Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Solley Farms Ltd Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Deal > Solley Farms Ltd Certificated Location Reviews

Solley Farms Ltd Certificated Location
Mongeham Farm
Northbourne Road
Great Mongeham
Deal
Kent   (Browse area)
CT14 0HB
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (8)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Maggie 1 review from this member

 A lovely site in a super location overlooking open countryside. There are lots of super walks from the site, Walmer is about 2 miles away and Deal about 3 miles.

The facilities are clean and being updated.

The warden is very helpful and comes round to check everything is ok. He can tell you about places to visit in the area.

There is a good pub about 10 mins walk away serving reasonably priced meals. There is no convenient public transport nearby, only a school time bus.

Care is needed to access the site as the surrounding roads are very narrow.

The ice cream produced on the farm is really good. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sueandrichard 14 reviews from this member

 Absolutely brilliant site. Very, very quiet.

The owner is very pleasant and doesn't bother you at all, you can park any way you want to.

Showers and toilets really good.

Within walking distance to Deal and a pub down the road which we didn't try but looked OK.

Would certainly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tonys3 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely flat site with well mown grass. It was quiet when we were there with very little road noise. The site proprietor was a nice, friendly person.

The toilets were nice and clean, you just had to walk around the back of the site. The showers weren't open at the time.

It was quite a walk into Deal, we couldn't use our bikes as the weather was so bad, but there is a bus that runs nearby, although you need to check the times as they don't run too often. There are other buses on the main road a bit further away though that run frequently.

Good value for money compared with other campsites. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jpandc 1 review from this member

 Power and water at each site was a good point, although the toilet and waste were fine their position was not ideal.

It was lovely to to be only two miles from the lovely town Deal. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wanderer 53 reviews from this member

 Really friendly welcome both on the phone and once on site. The grass pitches are of a good size and well kept and there is a hard standing area just before the grass area.

There are horses in the adjacent fields. There are 2 toilets and a shower which is charged at 10p a minute and are both kept very clean. The black waste dump is aross the road.

Site is easy travel to see the area and Deal is about 2mls and walkable. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karenmcmillan 10 reviews from this member

 Great site. Added bonus of your own water and spotless toilets and shower, both not usually found on a small CL site. Chemical disposal was a bit more tricky as was out the site and across a road which can get very busy and with fast traffic. Took a while to find toilets and showers as they appear to be in someone's garden. Doubly confusing as there are 'workers' toilets next to the chemical waste so the first few days we thought they were the loos and there is a huge difference in cleanliness!my only gripe about the site is the access.

We saw several altercations between motorists in the 2wks we were there as the long steep road down to the site has parked cars on both sides all the way down and is very narrow in places so only room for one vehicle at a time and no room to pull over(especially with a caravan). It was like that everyday for all the time we were there and put us off coming and going from the site. We were lucky on the day we arrived to get the caravan down the street but didn't even attempt it when leaving and rather chose the country lanes which at least had passing places and was a whole lot less stressful. Everyone on the site felt the same way and it became the topic of conversation on the best way to get out with our vans and motorhomes. We are seasoned caravanners and travelled in many built up areas but this access would seriously put me off going back. Local pub walking distance with great big beer garden for the kids but not great nor very friendly so we didn't go back.

Another issue( especially if you have children) is there is an electric fence around the site. There are horses in some of the adjacent fields so I guess this is for security for them however the signage is practically non existent with only a tiny notice hidden behind one side of the perimeter fence. I found this out as my sons ball went into the adjacent empty field. You can't see the electric fence only the wooden one in front of it. I attempted to go under the fence and got an almighty shock on my back. I felt sore for all that day and the next and would hate to think what would have happened if one of my children had attempted to climb the fence. It was a powerful shock. After looking for it, we did find one very small warning notice on only one side of the field that couldn't be seen as it was behind the wooden fence. I would urge the owner to remedy this

Real shame about the access because the site was a nice one with big level pitches but the access issues mean we wouldn't rush back and that's not the owners fault. If I was a resident I would be demanding some kind of traffic management system. This and the electric fence

Incident mean an 8/10 instead of a 10 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vangelina 19 reviews from this member

 Well maintained C. L. In pleasant flat, well mown field. Near to Deal for shopping and sea. Road noise didn't bother us at all.

Friendly owner. Good value for money. 2 pubs in the village but we didn't try them. Very clean toilet and shower facilities.

Would stay here again when in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bidder66 2 reviews from this member

 Most things have already been said but, to just add that there are two toilets and one shower in an area a little way from the pitches, both toilets and the shower are unisex and well kept. The shower takes coins with 1 being for 10 mins (if I remember correctly).

We were on the shingled hard standing but unfortunately so were the locals that used it as a car park for the night. The chemical disposal is across the road behind a shed so we didn't bother with it.

The Owner is very friendly and welcoming. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Goodintentions 5 reviews from this member

 We booked this very last minute for three nights at the tail end of half term. We'd enquired via UKCampsites. Co. Uk, along with three other sites in the area, and Solley's Farm was the only one who bothered to reply!

As we only have a Campervan we have not stayed on a CL before as we need the facilities normally only provided by more commercial sites. This was therefore a very nice exception as it has everything you need and at 14 a night including hook-up, was very reasonable. Even though the facilities are not on the field, I have had to walk further to find toilets on larger sites.

There wasn't room for us on the field on the first night, so we parked on the hardstanding area adjacent, which is thickly gravelled and slightly sloping, but nothing a couple of ramps wouldn't solve. There is a hook-up facility here for several vans although we were the only ones using it.

The second night we moved into the field, which is nicely sheltered by trees and a slight hill, with plenty of birdsong and the gentle sound of sheep and horses in the neighbouring field. Others have mentioned road noise but really this was minimal during the hours when we were there. Each pitch on the road side of the field has its own tap - very handy.

The facilities are very good with automatic lighting and heating. There are two toilets, a sink and a shower, which has very detailed and helpful instructions for use. You can use 10p, 20p, 50p, 1 or 2 or even euro coins. As a 1 gets you 10 minutes, and so does a Euro, you definitely get a better deal with euros! The shower was clean although the curtain could do with replacement or cleaning. There is an honesty box in the toilet block with envelopes provided for people to pay their camping fees - we did meet the owner on our first morning but he was very relaxed about when we should pay so we used the box to pay on our last morning before departure.

As campervanners who decided not to use our awning since we were only there for a short stay, we did find it necessary to mark our pitch with one of the cones thoughtfully provided near the water tap - there is nothing to stop anyone turning up and taking the pitch while you're out otherwise.

The site is very handy for Deal and Walmer which have a castle each. We visited Walmer which is not easy to find using Satnav and is only open at weekends I believe, but well worth a visit. The gardens alone are beautiful and the castle is well presented and interesting, run by English Heritage. There's a very nice teashop as well. Sandwich is a picturesque little town with lots of medieval architecture and some nice eateries, and Broadstairs is a typical English seaside town with a beautiful beach and some lovely views. About 13 miles south along the coast between Dover and Folkestone is the Battle of Britain memorial which was informative and thought provoking and in a beautiful situation at the top of the famous white cliffs, giving views across the channel to France.

There are two pubs in the village of Great Mongeham but only one serves food, and only until 6 pm, so we had to venture further to find evening meals. We were unsuccessful in finding anything of note and would recommend self-catering. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dynadot 7 reviews from this member

 Great little site. The toilets and shower are top of the range for a cl site, we found the owner very helpful and will spend time with each group as with us he had a nice cold beer on the hot day.

The only down was traffic noise but you get use to it, 'will go back' lots to see Deal and Dover castles a must also walmer house. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Solley Farms Ltd Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Solley Farms Ltd Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Solley Farms Ltd Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Deal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1088 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement