Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wood Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Staffordshire > Tean > Wood Farm > Reviews

Wood Farm
Great Gate
Tean
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST10 4HF
Tel: 01889 507258
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 13 Hook Ups, 40 Non Electric Pitches
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 48 Reviews
                10/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Beninnotts 3 reviews from this member

 Great friendly site with stunning views down into the valley. Sue and Nick are really welcoming and were kind enough to take delivery of our Tesco shopping and put it in the fridge before we arrived as we were delayed due to a flat tyre on the trailer.

Despite being half term week, it was surprisingly quiet. Kids were slightly disappointed there weren't more other children to play with but it made it easier for showers and toilets.

On busy times, I could imagine that only having 1 shower would cause a bit of gridlock but wasn't an issue for us as it wasn't busy.

Loads of space on the EHU pitch and our dog loved running around on the field and the woodland walk in the evening was really nice. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Claire 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, beautiful views, perfect for visiting Alton Towers which was what we were doing.

Staff are fantastic and the facilities are clean and well looked after.

Possibly could do with more toilets and showers but it wasn't a problem for us. 


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Thesalmon79 1 review from this member

 Amazing campsite

Definitely recommend for anyone with young children.

Not too crowded and plenty of room for the kids to play.

Lovely staff very friendly 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mbaile 1 review from this member

 First time we had visited Wood Farm but loved our stay from start to finish, simple camping at its best.

Set in beautiful countryside and lovely welcoming hosts.

Very impressed and hopefully will be back soon 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Andyrb 4 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location great for groups allowed fires and Nick will make sure you have plenty of logs.

Good walks around the woods and a pub local if you feel the nee 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Turkeybuzzard 1 review from this member

 Like most people have said, the place is lovely. Great pitches with views over the valley. Great woodland walks and plenty of local attractions.

At night time you can hear the owls twit-twooing as they survey the meadow. We saw a fox and itís cubs on an early morning walk through the woodland.

The facilities are a bit lacking. Only one male and one female shower which can get busy. There are portaloos in the fields but I prefer to see where I am going when itís a late night dash to the loo.

They have a communal barn which has karaoke at night. It went on until 11:30pm which to me was way to late.

I canít quite figure out what kind of campsite they are; they have such a wealth of natural beauty, woodland and animals surrounding them, yet they blair out karaoke until late. If you like to hear Owls twit-twooing, mixed in with The Power Of Love being sung badly then this is the place for you.

Also there was a large group which were up until nearly 4am, not great for a family orientated site. There are signs that say no loud music after 10:30pm but they donít seem to police this. Perhaps the noise gets drowned out by the karaoke.

I suppose the question is, would I stay there again? If they shut the music down at 10:30pm so I can listen to the natural night chorus then yes. Otherwise itís a no. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Neilly66 3 reviews from this member

 We visited Wood Farm for a few days mid week. It is a wonderful place. A former farm, the site is great. The fields are very well presented, the toilets are extremely clean and well looked after and the location is wonderful.

As it says in the write up, there are woodland walks, ancient burials and beautiful views. Nick has planted well over 50 thousand trees on the land and has mown paths around these areas for lovely early morning or late evening strolls.

Nick and Sue made us feel very welcome and Nick is a mine of information about the history of the site and has even collected an impressive array of finds from the various archaeological areas on the land himself. We were going to do some driving around the area, but once we arrived and set up we decided not to and spent a wonderful relaxing time doing pretty much nothing except walking our dogs around the woods.

The only slight downfall, as far as I could see, it the fact that there is only 1 gents and 1 ladies toilet and shower. However, to be honest, this didn't cause us a problem as we had the whole site to ourselves. I could see this might be an issue at busier ti, es though.

Neil & Lorraine (Wrexham) 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cabravieja 16 reviews from this member

 This site is all that's wonderful about the British countryside. Sweeping views across rolling hills, woodland walks, hares, birds of prey.

The boys played for hours with the farm dogs and loved the friendly donkeys on the footpath to the hamlet.

It's a short walk by road or across fields to a pub and a ruined abbey and the obvious choice for Alton Towers.

The pitches are flat, the grass cut and clippings collected, with loads of space for each pitch. There are some hook up pitches.

It's quiet during the week and very busy on summer weekends. The facilities are limited but spotless, and a few porta loos about that were the cleanest I have ever seen. You just need to time your showers to avoid the rush or have a bucket wash. Probably worth a porta potti or bucket if you have a few girls.

This site is good value and cheaper than the Peak District, though not far from there. The farm shop down the road is useful for groceries wine and beer though prices are what you would expect. Major shops in Uttoxeter if needed. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SmittenMummy 9 reviews from this member

 This is our favourite campsite yet! Everything about the site was brilliant and we will definitely be making a return trip.

It was a bit of a last-minute decision to go camping, and I was impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of owners Nick and Sue Brandrick from the very start. There are no card facilities on site, but I was assured that my phone booking was enough to secure my pitch.

The site is approached by a long drive past roaming farm animals, with beautiful views on all sides. We were met outside the reception by Nick and Sue, and immediately felt really welcome. They went out of their way to show us all the facilities Ė immaculately clean showers and toilets, a dishwashing area, recycling and rubbish bins Ė and then personally showed us to our pitch. We were in the second field, which seemed to be reserved for families. There was a separate field with electric hook-ups, and another third area.

My hubby and I went about setting up camp while the kids climbed trees and built dens in the nearby wood. There were plenty of other children about too, and a really lovely, friendly atmosphere. The view from our tent was beautiful, and we were blessed with two awesome sunsets when we were there. Other than the ground being a bit hard in places Ė take a mallet! Ė it was pretty much perfect.

We were joined on the second evening by friends, and Nick and Sue had gone out of their way to reserve us a pitch big enough for both families. We hired a fire pit, and thanks to the brilliant weather were able to really enjoy the Ďproperí camping experience of toasting marshmallows round the fire after a few games of Frisbee and cricket nearby.

On Saturday nights Nick and Sue put on free entertainment in a huge barn by reception. We popped along to see what was happening and watched a bit of a kidsí movie on a big screen before heading back to the tents. Karaoke started not long after, but the kids were getting tired so we gave it a miss. We could hear people singing from our tents, but it wasnít too disturbing (and was actually quite amusing at times) and it was all quiet by about 11. 30pm. The noise certainly didnít affect our enjoyment.

Overall, Wood Farm is a brilliant place to spend a weekend. There are loads of attractions within driving distance (Alton Towers, National Trust sites etc) as well as plenty of walks through the nearby woods. I cannot fault the hospitality of Nick and Sue (I was so impressed that Sue remembered my name!), and the facilities were brilliant. We canít wait to go back there :) 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saliboti 25 reviews from this member

 We have recently been on a weekend camping trip to Wood Farm. The location of the site is lovely, offering excellent views over the valleys. It is a very big site with a few separate camping fields, therefore there is plenty of space. Very convenient location for visiting Alton Towers, Croxden Abbey (2 miles away), and many more lovely places.

The washing facilities were very clean and pleasant, however quite limited. There was only one male and one female separate shower, toilet and sink available. It was a busy weekend when we stayed and there was some waiting around for showers and to use the toilet in the morning. The wash room was not very big either, so there was a bit of dodging about with other people when trying to use the one sink! The site would greatly benefit from having more facilities, and some shelves to put your toiletries on when having a wash.

On the first night there were unfortunately some noisy campers shouting and screaming in the middle of the night, which we were not too pleased about. Also, an inconsiderate camper playing loud music! This of course was not the fault of the campsite, however it may be beneficial for the owners to keep a look out for noisy campers! 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Wood Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wood Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wood Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tean      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55373 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement