Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thornwick Bay ( Haven Holidays )

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > East Yorkshire > Flamborough > Thornwick Bay ( Haven Holidays ) > Reviews

Thornwick Bay ( Haven Holidays )
North Marine Road
Flamborough
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO15 1AU
Tel: 0333 202 5250
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 89 Reviews
                8/10 from 89 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mayyve 3 reviews from this member

 First time at this site. Euro super pitch booked, a fair drive up to the touring site office.

My excitement ended there, the pitch was unkempt, stones all over the hard standing, the grass was really long, a deposit of dog poo on the edge of the grass and the electric didn't work, the site warden stated that someone had left in the morning and never said anything? That was questionable as the occupants on the next pitch told us our pitch was vacated the day before we arrived? We decided to make the best of a not so good situation.

The toilets were clean, the showers were acceptable, the touring site laundry had one washer that was out of order.

We noticed the touring site staff arriving everyday spent most of their shift sat on a bench outside of the office chain smoking, not a good impression to say the least!

On a plus side we found a great pub called The Viking Hotel a 15min walk from the site, we had some fantastic meals in there and they serve drinks specials which are changed weekly, the staff were very welcoming and very dog friendly.

Another great pub in Flamborough serve spectacular carveries on a Sunday, advisable to book 'The Ship Inn'. There was also a bus into Bridlington that run from the campsite every hour.

Not sure whether we'll return, maybe if Haven take more care of the touring site and introduce more dog friendly areas we'd consider, definitely not anytime soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Kirkybhoy 5 reviews from this member

 Typical Haven site.

Once you have navigated the road in through the villages which were tight in some areas due to roadworks and parking, the site entrance was clean and well presented. Check in was painless and staff very pleasant.

Once we reached the touring / camping area the Touring wardens greeted us and explained where and how to reach our pitch. Both were very helpful and pleasant.

Touring area and facilities were clean, one issue was a water leak from a field offsite which constantly made the lower camping area wet. Restaurant food was good value and decent.

Entertainment, bar facilities and swimming were all good and clean. On site shop prices were similar to local shops, not overpriced like some sites I have visited.

Beach access was about 10 - 15 minute walk from site or a short drive car park. Great views from the clifftops and caves are accessible on foot at low tide.

Bus from site to Bridlington very reasonable if you want to visit and leave the car.

Tourist attractions within easy driving distance.

Overall 1st time visiting this site I would return and I recommend a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Arwen444 6 reviews from this member

 Mm what can I say. Expensive and crammed in like sardines. We were lucky to get a flat pitch only about ten the rest wrre proper blood rush to the head. Facilities were clean but skin ripping hot with no temp control.

Every night was chaos until 2 in the morning. Partying rowing. Got very fed up. There was more than one tent at it and they were warnex but the minute security went back to the warm it was off again. Who plays hide and seak with kids at 1am!

Its a vast site with nit enough staff who arent paid enough for what they have to do. Mostly youngsters. Wait in the bar was dire. Pool only suitable for under 10s arcades that will leave you stripped of every penny if you let the kids go for it.

Theres miles and miles if statics. We would not have gone if family weren't already there. Weather stayed fine but very windy on the camping field.

This site is not geared to campers only statics. Nice co_op on site but very expensive 2 for a tin of beans. Be fit for walking a lot on this site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Russell Thomas 12 reviews from this member

 3rd time visiting this site, so obviously enjoy the campsite. This was the first time without a dog however so were able to make use of the facilities which were very good.

The area is an excellent destination for walkers with plenty of paths to choose from both coastal and inland.

The site is a short walk from the lovely village of Flamborough which boasts 4 pubs, 3 of which provide meals, 2 chip shops a pizza takeaway and a good size co-op.

Can't wait to return.

Very wet four days but the toilets were immaculately clean and warm. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lee-Gilbert 6 reviews from this member

 Easy to find with good access, the guys at the touring site reception were informative and gave us a couple of options for pitches that we could use.

The touring field is towards the back of the site which was about 5-10 min walk to the entertainment, pool and chip shop.

The ground was a bit spongy but the rain had been relentless so quite understandable really, toilet/ shower facilities were spotless, great value for money (we stayed Oct half term so end of Oct).

Stunning views with some nice walks, close to Bridlington, Filey and Scarborough. Would certainly stey there again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dragon56 28 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this lovely Haven touring site. Good size hard standing pitch with plenty of room for our 24ft motor home and plenty of space for an awning. Great walks along the coastal path.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and the facilities were clean and warm. Good little supermarket on site and a nice walk into Flamborough with shops and a few pubs.

Great value site and we have booked again for next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Denisebr 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights at this huge resort-style park close to Flamborough Head.

Easy to find and access. Touring field is through main park behind all the static caravans and has own Touring Reception. Friendly helpful staff. Level grass pitch with EHU a few hard standing available.

Chemical waste located next to the toilets. Toilets showers and dish washing nearby which were very clean, though we used our own shower. The"drive over" motorhome grey waste was just a rain water drain in the road near the kerb and difficult for large units to access!

Has indoor pool, children's play facilities, Co-op and laundry. There is a bus that stops on the site near the main entrance which goes to Flamborough and Sewerby Hall.

Paid 26 for 2 nights but this was a special offer reduced from 44. You are given an arrival time that you must arrive within or advise if going to be late. Overly complicated arrival system. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Little ann 14 reviews from this member

 "Thornwick Bay"(and Seafarm) Been coming here since early 70s.

Great improvments to the whole site well done, Sadly the caravan Touring part is not great? Seems like they started well off with the hard standing row, and then just throw the rest of the caravans into a corner?

Could do with all being hard standing and a warden on after 5. 00pm to direct late arrivals including trailer tents & cars from pitching anywhere?

Oh and a quick thanks to the person in the VW for taking a short cut between the caravans over the flower bed too get from one road to another to reach his static and running over our power cable twice? 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chulady 2 reviews from this member

 I love this site, been going for the past 45 years. I always book a year in advance so it feels like its for free. The staff are great, also available to help set up and wrap up the caravan. The facilities are great. I holiday with just my dogs and walks are fantastic. I could live there its that nice. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mixedgrill 29 reviews from this member

 We have just had five days here on a grass pitch with electric hook up, water, and TV.

This park has to be the jewel in the crown for Haven.

Everywhere looks new and clean.

The wardens were very friendly and helpful!

The cleaners are always in the bathrooms keeping them spotless!

Next time we are on the east coast we will be returning here!

I am a registered blind camper and felt safe and secure on this campsite! 


Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Thornwick Bay ( Haven Holidays ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Thornwick Bay ( Haven Holidays ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thornwick Bay ( Haven Holidays )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Thornwick Bay ( Haven Holidays ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Flamborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2850 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement