shire Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Saltburn By The Sea > North Shire Certificated Site Reviews

North Shire Certificated Site
Liverton
Saltburn By The Sea
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
TS13 4TJ
Tel: 01287 642228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 hook up 10 tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jankirton 1 review from this member

 From reading previous reviews of this site we had high expectations but it did not live up to these at all. The site itself was shabby and not well cared for. The hard standing area was very lumpy and the material used made everything dirty. The toilet block was seldom cleaned. Indeed the floor did not look as if it had been washed in a very long time. It was difficult to control the water temperature in the shower block and essential not to touch the floor with wet feet afterwards to avoid getting dirty again (flip flops came in useful here). After the first day here the ladies shower became blocked and the water would not run away. It was reported, but not sorted out.

It is true, there were animals on site which is usually a good thing if you have children, but the billy goat smelt truly horrific and sprayed urine if you approached it. The cats and hens wandered into the awning regularly and we had to clean muddy paw marks off the furniture.

It is a real shame that more care hasn't gone in to looking after the site. I am sure it could be lovely. It is in a picturesque place with wonderful views, although quite a distance from shops and pubs if that is something you require, but is very expensive for the facilities that are provided. We would definitely not visit it again. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jonk 20 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 4 nights visiting relatives. When I booked I thought it was a little pricey compare to the majority of sites I use and from the details I imagined a better quality site. The hard standings are fairly flat but they have a strange rubble like base with fine beige dust which made very clear footprints on my chairs when the site cat paid us a visit. I didn't dare put my awning carpet down as I feared it would get damaged and very dirty. The toilet/shower block had one shower for each gender but although basically good, no mop and bucket was provided to leave the place clean and tidy as requested. The smell of the goats next to the toilet block was somewhat pungent. Visits to our awning of the hens and peacock was fun! The views are stunning. Washing up sinks are huge although there's not much room for putting stuff you've washed. Plenty of hot water and the shower block had heating. Access to the site is good, no narrow lanes to drive down. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kfosk 8 reviews from this member

 Note the name 'North Shire' which reflects the fantasy theme of the cottage let.

We found this to be a friendly site, with nice quirky decorative touches and very pleasant surroundings.

Children should love the roaming hens and peacocks, and pettable goats and ponies (these are fastened in). There is also a play area suitable for little ones, with parent seating nearby.

The owners have recently had some very colourful gypsy caravans delivered, for glamping. When we stayed these were arranged around a central open grassed area and added to the scene.

Visiting curlews pulling worms outside our window were a real highlight.

The toilet block was warm, clean and nicely decorated. The pot-washing area had two enormous sinks with ample hot water, and in the evening was lit by a canopy of fairy lights.

The only issue we had was with the ergonomics of the plumbing.

The pot-washing sinks were very deep and too low, with no draining facility. I found myself getting back-ache, until I balanced our washing up bowl on the rim of the sink.

Whereas my husband struggled to shave and see himself in the mirror in the washroom, as these basins were quite high to lean over, and far away from the mirror (for short-sighted folk like us!)

These issues wouldn't prevent us from returning, as I'm sure we could work around them.

We received an email from the owners advertising a cafe to be opened late summer, as well as special events for children. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Whoisfinn 1 review from this member

 We booked up before arriving and had to pay for 3 days minimum up front over the phone which was 75 for 3 nights, this was to be a mistake.

The staff were great and the farm looks fantastic on photos and in real life, however the Farm is in the middle of nowhere with the nearest pub being at least 40 mins walk down a very busy dark country road with no path. The nearest shop is a good drive away.

We arrived on the Tuesday after a bank holiday and were met at the entrance to the site with over following rubbish from the bins. ( this could have been bagged up and made tidy).

The toilet block and showers were clean but very home made and needed a bit more TLC. My girlfriend refused to use them.

I know the campsite cant be blamed for the weather but it was foggy to the point you could not see the surrounding fields and this looked to set in for the next few days. FREEEZING !

So as a result we decided to leave after staying only one night being 50 out of pocket.

Nice family campsite but make sure you check the weather and have a means of travel for getting around. (stock up on food and beer) 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: GarnetLiz 18 reviews from this member

 The welcome from the staff here was great, everyone was very pleasant and helpful. It was early on in the season and the site was very quiet, we had the toilets, showers and washing up facilities to ourselves. (1 shower for men, one for women and 2 toilets each, nice (free) hot water and radiators pumping out heat in the toilet block!) Lots of nice little decorative touches and nice to look out over the moors, only drawback is that it is quite a long walk into the nearest village. Work is obviously ongoing to improve this site, they have done a lot recently by the looks of it, new hard standing going in when we were there. Some little practical things still needed to finish everything off (I. E. Duckboards in the shower room so you don't have to stand in the concrete floor, sanitary disposal bins, somewhere to put clean pots in the washing up area which currently has just sinks) but it's obviously ongoing work and I'm sure this kind of thing will be sorted soon. Just a shame about the weather! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lwalsh 1 review from this member

 Me and my partner stayed in our tent for 3 nights. Taking into consideration the cheap affordable prices, you get a lot for your money. We hooked up for electricity to the central towers which like any camp site was easy and meant we could put aside any loose wires!

The site owner came straight out and greeted us explaining the local area and where best to visit (which was greatly appreciated considering the not so warm welcome the weather gave us).

Once our tent was up we had a wander down to visit the Hobbit Houses (The North Shire) which was under construction due to be opened this year. The gentleman was very pleasant and allowed us to have a sneak preview. We were both very very impressed!

The shower/toilet block was clean and very sweet, I loved the blue ceiling with stars all over. The hot water was an also welcome addition.

All in all this stay here was a enjoyable experience, with heartfelt effort from the site owners.

Would recommend this site to anyone wanting a short, sweet stay near the coast. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Martnjude 3 reviews from this member

 I have been to this site a few times before and as it was our first trip out in our new caravan this wasn't far for us and seemed like a good choice to test out the caravan.

The changes on the site are still underway and once completed its going to be a fantastic little site.

The brand new toilets and lovely hot showers are a very warm welcome.

Carol who runs the site is lovely, helpful and very friendly and we appreciated the help of her hubby when we had problems attaching the caravan back onto our tow bar.

The most wonderful Hobbit House accommodation is being built which will attract many people

To round up a lovely family site, good amenities and will definitely be going back.  


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Courgetteclaire 1 review from this member

 This was our second visit and we loved it. We are a family with two children, six and three, and for a family with young children this site is brilliant. From most pitches you can see the playground area, which has two towers with a slide coming off each and a bridge in between, and a swing coming off it. Simple but perfect for lots of children playing lots of different games. There is a patch of mature scots pine to play football and frisbee round, with three gyspsy caravans underneath which just adds to the lovely atmosphere. The campsite is small enough to let your children roam free; with all the animals (horses, goats, chickens, peacocks) to look at they were always kept amused. The owners were friendly and laid back and the other campers considerate and friendly. All in all a lovely place to have a relaxing holiday exploring the North Yorkshire coastline. The toilet and shower facilities are basic but adequate, for me the relaxed atmosphere and the fun the children had were far more important. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Dolores99 9 reviews from this member

 Three of us stayed in one of the Gypsy vans for two nights. The van was well equipped for cooking on the four ring gas hob but there is no running water and the sink empties out to the ground. There was a radiator but we didn't need to use it. There were books, board games and cards which was a nice touch and the games did get used as we had a lot of rain. There is a picnic bench and fire pit outside for each van. There looked to be lots of space for non EHU tents and tourers but the limited EHU pitches were all occupied.

There is a decent sized climbing frame with swings and slides for younger campers. There seems to be enough space for ball games as long as the site doesn't fill up completely. Fresh water was available and I did see a chemical disposal point. The toilets are a portacabin, two in the mens and one for the ladies, though there is no hot running water that we found. The washing up sink has a cold tap. There are two showers in another cabin which is fine if two of you are showering but a waste of one if you are alone as you lock the cabin door.

There is nothing really in a walkable distance but there are shops/takeaways and pubs which serve food if you have transport. Also you can easily reach the coast or north yorkshire villages if you have transport.

This site seems ideal for families with smaller children and campers who like a back to basics camping experience with a higher than average price tag. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LoremIpsum 6 reviews from this member

 Somebody in a previous review nailed it when they said that this is an extremely basic site at a premium price. And, by 'premium', I mean expensive.

Taking account of the very basic facilities (one female toilet and two male toilets plus a couple of urinals in a delapidated porta-kabin; two showers affording no privacy unless you commandeer the porta-kabin for yourself and lock the entrance door) then the basic fifteen pounds per pitch isn't too bad nowadays. Add a fiver (yes a fiver a night!) for the electric hook-up, though, and it gets a bit silly. A quick calculation tells me that a fiver a night works out, pro-rata, at more than eighteen hundred pounds a year.

The tendency of the owners to cram as many units into the available space as possible means that tents are very close to each other and there is no, or very little, room for a car.

The hook-ups are a laugh. There is a spider-web of extension cables running left, right and centre. I am surprised that the system works and I have doubts about its safety.

The free-roaming chickens and other fowl are cute, but they have learned to scavenge and they're adept at leaving presents on the grass in front of your tent.

On our pitch, the soil seemed to be about three inches deep and the rubble beneath it considerably deeper.

The owners seem to be a friendly bunch and they seemed to have a full-time job on their hands trying to keep the limited toilet facilities in a slightly less than repellent state.

With a little investment, this could be a decent site. With the right weather, the location is pretty much excellent. I cannot help but suspect that people will continue to write about the poor amenities for a few years to come. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is North Shire Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to North Shire Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is North Shire Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saltburn By The Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5569 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement