Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Northdown Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Preston > Northdown Farm Campsite > Reviews

CLOSED: Northdown Farm Campsite
Osmington Hill
Osmington
Preston
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site is now permanently closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ink1974 5 reviews from this member

 I loved this site. I like basic campsites and I won't camp without being allowed a campfire, and so this site was right up my street.

Really beautiful setting and plenty of space. The main field near reception and the shops was pretty busy, but we found a spot in another field where we felt like we were practically alone. Friendly staff at reception, the showers were amazing compared with others I've used at back-to-basics campsites, and I prefer compost loos to portaloos any day. The washing up station had hot water and the sausages, bacon and bread from the shop were top quality, worth the prices charged (also the freshly cooked pains au chocolat in the morning were delicious) - there is a spar and a co-op 2 minutes down the road as well. We had a LOT of rain on Saturday so we treated ourselves to fish and chips - yum.

The location is fantastic, with the beach so close, and beautiful views at the campsite. A relaxed site, with a few large groups still making noise (chatting and laughing, not music) til the early hours, but far enough away not to bother us at all.

I plan to return there or to try Eweleaze Farm again next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Buskyokey 1 review from this member

 Visited on a weekend when the weather was perfect, so can't comment about practicalities in the wet.

Overall a well-considered setup, perfect for those who want to camp on a real farm. Personally I hate busy campsites with mowed lawns, lights everywhere, lists of rules. The facilities are deliberately minimal but function very well. I found the showers were simple, clean, powerful and provided ample hot water. The bark loos were fine, proper loo seat, clean, not smelly if you throw the bark in like you supposed to. I can see how a shelter above the sinks would help in poor weather. Some people are saying the shop is pricey, thatís because itís all organic. If you donít like paying a bit more for food produced with high environmental credentials and high animal welfare, then you donít have to buy it there. Personally I like to support this type of farmer.

The farm also ensures a few tame calves and goats are out in the main camping field, which my kids loved playing with. Itís also in a beautiful setting, not crowded, you can have fires (yep, they sell wood) and the sister farm (Eweleaze) 2Km away has itís own beach you can use. As you would expect with a farm that works with nature, not against it, the wildlife is abundant. My daughter saw a Kestrel, a Grass snake and Damselflies within minutes of getting out of the car! Shame itís only open for four weeks, but you can always stay at the sister farm earlier and later in the summer. Just lovely! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Csummers 2 reviews from this member

 We just had a fantastic few days at North Down Farm. My first experience camping and I loved it. The compost toilets were 'interesting' but clean and didn't smell that bad.

The showers are really, really good. Very hot and more powerful that our shower at home.

The site is really spacious and it was easy to pitch our tent. We experienced all weather - rain, sun and wind but the site was fairly well sheltered.

The shop on site is very handy and I highly recommend the breakfast baps. The sausages and bacon are delicious. We had the burgers on the last night and they were very tasty as well.

Lastly, the children adored the animals. Brilliant for them to get up close to pigs, goats, puppies, dogs and a calf. Liz the farmer was very patient and told them all about the animals. The hay bales were a great hit for climbing and the children would have happily stayed at the site all holiday.

Surrounding area is beautiful and loads to do. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RoverAllOver 3 reviews from this member

 Great location and close to a good pub and bus route. 1/2hr walk from a beach and lots of space. Not a bad price. Allows open fires. Relaxed atmosphere.

However the site has a cage of sheep dogs and puppies. Great if the remained in the cage however they were let out and you would see them "rounding up" children and parents dashing over. My kids would not go to the shop alone if the dogs were out. I also had to clear up two dog poos and saw the dogs do more that I could not locate or too runny to pick up. The dog situation did spoil the trip for my family because we are not dog fans if they are running free and pooing. On the positive side the campers dogs were all fine and well behaved.

The shop was just about ok to get by.

The beach bus did not run mid week. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingbetty 2 reviews from this member

 This site is great, ok it's basic but there is so much space that you can pitch anywhere you want to and have no neighbours, perfect for large groups. Also the kids loved playing on the haystack.

The facilities are fine, I was a bit worried about the loos but they were not a problem and were kept very clean. The only downside was that the sink was a considerable distance from the loo so they would benefit from some hand gel. The showers were fine and warm whenever we used them.

There are plenty of lovely places to visit in the local area and some good walks too.

Overall I would definitely return to this site and looking forward to visiting Eweleaze as well. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jontydrake 9 reviews from this member

 We were a group of 6 families with 11 children ages 5 to 12 on the late May bank holiday/ beginning of half-term.

After travelling down from London in terrible weather we arrived for a dry and sunny evening with a good choice of pitches.

There are 2 main flat and mown large fields with several other more remote, rougher fields : a good choice. Each field had several good, clean loos (no horrid porta-loos) and washing-up stations with hot water : quite a luxuory.

The reception is efficient and welcoming, the shop is well stocked, a bit pricey but good quality (the meats are frozen so you have to plan ahead).

There is also a menagerie of animals : calves, goats wandering around (children loved it, even I liked it) a pile of hay-bales to climb on and some dog walking arrangement.

There is some taxi arrangement to the beach and weymouth, the beach can be a half hour walk.

Local village is pretty, 10 mins walk, with a well reputed pub.

For us what worked was good space in the fields for foot-ball, kite-flying e. T. C, not crammed in, like-minded campers (mainly), safe environment for children to go-off and do what they do.

This site is a stone's throw from the coast : I wouldn't say it was sheltered from the wind - there was little respite from it, and if it comes from the sea its damp- so be prepared.

All-in-all I'm struggling to find fault, our group had a very enjoyable 3 days/nights.

I'd go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Silvercamp pod 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 6 nights just before the site closed. There was two fields open for camping and we found a sheltered space very easily. The campsite got busy over the weekend but still felt spacious and was quiet late at night.

The loos were ok, I counted 4 in each field plenty of loo roll. The washing up sinks now have hot water via gas but they are in the open air so maybe not so good when raining. They could also do with a little bin for food scraps etc, I didn't like having to throw these in the bush when trying to leave the sink clean for the next person. The showers were hot and spacious with plenty of hooks and a shelf.

The shop is basic but stocks the most important bits- I can recommend the range of cold beers and cider. They offer an ice pack exchange but had run out of frozen ice packs most days.

The site is not far from Weymouth and we also visited Corfe castle, Lulworth Cove and Durdle door.

There is no playground but the children often congregated at the haystacks and animals. You are allowed fires and they sell firewood at the shop, but we took a saw and found plenty around the site.

It is in a lovely location with a view of the white horse and some magnificent stars at night. It is more basic but during the week very reasonably priced. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lobwedge 2 reviews from this member

 My wife and sister together with two children stayed at this campsite for 6 nights and they all loved it. They camped in a large field with plenty of space for all the tents present, the children loved making the most of all that space and soon made friends with the other children present.

Also the children loved the very small petting zoo (puppies, Guinea pigs and a rat). The wash and toilet facilities may have been basic but clean even if the toilet was a peat toilet but there was no hand wash facilities in the toilet.

The on-site shop sold their own organic produce and sold fantastic bacon and sausage butties, the shop was open from 9 till 9. A bus runs from the site into Weymouth approx every half an hour for a small fee plus they provide (free of charge) a bus to a private beach at their sister farm.

Within easy walking distance to the village of Sutton Pontz and the Spring Head pub. Very quite, safe and peaceful. Shame only open 4 weeks of the year 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wilts camper 1 review from this member

 We just loved this site, back to basics! Great location, fab walks, campfires, very relaxing. I know composting loos not the best thing in the world but but the kept them stocked with loo roll and jet washed out twice a day more when site was bizy.

We stayed here twice back in July 2012, first time not long after it opened for a couple of nights and the site was very quiet with about 20 tents in total spread over 2 fields so we virtual had half a field to ourselves, fantastic! The second time was a very bizy weekend just before it closed and loos not so great as hole nearly full, one thing I would say is never look down, Eak! Bit more cosy pitching this time not the field to yourselfs as before but good atmosphere !

Didn't do showers so can't comment and sinks for washing up not the best but we always wash up in camp anyway so doesn't bother us. If you want playground and hair dryers mirrors and flushing loos don't come here it's not for you.

All in all we loved this camp and are booking again for this year 2012. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3324 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement