Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Duke William

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Worcestershire > Bewdley > The Duke William > Reviews

The Duke William
Callow Hill
Rock
Bewdley
Worcestershire   (Browse area)
DY14 9XH
Tel: 01299 266756
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ttaylor66-123 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here a couple of weeks ago. Really nice site landlord very helpful forgot my hu lead and he lent me one. Nice beer garden little animal pen and kiddies play area good well kept beer. Very little noise from main road. Only 15. 00 per night inc ehu very good price. Looking forward to going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Helenterry 11 reviews from this member

 We have just arrived back from a one night stay. On arriving as usual I took a look at the facilities. They are the worst I have ever seen, there is one toilet and one sink with a mirror 'propped up' and a sign saying 'toilet and waste' this must mean that you dispose of your toilet waste in the toilet.

There was a little square carpet soaking wet on the concrete floor, although we have our own facilities it is welcoming to know that there are decent facilities on site.

When I mentioned this to the owner of the pub he made no comment and just walked away which I thought was very rude.

The grass was overgrown although the pub garden was cut very neat, the pub looked friendly enough but the state of hygiene in the facilities put me off from eating there!

The only good thing was the location, although I would never stay there again, and it was definitely not worth 15. 00 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Markycak12345 4 reviews from this member

 Very basic site. A little field that's all. There is a small children's farm and swings. The touring site is situated the back of the pub. There is 1 toilet which was very dirty in a wooden shed which my family never used. There are no washing facilities showers etc. We had a meal in the pub it wasn't very good at all and not very welcoming. The site is on the main road so traffic noise. But on the plus side it's right by the wrye forest great for dog walking and mountain biking. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: InghamIF 19 reviews from this member

 The entrance is through the pub car park which will be interesting when the Pub is busy.

There are 5 piches, level, with 16 Amp electric hookups. The rest of the camping field slopes to a variable degree and is without electricity.

The toilet is very basic, having our own facilities in the caravan we did not use it. The CDP seems to be the toilet.

The caravan section of the pitch, next to the beer garden was well maintained, water was near at hand and the grass was kept short.

Adjacent to the pitches was a small animal farm with goats, ducks geese and hens etc. Which would be a interesting attraction for young children.

We stopped over one night, mid week, when the Pub was not busy, the food, beer and welcome were excellent. I would guess on a warm summers weekend night the site could be effected by noise from the Pub.

It is an excellent centre for Bewdely, Stourport and the Wyre forrest walks. It is also on a route which can be used to avoid the M5/M6 junctions if travelling to/from the West Country, although to use my SatNav I needed to put in some intermediate points or you will be back on the M5

This site would not suit campers who enjoy first class toilet facilities and a quiet evening but is an ideal stopover point while travelling to/from Cornwall. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Goldflash 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for three nights,

We ate in the pub and enjoyed the food, the landlord+landlady + staff are very helpful and are willing to please,

On the camping side it was good with electric hook-ups for 5, there is a larger field which is not flat but would be ideal for tents but no power! the beer garden is well set out.

The toilet could do with hot water for those cold mornings! playground we did not use but we did enjoy looking at the farm.

And we met duke the new dog on the site who is very friendly and likes to meet everyone! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RealAleHarrier 4 reviews from this member

 We came here for the August Bank Holiday beer festival so very busy but not overly so. Pitched up next to the chickens/goats which our kids loved - they spent lots of time feeding grass to the goats.

Toilet facilities better than other pub sites that we've stayed at, but with there only being one unisex toilet it means that there were long queues in the morning.

Pub's real ale was average as was the food but the fact that they had so many extra beers available straight from the barrel in the shed outside made up for this.

Kids loved the play area too plus if you cross over the road there is a superb play area at the entrance to the Wyre Forest which is obviously a lovely place to go for a walk.

Bewdley only a couple of miles away and there's a bus that stops opposite the pub for those that prefer to travel by public transport. Recommended if you like your real ale too because Bewdley has several really nice pubs.

Duke William landlord/landlady and their son were very friendly and welcoming, although they are laid back so I can see why they'd turn a blind eye to loud music etc. Fortunately, despite it being a beer festival weekend, we enjoyed three peaceful nights' sleep.

Good value for money site.  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lasvegas 2 reviews from this member

 Recently spent a few nights here. Pitches are level and not many stones allowing easy access to peg down awnings and tents. 16amp electric supply to 5 pitches with one water supply on the entrance to the field. There is a room with a toilet, sink and now a mirror. Not brilliant but adequate if you are in a tent.

The pub sells hand pull ales and the beer garden is excellent for children. Didnt try the food.

Location is ideal for the safari park and days out in Bewdley and Stourport.

On our last full day at 9. 30am a bouncy castle and gazebos arrived in the field. During the morning an addition 15+ tents descended on the field and an all day party began. This all day party turned into an all night party / rave.

At 7pm with the food finished the field was turned into an open air nightclub, the music was ridiculously loud. The sound was deafening and that's despite numerous requests to turn down the volume - which came to no avail.

Eventually at 11. 20pm the music was turned down. The crowd then disappeared into the pub. This was fine until 3. 30am, when they decided to go back to the middle of the field and turn the music back on.

The landlord / landlady then turned off ALL electric to the field, the music went off but so did everything in our van. 10 minutes later on went the car radio and music bellowed again. This continued until 5. 40am.

We tried on numerous occasions to contact the landlord to turn the music down, but to no avail.

When we booked we wasn't told about this, only just that a couple more vans will be turning up. Apart from this the site is fine for what you pay, but ask before booking. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Junimare63 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a very enjoyable weekend here. The camping field is basic with a toilet and sink available for campers. We pitched our tent next to the mini farm and had a lovely time sitting outside watching the animals.

The pub garden is just a few feet away which is very neat and hosts a children's climbing frame and swings.

We had a lovely steak meal in the pub in the evening and enjoyed chatting to the landlord and some of the locals. We were made to feel very welcome. The landlord couldn't do enough for us, we were sure we would come back within minutes of arriving.

Next time we will book an electric hook up as there are no facilities to plug in my hairdryer etc. Also there is no mirror in the toilet so be sure to bring one.

You can be sure of a warm welcome here, we are returning in two weeks time to help the landlady celebrate her birthday! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Groveb3 1 review from this member

 Just spent a lovely weekend here, the owners are very friendly and helpful. There is now a toilet and sink which is available to use 24hrs a day. The pitches are nice and level and we used the electric hookups which we had no problems with, unlike some other campsites we have been to. The pub itself is nice and welcoming and the food is all home cooked and reasonably priced. The playpark was a hit with the children as well. We went walking through the forest, which is a very short walk over the road, we spent a few hours there walking along watching the wildlife and just enjoying the scenery. We enjoyed it so much we have booked to go again later in the year! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MAAB 3 reviews from this member

 Owners are very friendly. The regulars at the pub offered help to erect our awning (thank you as this was only our 2nd time).

Lovely safe setting for children who enjoyed the mini farm and freedom of the whole meadow (grass could do with a trim though).

Pub does excellent home made chips. They do basket meals too but we did not try these.

Weir forest a must to visit which is a very short walk across the road. Water tap and waste disposal in good location by entrance to meadow.

Would definitely visit again for weekend break in the sun. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Duke William child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Duke William?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Duke William dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bewdley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Worcestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46229 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement