Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Raines Hall Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Raines Hall Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Raines Hall Farm Certificated Site
Sedgwick
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 0JH
Tel: 015395 61760
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 7 Reviews
                8/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 296 reviews from this member

 A good site for a stopover, easy enough to get to, somewhat narrow lane from the main road but not too bad. The site itself is a bit rough around the edges, but ok and only £12 per night. Handy for ASDA at Kendal, cheap fuel.

The maze was not officially open, but we went in there with our dog, which he enjoyed.

You are very much left to your own devices, which suits us, go to the house to pay when leaving.

Didn't use the facilities, so can't comment. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wooliew 10 reviews from this member

 This is a great site for a one night stay if you don't have children, much longer if you do as your children can use the Lakeland Maze facilities.

The campsite amenities aren't wonderful as you are sharing them with dozens of children when the facility is open, there is just one WC cubicle in the mens toilet. The shower is a rip off, 20p for one minute from the time you put the coin in the slot which doesn't give you much hot water by the time you get under the shower. It was also dirty.

A haven for birdwatchers, I have never seen so many swallows and housemartins in one place.

The site is right below the west coast railway line so can be a bit noisy.

At £14 a night with hook up it is good value for the Lake District. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Theball2008 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 7 nights. Able to have a hard standing pitch with the awning on the grass. Good access to the Lakes. We have 2 dogs so welcomed the walks straight from the site across the owners fields and also down quiet lanes. Toilet and shower on site but can not comment on them as used the facilities in our van. The site was really quiet even though it is a working farm. Would definitely go to this site again. Bargain at £12 night including electric. No children on site when we visited so can not really comment, other than as per their website it is a family tourist attraction, which includes a Maze, however not open when we went. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BlackpoolJewell 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site for families!

I don't think this site is given anywhere near enough credit on here.

The site is tucked away at the back of the farm, away from the roads and the entertainment facilities for kids were fantastic.

We took two 11 year olds who are getting a little hard to please when it comes to play areas - not here. They had access to the outdoor play area for free for the whole weekend - this included go-karts, trampolines, and a zipe wire. Even our two were impressed.

We also paid £20 for unlimited use of the other facilities including the fantastic Maize Maze. We had never visited a Maize Maze before and it was fab! We all enjoyed doing the small one during the day and hopping, galloping, and driving like a tractor throught the maze! Then we waited until it went dark and did the Moonlit bigger Maze.

I can not emphasise enough the excellent value this site represents (even with the additional £20).

If you have younger kids the farm has plenty of animals and lots of interactive hands-on sessions and an indoor soft play area.

The only thing this site is missing is shower and washing up facilities but then again, if it had these it might be busier and you might not get in! 


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HALL FAMILY 4 reviews from this member

 Small and charming little site located on a working farm overlooking stunning views of Cumbria. We had a hardstanding with electricity and stayed for 2 nights - New Years Eve and Day.

No frills but great location for exploring the Lake District. There's a fantastic outdoor play area for children also indoor go-karting and plenty of animals to see on the farm - pigs, goats, chickens (free range eggs for sale) ponys, donkey, llamas, ferrets, doves and rabbits to name but a few!

It is sign posted as Lakeland Maize Maze which is open to the public. Surrounded by quaint villages, a stunning waterfall just a few minutes drive away and Deer roaming in nearby woodland.

We can highly recommend visiting Sizergh Castle and National Trust gardens. We also had a lovely walk round Windermere and fed the birds by the Lake.

It is only a small site with no shower facilities but you can't beat the price, location and friendly owners. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Immiedee 9 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 nights here at the beginning of August, what a cracking little site especially if you have children.

Site is basic, no showers ect but as we use our van shower it was not a concern for us and it was only £10 a night with EHU.

Didn't see any serviced pitches though as stated on here.

We paid £20 for a family pass for the duration of our stay to come and go as we please into the animal park, maze, play areas etc which was really good.

Met some other caravanners on site too and kids played together. Very family friendly, would recommend. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philven 11 reviews from this member

 Just recently returned from a long weekend at Raines Hall Farm, this is the second time I have visited.

The site is hardly advertised on the web and is a Caravan and Camping Club site. It indicates 5 units only but I think that must be for Caravans only as it can easily accommodate a lot more tents. The site is easily found if you follow all the AA signs marked up as Lakeland Maze. Its brilliant for kids as its like a farmyard playpark, there's animals on site, a play field, from July there's a Maize Maze you can go round.

We were a party of eight in 2 tents, the site is on a bit of a slope but is fine as its flat at the top and bottom of the field, there are a new block of toilets, which must have been put in this year, its a short walk on a night in the dark - so torches at the ready! No showers but it was only for a couple of nights.

The site feels really safe, and so we were happy for the kids to run around, its a very child friendly/orientated place so our boys soon made some new friends. On the doorstep there is Sizergh Castle a NT site - 2miles away - well worth a visit, and about 8 miles away was low fell park, now this was a surprise it was brilliant, right at the bottom of lake Windermere, loads of people having bbqs, brought canoes/kayaks - it was a real find and again a NT site. For food there was The Station at Oxenholme - good food, great play area and about 2 miles from the site.

Yes it helps with the good weather - but its a good site and at £8.50 a night - a great price.

The only thing that would really be of use would be a washing up area and of course showers but that all costs money. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Raines Hall Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Raines Hall Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Raines Hall Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3668 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window