Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Weir Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Weir Caravan Park Reviews

Weir Caravan Park
Stamford Bridge
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO41 1AN
Tel: 01759 371377
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs Cats 6 reviews from this member

 On arrival it's a wonderfully pretty site and we were shown to our pitch by a friendly enough guy. My husband was in his element being pitched at the side of the pond. He caught plenty of roach and perch. In the river he caught dace as well. It was lovely and peaceful for a few days away and easy to walk into the village with a few shops and dog friendly pubs. Excellent for our pooch. Good walks nearby as well. The only thing that lets it down is the toilet/shower block. I don't mind that it's old as it's clean. It's the position - right in the middle of caravan pitches with steps up to get in with the door swinging outwards, so you definitely know you are being watched (and probably timed) when you go in. Also if you have the window open you are looking straight onto someone sat outside their caravan. You can hear them and they can certainly hear you! I don't normally bother about things as long as they're clean but I really did have an issue with this. It's not private at all. So I do have to mark it down for this. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clevertrevor 1 review from this member

 My family and I stayed here for a weekend recently and had a great time.

We paid at the office for two nights then shown to our pitch by the warden, a nice guy think his name was Steve also spoke to his wife who works in the office also a nice talkative person.

Toilet block consisted of two separate toilets a male shower room and a female shower room ( one person at a time so could get busy at peak times but we didn't have to wait), at the end of the unit was a pot washing facility.

Small pond which can be fished if you have the gear.

Short walk into the village with an array of shops and a few takeaways plus at least two pubs.

Beware of the guy who lives in the office block, think he's the owner but takes a back seat I think. Found him to be a bit of a c#ck. Sorry but had to be said.

Would we go again yes, the kids loved it. Take plenty of bread for the ducks 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Deanocaz 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights at the end of the summer holiday. A lot of pitches are seasonal but there is still room for touring. The owners were very helpful, offering advice and a friendly chat each day. The site is nicely paced near stamford bridge and offers good links to York.

We stayed in plot 16 and this was close to the lake but in a nicely positioned spot,

We would go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jandg1976 2 reviews from this member

 A very nice site. This was the first time we had visited this site. We went with a group of friends with 5 tents in total. The owner was very accommodating, swapping us around with a couple in a caravan so we could all be together with electric hook ups and they could have the pitch they originally wanted! The site is mainly level with clean shower blocks, one in the main area and a smaller on on the other side of the river. We went on the hottest weekend of the year so far and the site was busy but we never had to wait long for a shower. The village of Stamford Bridge is a shortwalk away and has a couple of pubs, a nice fish and chip shop and cafe. We will definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bumblebush 4 reviews from this member

 Great location and walking distance to shops, pubs, restaurants and post office. Good location for touring. The site is lovely with a few hard standings. Very well tended areas and pleasant aspects overlooking natural water features a good place for fishing.

The pitches very too close together, if you request fully serviced pitch no hassle but, take special adaptors for water and waste connections.

Toilet waste is emptied in full view of passes by which I did not like. The toilets and showers are where this site is let down in a big way, inadequate for the size of the site and very unclean, sorry for these comments as the owner is a very pleasant chap and a works hard on the site upkeep.

Overall a good site, but look at those facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bestyman 46 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is fantastic. Its only a few minutes walk from Stamford Bridge which has 3 nice pubs, Chinese, Curry, Fish &chips, a Co-op and a butchers.

We had a meal in the Indian restaurant which was really nice and bought BBQ food from the butchers which was delicious.

The site is only a few hundred yards from the main York to Bridlington road.

We had a really nice pitch overlooking the small lake. Some pitches here are a little close together or on the small side, although it did seem that tenters/non EHU had more room. In any event it wasn't a problem to us.

Although toilet and shower facilities are small we never had to wait to use them. The shower was a real shower with a temperature dial, not one of those annoying push button ones. It was really powerful. Also no annoying key operated lock on the door.

All staff were very helpful and friendly with few rules. We were even allowed to stay slightly later than usual on departure day which I thought was a really nice touch.

Cost for 2 adults with electric was 20 per night.

Overall a really well run nice site which I can highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TheTurn 4 reviews from this member

 Great site, ideally situated, close to plenty of eateries; Chinese, Fish & Chip shop, Indian, Pizza. Good selection of pubs. Pharmacy and all kinds of useful shops, including a fantastic butchers; all walking distance from site. Absolutely beautiful village.

Fishing pond on site too shallow to be any use to serious angler. (Less than 12' in places found average depth to be 18' when plumbed this will have lead to stunted stock and may be bigger problem when it freezes over).

Very friendly and helpful site manager. (I think he's called Steve).

Reasonable rates, personally think electric charge (2/day) is high, supplement for over 2 adults excessive (we have 2 kids). By the time you have paid all supplements, you could be on a full service site, with more / larger amenities.

On the plus side, 2 per night for leaving van was a real bonus.

Will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jeanet 1 review from this member

 This camp site is brilliant we have been going here now for the past 3 months, and not got a bad word to say about it. The warden is great, he is a friendly person and helpful could not ask for a better camp site. It as got fishing pond, toilets are always clean, and also the site is very clean. Some of the season pitches the people are friendly, thinking about a season pitch myself for next year. Looking forward to next camping trip. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rorkie13 10 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely time at this gem of a site. Our pitch was between the river and the lake. The warden and reception staff were very friendly. The showers/toilets are small but adequate and you can use the showers on the static side, ALL the showers are extremely powerful with plenty of hot water. Stamforde Bridge is a few minutes walk away, a quaint little village with several pubs, a lovely fish & chips shop, indian, chinese, kebab shop and a co-op. Lovely riverside walk beside the river Derwent. The site is nice and peaceful, very relaxed with lots of friendly people. We would definitely return here. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TheGroves 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from this lovely little gem of a site after a very relaxing weekend.

Arrived on Friday teatime and was told which pitch number by the Warden and left to pitch and set up on a lakeside pitch. The office closed at 5 so if you arrive later you will have to let them know.

The lake itself is more of a large pond with an island in the middle (complete with duck house) but nevertheless our 6 year old loved fishing and riding his bike making lots of new friends and generally having a great time.

The lake is better for older children or smaller supervised kids as there are no fences etc to keep little ones out of the water.

The facilities are small but adequate and very clean. In the ladies area there is a shower cubicle with a WC and hand basin (I am told the gents is the same) and two extra toilets at one end of the block with the dishwashing area (with 2 sinks) at the other end. Bins and chemical toilet disposal areas are outside. As each shower room can only accommodate one person there will be queues in busy times. We used our caravan shower so it wasn't a problem.

The staff were friendly and the site is lovely and peaceful with plenty of space for active kids to run around and make their own entertainment.

Stamford Bridge is very close and has great facilities and a warm and friendly welcome. The Balloon Tree Farm Shop has a Pick Your Own and Cafe which were both excellent and is less than 5 mins drive away.

We would definitely recommend this site and we will be returning. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Weir Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Weir Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Weir Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5764 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement