Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Willows Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Withernsea > Willows Holiday Park Reviews

Willows Holiday Park
Hollym Road
Withernsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU19 2PN
Tel: 01964 612233
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Skybanner1 1 review from this member

 Very safe. Plenty of space between units. Clean tidy area. Never used the toilet and shower block so can't say how they were.

Only niggle the fresh water tap. The grate underneath was for your waste water. Would prefer a separate fresh water tap away from waste grate.

A couple of seats around the pond would be nice. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Crilly 1 review from this member

 Lorraine was friendly and very helpful let us park up early gave us all instructions very helpful

Everything clean, very well organized.

Enjoyed it we had a great time. Easy walk to the beach where we walked right into town centre 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Janetq 2 reviews from this member

 A nice site but basic. Clean lovely toilets.

Unfortunately other campers left dog dirt outside their motor home & dove off.

A nice walk into Withernsea.

It has a clubhouse but didn't use it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Richard Breerton 1 review from this member

 Excellent pitch, toilets clean and modern, club on site very good and staff very helpful and pleasant.

Definitely recommend this site,

Very convenient to walk into town 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 0403jacqui 3 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were met by the warden who was very nice and showed us to our pitch. Pitch was a large concrete slab (looked like a static van had previously been sited on it) next to the road with hardly any grass to pitch an awning.

I asked to be moved as we had 2 dog's with us and so near the road was dangerous. We were moved to a middle pitch. Site is a bit tatty and tired.

The pub on site very grotty. No facilities for dog's but we were charged 1 for each one. Makes a mockery when a family behind us had paid for 1 pitch but there were 7 of them squeezed into 1 caravan and also sleeping in the awning. Bet they were not charged extra.

On a plus side the toilets and showers were very nice. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Greasychipbutty 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed there for the Easter Bank Holiday myself, wife and two grandkids aged 6, 11

On arrival we were met by the warden and his wife who we found very friendly as they guided us to the pitch and helped us into position.

The pitch was grass and at the back of the toilet block in a small area with two other adjacent pitches around the statics area.

The pitches were all quite level and ample room, but we were told not to park on the grass due to having a lot of rain recently although not too far away from the pitch.

The area was quite flat and tidy with a large grass area and an ample playground for the kids.

A few people on previous posts had complained about the toilet/shower block, but it is now completely refurbished and like new fully tiled. You can have nice walk round the site and feed the ducks around the fishing lake.

A pleasant flat walk of around a mile and you are in the town centre, a little closer to the beach.

There is a large Tesco nearby which is very handy.

A big plus for us was the Pavillion Leisure Centre which is in the town centre and has a great swimming baths with slide and never got too full. 15. 50 for a family of 4 FOR 3 SESSIONS and can be used up to September. That, s just over 1 /person/session

Great value, we spent 3 hours there one rainy windy day.

All in all we enjoyed our stay despite the weather and would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bestyman 46 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in a motorhome for one night.

Location- The site is a mile from Withernsea with nothing much nearby.

The cost was 20, including a 1 charge for the dog which was strange as I saw no facilities for the dog such as a dog walk.

Pitch was where a static caravan had previously been. We had to be careful not to trip over the fixing points in the base.

The site was mainly statics (most empty as mid week) and only one touring caravan/MH.

Showers were poor. It was an overcast late afternoon as I went for a shower but I couldn't find a light switch, I can only assume they are on a sensor (that needs adjusting. I went in the first shower and simply could not see. I moved to the shower nearest the window where the remaining daylight came in. The flow from the shower was poor and far too cold for my liking. I am forgiving on busy sites when all the hot water has been used up, but that was not the case here. The thermostat needs adjusting as well as said light sensor.

The wife was also not impressed by here shower saying that it took ages to rinse her long hair.

We had to pay a 20 deposit for the toilet/shower key and fob. I'm not sure why the toilets are locked in the first place as the site is not nearby to anything?

The warden was a very nice friendly chap, so I was surprised when I asked what the latest we could leave he said 10. 30 to 11 am. He added that if we stayed after it would be an additional 8. He had the 20 cash deposit for the all important toilet key, so who was I to argue?

Rules are rules, but in my experience of other sites, if they are almost empty and midweek they often say go when your ready, sadly not the case here.

As the minutes ticked down to 11 am I hurriedly emptied my toilet cassette into the disposal point. It was partly blocked and a fellow camper told me it had been like that all week.

We never did venture in to the club, but can confirm that the no shorts rule after 8 pm is still in force. For clarification that's shorts as in trousers, not shorts as in whisky. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julie1956 1 review from this member

 Stayed at the Willows from 25/05/14 to the 28/05/14, booked a touring pitch & traveled as a family of 2 adults, 1 child & a dog.

Upon arrival at Willows we were met by a the site wardens who explained the site layout to us, & a couple of little rules & regulations, e. G. Dogs must be kept on leads at all times etc. As you would on any site. We were given a key to use the barrier at night to get in & out of Willows in which we had to leave a 20 deposit which you get back when departing from your stay. I would like to say that the wardens made us feel very welcome throughout our stay.

Toilet & shower blocks:

From the outside they look half decent, however once you step inside it is like going back in time to the 1970's. Yes they were clean as best as is possible but due to their age and decor they are really only fit for demolition. Bright orange sinks (obviously out of avocado) too dark to shower, mirrors that your granny would have in her hallway. Compared to other sites they were dire. But as already mentioned cleaned as best as possible with the reassuring bleach aroma!

Club house:

On the plus side the barman was very friendly, welcoming and entertaining. That's the plus side over and done with!

Understandably all such establishments have house rules. But is it really necessary for a British seaside campsite to have a no shorts after 8pm rule. Incidentally the 8pm is the evening opening time which is a little on the late side but that is just in my opinion. Also no children are allowed in the main bar area. More on that later. So a family room is provided. This 'family room' resembled a 1970's graveyard of mismatched furniture (yes the 70's again. Pattern forming eh) whilst clean it all should be considered for bonfire night. The attached amusement room whilst not lit or showing any signs of life had a collection of dated games machines. Didn't check if operated by decimal coins or not!

Now for the main bar area. It was a strange combination of a 1970's (again) working men's or women's club and the set of the TV show the comedians. And empty(ish).

The Willows is so frustrating. Such positives i. E. The grounds with the beautiful lawns and relaxing duck/fishing pond, although some new flags and holes for the pitch and putt wouldn't go amiss, the friendly and soon to be departing Wardens who couldn't do enough. Versus the time warp of the facilities. Please invest, upgrade and get ready to welcome back returning guests. We would love to return, just not in its present form. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ashlady 1 review from this member

 Met by the site wardens, both very welcoming and helpful, we were shown to the pitch and had all necessaries explained. The site is very clean and tidy and the pitches spacious and fairly level. There is a decent recreation area for the kids. The shower block was again very clean and tidy if a little outdated and the showers themselves were adequate.

We were on foot for most of the week and it was a short and pleasant stroll to the beach (15 mins) and just a little further to the town along the promenade ( another 15 mins)

There is a Tesco within easy walking distance and an Aldi in the town, we sampled an excellent fish supper from a fish shop in town and also a lovely Chinese takeaway. The warden told us that the local pizzeria would deliver to the site too.

We didn't visit the club but it looked pleasant enough and daughter enjoyed feeding the ducks at the fishing pool.

Would definitely book to stay here again 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jamesntracy 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived on site & received a warm welcome from warden(man & wife team), shown where locations of toilets, pub, lake, etc. Shower & toilets very clean. Lake good size with plenty fish in. Ducks on site so kids enjoyed feeding them. Pub on site lacked entertainment & kids room had limited games, although the barman more than made up for this by keeping us entertained with his magic tricks & giving kids toys to play with. Small play area for kids. Will definitely book again here. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Willows Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Willows Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Willows Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Withernsea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1905 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December