Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of High Town House

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds > High Town House > Reviews

High Town House
Rattlesden
Bury St Edmunds
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP30 0SZ
Tel: 07395 272654  or  07395 272654
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Amanda 1 review from this member

 Have visited this site before and as always spotlessly clean, beautiful area lovely lake,

We will return again, one of our favourite places to stay 😁.

We like the information board at the entrance so we know which pitch we are on. Wish more sites did this. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debhir 1 review from this member

 A peaceful spot if you're looking for somewhere to relax. Area kept tidy with beautiful trees and enough fish to keep those that fish happy.

Pitches are of a fair size with water and electric close by if that's a pitch you opt for.

Will stay again.

The next question is site location which is difficult to score as it depends on what you are looking for. If it's isolation and peace then it's perfect. If you want to walk to a pub or amenities then it's a bit of a distance.

Customer service question you can't really score as it's a pitch up and settle yourself in kind of place. We arrived shortly after 1pm and the owner stopped by just to say hello the next afternoon around 4pm. A clever business concept really.

The wash up area, toilets and shower was spotless however the water pressure of hot water is poor for the shower or washing up. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisa 1 review from this member

 Poor fishing lake full of roach

No where for grey waste water to go.

Very noisy people on next 2 plots drinking and being very loud late at night.

No dog waste bins

Lot of noise from recycling yard over the road. 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Penny7 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful spot; very high quality facilities, well maintained.

Owners friendly but hands off - no pouncing on you with rules and regulations the minute you arrive!

We were visiting the area for a family event, so did not explore the local attractions. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vanessa rea 1 review from this member

 The site was ideally situated for lots of places, it was in a very pretty and quiet spot. We do not fish but the lake looked a good size.

We received a warm welcome from the owner who informed us where everything was situated after letting us get settled in and putting up our awning.

The toilet block was spotlessly clean and the charge of £1 for a shower gave you plenty of time.

We would go again as this site was well spaced out pitches so you were never on top of one another. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chris5 2 reviews from this member

 First Class in every respect.

Tranquil, spacious well laid out site. Immaculately kept.

Wonderful showers and toilet facilities coupled with great covered over washing up facilities.

EHU on most pitches and fresh water supply.

The hosts Martin and Jane along with Brian made us feel very welcome.

A site we would love to return to. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rjhat4 2 reviews from this member

 The site is flat with spacious pitches.

The owner is welcoming and helpful; lending us a longer extension cable.

There are only two shower/WC rooms, but that wasn't a problem as it is such a small site.

You need extra cash for a shower.
Everything was clean and well kept.

This is a very peaceful site which suited us fine. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nicki61 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 4 nights,

Facilities are great, two very new super clean spacious shower/toilet rooms just one criticism no plug socket for hairdryer but it wasn’t a huge problem as had electric in the van.

Electric, awning, dog, all included in the price,

Site is very quiet the only ‘issue’ we had was the roads getting to site, they are fairly narrow (a bit like driving around Cornwall) especially with a caravan on the back! The locals don’t tend to slow down or give way!

Other than that Brian - the site owner - was lovely couldn’t be more helpful, lake is good for fishing not the largest of lakes but apparently good for fishing.

Beautiful area and a Michelin star pub not far away - the Brewers if that’s your thing.

Would recommend visiting Bury st Edmunds lovely town with a lovely Abby and gardens, don’t bother with Ipswich we were not impressed.

Other than the local roads I would highly recommend this site.

At £25 per night it’s very reasonable. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Loweyj 1 review from this member

 We stayed for two nights at this beautiful site. The owners were very friendly, checking everything was okay for us.

The pitches are spacious with large trees surrounding the site - it’s a stunning site for wildlife lovers who enjoy the peace & quiet of the countryside & also a quiet site.

The facilities were clean & modern, having a shower, toilet & sink all in one unit. It’s a small site so only 2 units, maybe another toilet would be welcome.

My husband enjoyed the fishing & caught a few good sized fish. It’s only a few metres from the pitches so easy to come back for refreshments.

A very enjoyable weekend, would definitely recommend if you like tranquillity. We will be returning :-) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wilkins 28 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site we found at High Town House camping & caravan site at Rattlesden near Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk.

We find all the good sites thank to UKCampsite, that encourages its members to leave a “star rating & reviews”, this makes it easier to find the best sites in the area you wish to visit.

Having said that High Town House certainly lived up to all its star rating & all its reviews, the whole site is immaculately kept, the hedges & trees were nicely trimmed, the grass mowed nice & short.

The pitches were huge, many separated by tress, there were plenty of water tapes on site & the electrical hooks were 16amps. This is a large site with just twelve pitches, so plenty of space to relax without being on top of the other pitches, just like camping should be.

Down to the front of the site was a fishing lake, again well landscaped, with well-kept grass, one of the campers was fishing, he caught one while I was talking with him, he said the lake was well stocked.

The site is situated in the countryside surround by farm land, our pitch backed onto a cornfield, separated by just a small hedge, so we had wonderful views across the open countryside,

There was two large wet rooms, both with showers, wash basin, with a hand dryer & toilet, they looked almost new & were kept spotlessly clean. Inside the same building there was a washing up area with two sinks, there was plenty of hot water, also there was & information board.

Our stay at High Town House, was a very last minute decision, when I found out I was given a week’s rest bite from hospital treatment, so after finding High Town House on UKCampsite, I phoned & was greeted by Jane who was so helpful & Jane sited us on a pitch fairly close to the amenities block, we were allocated pitch number three, so on arrival we knew where to pitch our tent.

Soon after our arrival Jane came over the welcome us, checking if we were OK & said she was in the house if we needed anything.

We have been campers for many years, we had camped in the area some years ago, so we had already visited many of the attractions in the area, we choose this area for its beauty & for a restful few days,

The site was wonderful, really nice and quite & we were also blessed by wonderful weather the sun shone every day, in fact some days it was a bit too hot.

I must thank Jane & Martin, for a well-kept site, keep up the good work, I am sure many campers will enjoy your site;

I will certainly recommend High Town House to my family & friends. We hope that we can return in the future.

Brian & Martina – Tonbridge, Kent. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is High Town House child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to High Town House?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is High Town House dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bury St Edmunds      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4873 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement