Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Duke Inn Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Calne > The Duke Inn Certificated Location Reviews

The Duke Inn Certificated Location
Hilmarton
Calne
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN11 8SD
Tel: 01249 760634
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ianc235 1 review from this member

Arrived, after nearly missing the Duke, as it was on top of a hill on your right just as you come into the village (coming from Lyneham direction) got a very pleasant greeting from the lady behind the bar and told to take my pick of the pitches. Connected to the electric found pitch level and firm, the rest as the field is grass and it was a bit slippy under the tyres of the car, but still easy to get around. With plenty of space between pitches. The Landlord came out and welcomed me and told me the door to the front portch of the pub would be left unlocked at night so that we could use the toilet if needed. He also told me of his plans to lay a firm track to each of the pitches, and that he planned to convert the small outbuilding into a shower and toilet block

My only disappointment was that the traffic noise and the church clock chiming the hours throughout the night. But saying that you soon get use to it and it wasn't a problem. Great Pub and will definitely return

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bwoodham3 1 review from this member

Lovely little site that I think is going to get better. 5 hard standings grass nicely cut and cuttings picked up. Pub is brilliant lovely food. You need to book for a meal as it is very busy because the food is that good.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philliard 4 reviews from this member

We have been to this site three times before, good half way stop. (for Bristol, Bath, South Wales, West Country)Each time we visit more work has been done. They are now getting ready to convert a building into toilets for the site. The food is very good But the beer is better, very friendly people I can recommend this site. Very Dog Friendly. Even in Bar.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Roller Team 1 review from this member

Phoned to check availability of a pitch, the owners had only been in for two weeks but were more than pleased to welcome us as their first campers. On arrival they greeted us and couldn't have been more helpful. There isn't a separate toilet at the moment, but we had use of the pub facilities. A shower and toilet are planned for next year. They had worked really hard cutting grass that had overgrown to make the site tidy. The field is very spacious with six hookup points. Being family run, they make an excellent team. The pub serves a good pint, and the food was delicious, freshly cooked and very reasonably priced. The friendly atmosphere made us feel as though we were one of the locals. There's a bus stop immediately outside with buses every 20 minutes to Chippenham or Swindon. There is a fantastic outlet centre at Swindon to pick up a bargain. The village is delightful and is a lovely area for walking or cycling. A few steep hills, but with electric bikes we have no need to worry. When we booked we asked for two nights but stayed five because it was so good. Will definitely go back.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pandalf 1 review from this member

Excellent place to visit with very friendly and enthusiastic new landlord. Five or six grassy but firm standings, all with electric hook up included in price. Field is sloping, but some landscaping has been done to make pitches fairly level. A bit of noise from the main road, but not too bad. Site has access to pub toilets when pub is open, and fresh water tap and grey/black water disposal. Landlord intends to build a small shower/toilet block but that will take into 2016 at least. Cell phone signal is super-strong 4G, and the pub has free wi-fi (although this only works in the building). Adjoining pub serves excellent and varied menu, with a nice blend of 'classic pub grub' and some nicely presented and more unusual dishes. The prices were very reasonable. The pub also has B&B rooms available. Hilmarton is a small village with few other facilities, but it is in lovely walking/cycling country and there is a bus stop right outside with services to Calne, Royal Wootton Basset etc. It is clear that the new owners are going to put a lot of time and attention into this CL, and we will absolutely be visiting again soon.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hillbillies1 3 reviews from this member

We, and our dog, we're made to feel very welcome by the landlord, staff and locals. We were met on arrival and offered the choice of available pitches. The small campsite is very well maintained with good access to available facilities. The real ales were well kept, the food excellent and very reasonably priced, all served by very friendly staff. The standard of service cannot be faulted. There is a very informal feel about the pub and campsite which sets the scene for a really relaxed weekend break. The pub is very dog friendly and we would recommend it to anyone who likes their four legged friend to be able to share in all the relaxation. There is easy access to interesting places to visit in the county. Will be returning in the future.

The one thing that would make this site a 'straight' 10 out of 10 would be a small toilet/shower block.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TJBD 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Duke and just as the other reviewers have said, the site is extremely well kept, the pub has a good selection of ales and the food is excellent.

As has already been mentioned, the site is within easy reach of many of the Wiltshire picturesque towns, not too far away from Bath, or if the ladies among you need a spot of 'retail therapy', the McArthur Glen is only just the other side of the motorway in Swindon.

Will definitely be adding this site to our 'will return again' list.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stewdow@hotmail.com 1 review from this member

A charming little Caravan Club CL site! Located in the picturesque village of Hilmarton: Right in the heart of the magnificent Wiltshire countryside. (Perfect for visiting places of all directions). Small, with just 5 hard-standing pitches, each with EHU and lovely and clean.

We found the owners to be very personable, friendly and helpful. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble. A warm welcome awaited us from ‘Mine Host’ on our arrival, who allowed us to select our own pitch - which is always a nice touch when available.

Access to the well set out site is gained via a private ‘Campers only’ field-gate through the Hotel’s car park. Plenty of ‘elbow’ room on each pitch for awnings and all reasonably level. Nice dog exercise area (although not very large).

Despite the fact the site is situated close to the roadway, road noise is not a problem. Toilet facilities are currently located within the Hotel’s bar area, which are readily accessible throughout the day and evening times.

The Duke serves good food, which is not at all overpriced. It even offers a ‘takeaway’ service for those preferring not to eat in the bar or restaurant. Our dog was welcomed in the bar area, where the ‘regulars’ made us feel quite at home and not at all like interlopers.

For those of us with motorhomes, there are bus stops right outside the Duke in both directions, with a regular 20 minute service to Swindon one way and the delightful towns of Calne and Chippenham the other. (Change at Chippenham for Bath). Nothing could be simpler!

In summary, we had a great stay. So good in fact, we intend going back again later this year. If it’s a small friendly site with convivial owners, plus good food and drinks served at reasonable prices you’re looking for, the Duke is well worth a visit. Teresa & Rob will make you feel most welcome.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel129 3 reviews from this member

What a little gem of a site. Almost a shame to share its location, but deserves a review. In the owners words its still work in progress but even now fully usable. 5 gravel based level pitches with plenty of room for awning and car. Dog walk at bottom of a second unused, but well maintained second field.

Site is attached to an excellent Inn where Rob and Teresa give a warm welcome. (as did all the staff I met) Both ever so helpful and informative as well.

Easy route from M4(j16) through Wooton Basset, past RAF Lyneham (air base) to the charming village of Hilmarton. (TomTom did take me the wrong route so check first, though still arrived with no very narrow places) Access through pub car park is easy though could a little tight if pub is very busy.

Pitches have EHU and drinking water in one corner of the site. A very well built, clean Elsan point with fence panel surround. Hose available. The whole pitch area is surrounded by quality fencing and a lockable 5 bar gate.

Rob has invested a great deal to make his Cl as appealing, functional and safe as he can, and is still looking for ways to improve the area.

Toilets are available in the pub when open. I would advise a levelling ramp but only for very very slight levelling where the gravel is still settling. Rob mention he has tentative plans to use some of the pub out houses for other site facilities.

Occasionally overhead noise from the base, but nothing disturbing. The Church opposite the Pub has full chimes but adds to the site charm Dogs welcome at the site and pub. Excellent menu, and I can personally recommend the Cider.

We originally planned a one night stop over on the way home from Isle of Wight, but ended up staying two nights.

You must meet Bob the Lab, the pub dog, ever so friendly. In my opinion, a very very good site.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4514 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019