Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crosslanes Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Oswestry > Crosslanes Campsite Reviews

Crosslanes Campsite
Melverley
Oswestry
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY10 8PB
Tel: 01691 682677  or  07817144233
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 26 Reviews
                10/10 from 26 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dodger the dog 1 review from this member

 A lovely peaceful site, a single clean flush toilet, sink and a tap. Fran the owner is very friendly, delivering firewood and basket direct to the pitch.

There is a pretty pond surrounded by a wild flower meadow, although this had gone over by September. There is a lane along the edge with a few early morning tractors, but after all it is the countryside.

We had one night with another tent at the opposite end of the site and one with just us and the pouring rain.

Considering the very British weather (or despite it) we had a couple of very relaxing nights. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: GcH1 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet farmland campsite for those who savour peace and quiet.

Owner, Fran, very helpful and friendly; the breakfast, if ordered, is huge and comes in heat retaining packs. Has plumbed toilet (single) and wash hand basin. Both kept clean.

Dark skies and plenty of wildlife. Easy to overshoot the field if travelling from Argoed direction, be warned!

Pitch where you like and leave when you like, perfect.

Didn't visit Cross Keys pub, but the Royal Hill is a real unchanged locals pub with good selection of beers. Both a drive away though. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janegl 1 review from this member

 A wonderful site. A lot of space, v peaceful, lovely views, beautiful countryside, very quiet when we were there, which is what we like.

Toilet good, water supply v near to hand.

Fran, hostess, very friendly and helpful, and thought of everything we might need.

Really enjoyed the campfire (only cost £5, 3 nights worth of wood).

Totally recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jeff and Joanna 4 reviews from this member

 A basic campsite in a beautiful location.

Only water and a small toilet provided. But the field was lovely to walk around and the farmer owner was very nice.

2 good pubs within 1. 5 miles - a nice cycling distance if you don't want to drive. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Philsmiles 1 review from this member

 This was the most beautiful, tranquil, quiet campsite with pitches mown separated by metre high wild flower meadow in full bloom.

Fran is the most helpful host and set us up with a fire pit, wood and her own honey.

Surrounding country deep natural hedgerows and sleepy winding lanes of hidden uk countryside.

We loved it! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: TheRobster 1 review from this member

 What a brilliant place to visit if you want to get away from it all. I stayed in what seemed more like a quiet meadow, surrounded by wild flowers, than a regular campsite.

Being pitched right next to the pond was great with little blue dragonflys all around, some Coots nesting on the island and two Herons that I saw flying around quite a lot, juveniles apparently. Really enjoyed having a fire in the evenings, sitting under the oak tree with a beer and just listening to the sounds of nature, with bats flying overhead.

You can see Rodneys Pillar from the site and it is worth going up there, preferably via the easier but longer route following the main track until the final, steeper section. Allow plenty of time, the whole surroudings are beautiful and the views are stunning, you may even spot a hovering Kestrel as I did.

Fran was a really helpful and welcoming host and even rang around to find out where I could get Meths for my stove nearby (Llandrinio Petrol Station). She told me about a good place to go to get down to the River Vyrnwy, which is in walking distance from the campsite and there are lots of footpaths along the river banks to explore. I also had delicious cooked vegetarian breakfasts delivered to my camp each morning, which was a lovley treat!

Nothing at all bad to say about this place, it's got everything you need and nothing you don't, just bring a torch and maybe a power bank, you will probably be taking loads of photos! 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cjcoll 2 reviews from this member

 Second time we've stayed and possibly love the campsite even more! Beautifully kept camping meadow and friendly expert host,

Outstanding full English breakfast delivered at a time of your choosing,

Firepit and wood on request and new for this year were little hidden fairy doors around the site which our three year old daughter and her friends really enjoyed searching for.

See you next year! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Garpusmentus 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic 2 nights camping here. It really is an idyllic spot away from it all and a perfect place to let the kids explore and run around.

Fran is possibly the friendliest and most helpful campsite owner we have met and really made our stay even more relaxing.

You can bring a tent, a motorhome (like we did), a caravan, whatever you like and it’s easy to get to and get onto.

All you need from a campsite offering a more relaxed approach, water, a flushing loo if you need it, campfires absolutely and you can rent a brazier and buy logs and bits if you need to. We paid £11 for a brazier, 2 big bags of logs and a pack of firelighters for our stay.

Fran also does a massive breakfast delivered to your tent or motorhome if you order in advance was £8 per adult and £4 for kids. The pitches are also as big as you need them to be, no restrictions and you can leave any time you like on your last day.

Our kids loved running around the wildflower meadows and hunting fairy houses and chasing butterflies, we also took a lovely 10 minute walk down a quiet lane to Fran’s private meadow by the river.

The pub up the road is great, it serves food and has an awesome kids playground attached to it right from the pub garden.

If you don’t need electric hook up or loads of facilities then you can’t beat it 👍

We’ll definitely be back👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: JimpyBass 1 review from this member

 Excellent little site, back to nature with the warmest of welcomes. The site was quiet - we were the only ones on Friday - and Fran came out to meet us when we got to Cross Lanes and showed us to the site.

We had our pick of the pitches and chose one next to the pond. What a view - fields, pond, Rodney’s Pillar in the background. Fran couldn’t have been more helpful, and even sold us some milk as we’d not brought any with us.

Peaceful lanes for running and walking, we checked out the River Vyrnwy (might bring a swimming cossie next time!), excellent dinner at the Cross Keys, a mile and a half up the road In Kinnerley.

The facilities are basic, but were not open due to the COVID restrictions - but don’t be fooled by the photo, whilst it looks like a portaloo from the outside it is in fact a proper flushing toilet and hand wash basin. Fran explained that in winter the site floods so having a portaloo cabin means they can cart it away and bring it back the next season, rather than having a permanent structure which would be flooded out.

We brought a toilet tent with us, with a Porta-Potti and battery shower, and had no troubles at all.

Definitely will return at some stage, and would happily recommend it for a back-to-basics site where you can get close to nature. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cjcoll 2 reviews from this member

 We took our 3 year old aughter for her first camping trip and were made to feel safe and welcome by Francesca.

The campsite was superb and scenic with clean and checked facilities and not only would we go again we would highly recommend others do so!

Chris 
via mobile


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crosslanes Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crosslanes Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Crosslanes Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oswestry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2532 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement