Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Bower Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

The Bower Farm
Little Haven
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 3TY
Tel: 01437 781554
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
                7/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sas74 3 reviews from this member

This site has so much potential but I feel it has been neglected somewhat. We arrived on the Sunday and pulled onto what I initially thought was a disused field. The field was completely overgrown with grass up to our knees (this included the pitches with electric hook-ups).

The owner did not come round to ask if everything was okay once during our stay (of 10 days). The toilets and showers were not cleaned, that we could see, and the bins were never emptied to the point where rubbish was overflowing and the birds were helping themselves to pickings.

Also the farm dog was caught trying to take an insulated food bag from the awning of my parents' caravan after returning from a day trip.

There is a public right of way running through the one end of the site which also has access to allotments so not as secure as some sites which I have stayed on.

The town itself, Broad Haven, is a approx 15 min walk down the lane which is narrow and has no pavements. It also is a very steep walk back uphill to the site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SALOU 1 review from this member

Bower Farm Campsite is a simple field with simple facilities but the view is out of this world! it is quite simply one of the best views I have ever seen. We spent hours sat in the sun looking out to sea. A real break from Urban Life! The toilets and shower were kept clean but are very basic but this is what camping is all about! The Farm is a short walk to Broad Haven and the pub called 'The Galleon' serves great pub meals with local fresh fish. The owners of the Campsite were welcoming to us all (including the four lively children!) A great place and I will be returning!

(I wish this website let you upload photos as we have some lovely ones!)

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mejustme 1 review from this member

A simple site, a huge field with hookups and a couple of taps. 2 sheds one with a loo and another with a shower and loo-in between a covered washing up area. All kept nice and clean.

However the views, the views are beautiful to sit outside watching the sunset over the bay!

Okay you have to work a bit to get the motorhome level-big deal?

A simple site with great access into Broad Haven, a field you can run round in, fly kites and play rounders with the kids and dogs. Alpacas in the next field and when we visted a litter of puppies would come up the track from house and the kids would play with them. How campistes used to be! Loved it and it's certainly on our 'return' to list.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Reutelloe 6 reviews from this member

A really beautiful campsite! The sea views are amazing and the farm is lovely. We only paid 12-50 per night ( tent, car, 2 adults and a dog, no electricity) which I found to be good value.

The beach below is about a ten minute walk and can be nice when the tide is out; you can walk right across to Little Haven and the cliffs are simply breathtaking; but when the tide comes in it blocks off the Broadhaven area and it becomes crowded with families and the whole area and the promenade gets very loud and tacky; people sitting around in cars with their stereos on, hundreds of kids everywhere, cheap and nasty souvenir shops etc.

The first day at the site was not ideal because there was a big family with lots of children staying there and the shower was filthy by the time they had all finished using it (the water tends to clog a little so it can get dirty and wet when lots of people are using it. But once the family had gone and there were only adults left, the problem seemed to disappear.

If you are looking for peace and quiet, I would certainly recommend Bower Farm as probably one of the most beautiful spots in the whole area, but avoid the weekends and school holidays if possible. In spite of the breathtaking views and landscapes however, I doubt I would return because the crowds who flock here whenever the sun comes out tend to spoil it. Personally, I found the Bower Farm the best and most beautiful part of Broadhaven.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mike and Dawn 3 reviews from this member

Just spent a weekend here and so glad we did! We were a bit sceptical due to other reviews but the lovely views make up for any lack of facilities. There is only one shower with a toilet and a separate toilet housed in 2 sheds and is basic. It is a ten minute walk into Broadhaven with a few pubs serving food and a londis shop which is well stocked but the walk back will test your fitness! Little haven is a little further and just as hilly on the way back. There are no facilities for children other than a field to run about in. The views are spectacular. Will definitely return!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andy Austen 1 review from this member

First the positives - further to the previous reviews there is now a second toilet and a covered pot wash area. However, the shower did not soak away properly, leaving standing water in the tray after each use.

The views are undoubtedly stunning, but neither of the previous reviews mentioned the steeply sloping nature of the site. At the top of the field there is a narrow, almost flat terrace with EHU. However, the slope in front of the terrace means that it is very difficult to position or level anything other than a very small caravan so that it faces into the oh so frequent Pembrokeshire winds.

The long grass, which was not collected when last cut, also meant that the field was extremely slippery after even a small amount of rainfall, and did not seem to drain very well.

The narrow gateways and tight bends which give access to the site present a challenge to longer units, especially when exiting up the slope past the house.

The owners are friendly enough, but we have just spent a week there and only saw them twice - when we arrived and when we left! At 25 a night, this site is relying on the fabulous location and stunning local scenery. It has great potential but needs some work!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lisa Harper 1 review from this member

Have just returned from a fantastic stay at Bower Farm. This is a wonderful site with amazing views of the bay below. The sunsets are spectacular. I would highly recommend this site as the location is stunning.

The campsite is set on a farm with an established B&B but the campsite is a new addition. The shower block is a newly built shed with one shower and toilet. The site has only 5 pitches so this shouldn't be a problem, the facilities were immaculate. There is an uncovered wash area for pots but there are plans to cover this area.

A 5 min walk (10 mins back as it is uphill) takes you into Broad Haven and the wonderful beach. The local pub, 'The Royal' is warm and inviting and serves reasonably priced, tasty meals.

Little Haven and the surrounding villages are well worth a visit. There are coastal walks if feeling energetic or a shuttle bus to take you to the other local beaches.

The owners and staff are friendly and helpful. I visited with 3 teenage children and this site would appeal to individuals, couples or families alike. This site is a gem of a find and we will definitely visit again next year!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Woodvillerob 1 review from this member

Basic field / although with electric hook up etc. Sheep have priority.

Only one toilet and combined shower hut, problems if someone wants a shower and your desperate for the loo!

Views are stunning, but site basic. Expensive at 25 per night! Would go back if it was cheaper for the views.

You will need to be fit if you want to walk to the beach as the climb is up a steep lane to get back.

Great pub at the bottom of the hill with some basic shops and cafe.

The beach is very clean and an excellent place to spend your day.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3859 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019