Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Solleys Farm Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Deal > Solleys Farm Certificated Location Reviews

Solleys Farm Certificated Location
Northbourne Road
Great Mongeham
Deal
Kent   (Browse area)
CT14 0HB
Tel: 01304 375560  or  07860 179795
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wanderer 44 reviews from this member

Really friendly welcome both on the phone and once on site. The grass pitches are of a good size and well kept and there is a hard standing area just before the grass area. There are horses in the adjacent feilds. There are 2 toilets and a shower which is charged at 10p a minute and are both kept very clean. The black waste dump is aross the road.

Site is easy travel to see the area and Deal is about 2mls and walkable.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karenmcmillan 10 reviews from this member

Great site. Added bonus of your own water and spotless toilets and shower, both not usually found on a small CL site. Chemical disposal was a bit more tricky as was out the site and across a road which can get very busy and with fast traffic. Took a while to find toilets and showers as they appear to be in someone's garden. Doubly confusing as there are 'workers' toilets next to the chemical waste so the first few days we thought they were the loos and there is a huge difference in cleanliness!my only gripe about the site is the access.

We saw several altercations between motorists in the 2wks we were there as the long steep road down to the site has parked cars on both sides all the way down and is very narrow in places so only room for one vehicle at a time and no room to pull over(especially with a caravan). It was like that everyday for all the time we were there and put us off coming and going from the site. We were lucky on the day we arrived to get the caravan down the street but didn't even attempt it when leaving and rather chose the country lanes which at least had passing places and was a whole lot less stressful. Everyone on the site felt the same way and it became the topic of conversation on the best way to get out with our vans and motorhomes. We are seasoned caravanners and travelled in many built up areas but this access would seriously put me off going back. Local pub walking distance with great big beer garden for the kids but not great nor very friendly so we didn't go back.

Another issue( especially if you have children) is there is an electric fence around the site. There are horses in some of the adjacent fields so I guess this is for security for them however the signage is practically non existent with only a tiny notice hidden behind one side of the perimeter fence. I found this out as my sons ball went into the adjacent empty field. You can't see the electric fence only the wooden one in front of it. I attempted to go under the fence and got an almighty shock on my back. I felt sore for all that day and the next and would hate to think what would have happened if one of my children had attempted to climb the fence. It was a powerful shock. After looking for it, we did find one very small warning notice on only one side of the field that couldn't be seen as it was behind the wooden fence. I would urge the owner to remedy this

Real shame about the access because the site was a nice one with big level pitches but the access issues mean we wouldn't rush back and that's not the owners fault. If I was a resident I would be demanding some kind of traffic management system. This and the electric fence

Incident mean an 8/10 instead of a 10

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vangelina 16 reviews from this member

Well maintained C. L. In pleasant flat, well mown field. Near to Deal for shopping and sea. Road noise didn't bother us at all. Friendly owner. Good value for money. 2 pubs in the village but we didn't try them. Very clean toilet and shower facilities. Would stay here again when in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bidder66 2 reviews from this member

Most things have already been said but, to just add that there are two toilets and one shower in an area a little way from the pitches, both toilets and the shower are unisex and well kept. The shower takes coins with 1 being for 10 mins (if I remember correctly). We were on the shingled hard standing but unfortunately so were the locals that used it as a car park for the night. The chemical disposal is across the road behind a shed so we didn't bother with it.

The Owner is very friendly and welcoming.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Goodintentions 5 reviews from this member

We booked this very last minute for three nights at the tail end of half term. We'd enquired via UKCampsites. Co. Uk, along with three other sites in the area, and Solley's Farm was the only one who bothered to reply!

As we only have a Campervan we have not stayed on a CL before as we need the facilities normally only provided by more commercial sites. This was therefore a very nice exception as it has everything you need and at 14 a night including hook-up, was very reasonable. Even though the facilities are not on the field, I have had to walk further to find toilets on larger sites.

There wasn't room for us on the field on the first night, so we parked on the hardstanding area adjacent, which is thickly gravelled and slightly sloping, but nothing a couple of ramps wouldn't solve. There is a hook-up facility here for several vans although we were the only ones using it.

The second night we moved into the field, which is nicely sheltered by trees and a slight hill, with plenty of birdsong and the gentle sound of sheep and horses in the neighbouring field. Others have mentioned road noise but really this was minimal during the hours when we were there. Each pitch on the road side of the field has its own tap - very handy.

The facilities are very good with automatic lighting and heating. There are two toilets, a sink and a shower, which has very detailed and helpful instructions for use. You can use 10p, 20p, 50p, 1 or 2 or even euro coins. As a 1 gets you 10 minutes, and so does a Euro, you definitely get a better deal with euros! The shower was clean although the curtain could do with replacement or cleaning. There is an honesty box in the toilet block with envelopes provided for people to pay their camping fees - we did meet the owner on our first morning but he was very relaxed about when we should pay so we used the box to pay on our last morning before departure.

As campervanners who decided not to use our awning since we were only there for a short stay, we did find it necessary to mark our pitch with one of the cones thoughtfully provided near the water tap - there is nothing to stop anyone turning up and taking the pitch while you're out otherwise.

The site is very handy for Deal and Walmer which have a castle each. We visited Walmer which is not easy to find using Satnav and is only open at weekends I believe, but well worth a visit. The gardens alone are beautiful and the castle is well presented and interesting, run by English Heritage. There's a very nice teashop as well. Sandwich is a picturesque little town with lots of medieval architecture and some nice eateries, and Broadstairs is a typical English seaside town with a beautiful beach and some lovely views. About 13 miles south along the coast between Dover and Folkestone is the Battle of Britain memorial which was informative and thought provoking and in a beautiful situation at the top of the famous white cliffs, giving views across the channel to France.

There are two pubs in the village of Great Mongeham but only one serves food, and only until 6 pm, so we had to venture further to find evening meals. We were unsuccessful in finding anything of note and would recommend self-catering.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dynadot 5 reviews from this member

Great little site. The toilets and shower are top of the range for a cl site, we found the owner very helpful and will spend time with each group as with us he had a nice cold beer on the hot day. The only down was traffic noise but you get use to it, 'will go back' lots to see Deal and Dover castles a must also walmer house.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Happycampermais 2 reviews from this member

Wow, we have just stumbled on a gem of a site here. Set in what must be one of the most stunning locations on the isle of wight. We spent most of our first day just looking out at the stunning panoramic sea view over Bembridge bay and st helens fort. We watched huge cruise ships heading off on there travels, the view is breath taking. The site on this working farm is fab to. You are made very welcome by Julie and Clive the owners, plenty of room on your pitches in the grass paddock with electric hook up and all the usual facilities that are well appointed. An added bonus is The view cafe located at the entrance to the farm selling some great food if you want to be lazy or just indulge yourself.

This has to be our best campsite find to date and we do visit plenty of campsites on our travels, waking up in the morning surrounded by nearby farm animals great views and nice people, what more could you ask for.

Give them a call and get booked in before everyone finds this rare gem. I've booked my hols for next year.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vitessedriver 9 reviews from this member

Reports on this site encouraged us to book for one night, as we had a four hour drive in the UK and an earlyish ferry to catch. We arrived to be greeted like 'old friends' although we have never been here before. The pitch was exactly right, hard standing and close to the exit for a speedy departure without rousing the other campers.

The brand-new loo block is first class about two minutes walk from the camping field and spotlessly clean.

We will certainly use the site again, it's just so handy for Dover, and Deal is a nice seaside town in its own right. Make sure that you have either a large-scale map, a really good satnav, or download the map from your computer though, it's just a little tricky to access the first time. From the road it looks more like a 'horsy stuff shop'. Camping is just behind and a flat wide drive when you locate it. Excellent site!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derekcbr 66 reviews from this member

We have a folding camper and decided to use this site as a one night stop before a ferry to France. Decided on this site after reading the reviews. They could not be more accurate. This is a great site. The owners are extremely attentive to keeping the site immaculate and are doing a great job. Yes the waste disposal is over the road but it's no problem really and the road noise is not intrusive.

Lovely grass level pitches with room for about five with a hard standing area for late nighters. A truly wonderful site with easy access to the ferries. If you need a site before your sailing this is the one for you. Be aware there's not much here for the children. Just peace and quiet.

Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Triton1 12 reviews from this member

What can I say that hasn't been said already. A lovely quiet little site well placed near channel ports and the tunnel.

The toilet facilities are lovely, but the waste disposal wasn't great. The hard standing area is a good idea if the ground is likely to be soft; you can get about 4 vans on the hard standing area but it does leave you rather close to your neighbours.

Didn't get round to checking out the local drinking establishments, but all in all I'd definitely recommend a stay. 12 a night - bargain!

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3766 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019