Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stonehigh Certificated Location (was Nigley)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Evie > Stonehigh Certificated Location (was Nigley) > Reviews

Stonehigh Certificated Location (was Nigley)
Stonehigh
Evie
Orkney Islands   (Browse area)
KW172PE
Tel: 01856 751249


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alronald 11 reviews from this member

 What an amazing location. Great CL with 5 pitches each with EHU. Fresh water, grey water and chemical toilet disposal. Friendly hosts.

Site is located on a working farm so options for dog walking limited to walking along the farm tracks but excellent beach at Evie only a couple of miles away along a decent road.

You're probably going to use site as a base and travel to places but being in the middle of the northern mainland coast nothing is too far away. Kirkwall is only 15 miles away, Skara Brae and the Neolithic Heart about 10.

Broch of Gurness road across the road from the site entrance. Evie Beach a couple of miles. Tingwall and ferries to Rousay a couple of miles away.

We visited the several nearby RSPB reserves - excellent with good hides - and saw hen harriers and red-throated divers.

There's a shop in Evie a mile or so away - Mistra Store. We never actually used it but from the sounds of what I've seen elsewhere it's excellent and sells everything.

Also check out the nearby Eviedale Bakehouse - they prepare sourdough pizzas to die for but need to be booked well in advance. We initialy couldn't get a slot but as a result of a rather fortuitous cancellation they emailed us and offered us that slot. Best pizza I've had in a long long time. And even better to have it while watching the sunset over Eynhalow Sound!  


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JULIE DOWLING 8 reviews from this member

 A site on a working farm with beautiful views across the sea to other islands.

Water point available centrally & each pitch has own electrics.

To reach any location you need to drive there from here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robert 1 review from this member

 Small site with no showers or toilets.

Only complaint is that as a dog friendly site the owner failed to warn us that there is an electric fence which our poor whippet dog discovered, very distressing end to a two night stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chrisfreemanuk 2 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a location.

Your hosts Jim and Liz are delightful and make time to chat about things to do and see.

The pitches face out towards the bay and the scenery is simply stunning. It is so peaceful here a 15 minute driveway is the Brough of Birsay, an absolute must see!

It is quite a slope to drive up to get to the farm and then the pitches are down another steep slope. I did worry that our MH might struggle to get out but she coped admirably (we are 8. 8m)

All pitches are slightly uneven but your hosts have thoughtfully put lumps of wood on the pitch to use in order to assist with levelling up.

We thoroughly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Headgardener 37 reviews from this member

 The entrance to this Caravan & Motorhome Club CL is easy to find in the village of Evie. However the entrance road up is very steep with a sharp drop down to the site. This steep up then down is repeated on leaving. Our motorhome was able to cope OK.

The site itself has fantastic views out over the sound to Rousey. The 'roads' around the site are all hard standing as are the pitches. Two look to be level but the others slope and in the case of the pitch we got sloped to the front and the side making it impossible to get level with two ramps ( there were plenty wooden blocks available but they were only suitable for caravans).

The chemical disposal is new and purpose built and easy to use.

We phoned to book and were told to pitch up and he would call on us later. When he called on us for the money it was a business like transaction. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dunky58 1 review from this member

 I have got to agree with the previous reviewers. The location is excellent and views across to Rousay are exceptional. Basic needs are catered for - water, electric and chemical waste disposal, but you really do get an 'away from it all' experience. Pitches are gravel hard standing and well drained. Owners are very pleasant and helpful. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RoyVaux 45 reviews from this member

 The site is in a fantastic location with views over to Rousay. The pitches are all hard and not far off level with water and disposal facilities close to hand.

The access track and on site slope could challenge underpowered drivers but the site itself is impeccably maintained.

The owner is most attentive and helpful. We rarely suggest that anywhere is cheap, but at £10 per night including EHU we make an exception.

Sites are few and far between on Orkney but this one is strongly recommended to Caravan Club members. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 86 reviews from this member

 We visited this CL in May 2013 as part of our Orkney & Shetland trip. Having just spent four nights at the Point of Ness site in Stromness, we needed a site just for one night before catching the overnight ferry from Kirkwall to Lerwick the next evening.

We arrive unannounced which didnít appear to be a problem to the owner but there was only one pitch available for two motorhomes! For just the one night one of us was allowed to park up beside the owners barns which was supposed to be more sheltered than the actual site as we seemed to stay in the middle of a full on gale! A temporary electric hook up was made available to us.

However we were mistaken to think that our pitch was more sheltered as we were buffeted all night long by high winds which shook the van & rattled all the loose metalwork on the adjacent barn!

The views from the site over Eynhallow Sound to Rousay were spectacular. There is a short circular walk down to the Broch of Gurness from the site and we had a nice beach walk along the Sands of Evie before heading back inland & to the site. The dogs enjoyed running into the sea chasing sticks & stones!

We only stayed the one night, but from what we experienced, the site is well looked after and located in a great setting overlooking the coastline. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: FrankHazel 2 reviews from this member

 This site is set in the most wonderful location and is kept in very good order. The facilities are just water provision and waste disposal, however, this is definitely one to visit on the islands.

The owners are so welcoming and they will offer lots of info and ideas of places to visit. They have thoughtfully provided a folder of attractions and timetables etc which is kept in an enclosed container for all to study.

The fees were the cheapest we had encountered during our tour of Scotland and is therefore an absolute bargain to pitch here to explore the islands.

We plan to return next year to this site to marvel at the amazing scenery and to meet with the lovely site owners again. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Stonehigh Certificated Location (was Nigley) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stonehigh Certificated Location (was Nigley)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Stonehigh Certificated Location (was Nigley) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Evie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Orkney Islands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


49567 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement