Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wookey Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Farm Reviews

Wookey Farm
Monks Ford, Wookey
Wells
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA5 1DT
Tel: 07779 145441
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 20/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           20/03/2022 to 30/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: The Manor 1 review from this member

 We have camped here for a few years,

I've never wanted to write a review before as I didn't want to let everyone know about it. IT IS THAT GOOD ! 50 out of 10.

And ian & sarah are brilliant. 🏕️🏕️ 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site, lovely flat pitches with electric hook up and camp fires. Each pitch has its own recycling facility for rubbish.

Warning for those that like to keep clean; no showers and compost toilets! And weekends can be very busy!

The village of Wookey is a 10 minute walk across the fields with pub and small community cafe / shop. Plenty to do in the area, City of Wells, Glastonbury, Wookey Hole & Cheddar Gorge.

Highly recommend it! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jazzmin 1 review from this member

 Stayed at wookey farm. A really lovely quiet place to stay. We stayed in a caravan so no need to use toilet but I hear it was fine.

No showers but not a problem. Lots of goat milk, yogurt, cheese, soap, etc. And meat to buy. Lovely pub in walking distance, ring o bells, good food and beer. And good walking to river and across footpath.

met all the goats and other animals. Well worth a visit. Will return soon! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snacks 1 review from this member

 I found this little campsite on the Zap map for Electric car charging points, this was the main reason for camping at Wookey farm as I was able to plug in and refuel whilst pitching my tent.

The site is in a good location close to Wells and has everything you'd want, with the exception of showers. They even have a pizza oven. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LucyBear 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely relaxing site in a great location for visiting Cheddar, Wells and Glastonbury. Pitches are huge campfires a must and the farm animals are a treat for up young and old alike.

Reasonable price if you can live without a shower for a couple of days and the the village itself is very pleasant for a stroll or a drink. Great atmosphere with plenty of space for kids to play in.

You can relax and walk everywhere or can use as a base for exploring by car. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DannyT 2 reviews from this member

 Just enjoy d a superb 3 days break at Wookey Farm. Excellent campsite with huge pitches. Separated in one side by bushes, and a campfire on the other. Compost toilets were very clean. Farm at the top of the site housed farm animals which the boys really enjoyed alongside a farm shop containing milk, cheese various meats, all at decent prices.

Great space in th middle of all the pitches for kids to play - our 2 boys made friends quickly and were soon having games of football.

The site is very basic, with the washing up, facilities being a table and a bucket, and there were no showers on site however all this is made clear on the website.

I'm already looking at our next visit and can't wait to get back there. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LlaniDavis 12 reviews from this member

 Spent last weekend here in our caravan, together with our 3 (adult) children in their tents.

Site is lovely and flat and the grass has been cut to a sensible length. Pitches are really big and in pairs with a small area between them, ours with a small firepit, and then bigger areas of small trees between each pair.

Large grass area suitable for games in the middle.

Communal fire area with benches at the bottom of the site.

Communal pizza oven available.

2 composting loos at one end of the site, which are fine and not as worrying as they sound; they certainly don't smell!

Water points at each end of the site.

Access is a bit narrow but not too much of a problem, but DO read them carefully. Both of the fords mentioned are NOT suitable for caravans, and the long one only for high riding 4x4's!

Some nice walks from the site.

Site has a small shop selling goat meat in various forms plus pork, lamb and eggs. The pork sausages are very nice!

Village has 3 pubs, and we used all 3. Can recommend The Pheasant Inn for excellent food, The Ring o'Bells for an excellent pint of Wadworth's 6X and The Burcott Inn for just being nice.

Burcott Mill does interesting tours and sells very nice home made bread.

Looked at going to Wookey Hole but it is VERY expensive!

We will be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Sharon n chris 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely campsite some lovely walks and not to far to go to the pub for a drink

the family that run the campsite are so welcoming we have been back a few times with our son

this time was just a short break but well worth it the children have plenty to do especially with the goats even the adults enjoy seeing them and the sheep and don't forget pickles the donkey.

This is a lovely campsite worth checking out and very reasonable price give it a go they are always doing improvements each time we have been

Sharon Kris n Mike 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thepinktart 1 review from this member

 This was our first trip out in our new caravan, after many years away from caravanning and what a lovely relaxed site to go to and find our feet again.

The directions to the campsite are a must to follow, but they work! We got there with a twin axle with absolutely no problem whatsoever.

The site is very well planned - cut beautifully, with large caravan / motorhome plots and smaller tent plots tucked away in secluded spots. Camp fire pits to share and recycling bins on each plot.

Don't be put off by the thought of the 'compost loos' - they have had a lovely 'girly touch'. Curtains, towel, hand wash, loo rolls and a notice board to read :-)

We didn't do any of the walks, as we drove out and went the coast and Roger Wilkins cider farm. We will have to do them on our next visit.

To summarise, I would recommend to anyone who wants to get away from the rat race of every day life and to relax. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tw1nklestartoes 2 reviews from this member

 Loved this site. Compost toilets were great and there was a river very close by to bathe in. Freshly filtered spring water to drink. Fire pits between pitches. Dogs welcome and there is a dog walking field. Eco friendly. A real back to nature and relaxing camping experience.

To entertain the children are rope swings in trees near the river.

Walk to the nearest pub was ok and they did good value and varied choice of meals. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wookey Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wookey Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Wookey Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3483 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement