Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bank Farm Leisure Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Swansea > Bank Farm Leisure Campsite Reviews

Bank Farm Leisure Campsite
Horton
Gower
Swansea
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
SA3 1LL
Tel: 01792 687205
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/03/2022 to 02/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 139 Reviews
                7/10 from 139 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  139 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Helen4 1 review from this member

 I came with a friend and our 4 children aged 11/12. Can’t complain about anything. Facilities were fine.

Only one tip, need a hold or something to put toiletries on while in shower and maybe more hooks. My stuff would get wet on the floor. Used a big shopping bag with it all in but again my clothes would get wet when I would get things out.

It was very windy and wet. Good old welsh weather 😂 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ShoreRam 3 reviews from this member

 I don't have many positives regarding this site. It's overcrowded, noisy, dirty, unfriendly.

We were invited to a family gathering so I didn't get to choose this site, I went with a positive outlook but it was very very disappointing. If you're looking for a festival style experience without the actual festival then this is the site for you.

We had a strange pitch that was surrounded by seasonal caravans, this obscured one of the positives the sight may have, the view. Our view was either the side of a caravan, a road backed by statics or the toilet block. Nice. It was also next to the road that led back from the pub so really noisy at chucking out time.

The main camping field is the festival zone. Despite the slightly muddy wording on their website, groups are certainly encouraged - There was a large group in the centre of this field for a couple of nights who enjoyed music and even karaoke(karaoke on a campsite!) until the early hours.

The facilities were not regularly cleaned so were quite unpleasant and more often than not lacking in toilet roll.

The noise and general atmosphere of the site was grim and while site owners don't make that noise, they do set the tone for a site and this isn't a good one for me. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cparsons 1 review from this member

 Not the place to stay if you are looking for a relaxed quiet getaway. Many permanently sited touring caravans on this site which people seem to use to get away for the weekend & party. On our first night we were subjected to a night of geriatric revellers shouting & playing music until gone 2:30am. The rules about noise stopping after 11:30 are NOT enforced.

If you are on the site over the weekend period you will be treated to dogs barking all day & feral kids with no parental guidance screaming & shouting & continually turning the water filling taps on. These seem to mostly be the children of the static tourers.

The site itself seems well maintained however although we didn't use them we were told that the showers & washup areas left a lot to be desired.

Only ate at the cafe once & the meal was mediocre, however having then noticed the 1 food hygiene rating we didn't eat there again.

There are two restaurants and fish & chip shop in the next village a Shortish walk away which are a better bet.

On our last day we were finishing packing up at 11:30 only to be chased up to leave the pitch for the next user by the reception staff which we felt was a bit much as the paperwork says vacate by 12, & no arrivals before 1pm.

Needless to say we won't be returning to Bank Farm.

The location is stunning & the beach is lovely, shame about the site. There are many other sites in the area to choose from, so suggest you shop around. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Denygi 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite with large areas and lots of space for youngsters. Very near the beach which is great for us as we could walk there.

Toilet and shower blocks were kept clean throughout our stay and are of good quality.

Great outdoor play area which my boys enjoyed and I could relax nearby 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samili 4 reviews from this member

 Ok

firstly the place is beautiful and relaxed yes there is toilets and as someone else said they need more in the top field, however we stayed in field 3 and had a portaloo and tent.

Electric so you pay 5 for the card then five for electric please don't do the same as me and I forgot to get the left over electric back just the deposit

Our issues when we stayed was weather related 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Bede 8 reviews from this member

 If you want a quiet, traditional campsite with the advantages of EHU and a pool, you will have to decide whether or not Bank Farm is for you.

There are a lot of people. Static caravans. Seasonal caravans and tents. Lots of people who seemed to come for a few days in large groups. Groups in themselves are fine. However, in our eight days at Bank Farm, it seemed to exclusively attract large groups of incredibly loud adults who thought nothing of having their car/van radios blaring out all day whilst squawking at their children the full length of the campsite.

We have four children; we are quite used to noise but this was something else. Day after evening after day after evening. In fairness, our loudest neighbours piped down at 11. 30 pm and were quite quiet the next evening before leaving the next day. We rejoiced when they left but they were replaced by people who followed exactly the same pattern.

EHU wise, having put £10 on our card on arrival, we got £8. 70 back when we left. Despite how cheap the electricity is, our neighbour spent much of the day in his car outside the front door of our tent with his engine going, charging various electric items.

There is a shop which sells the basics and will also freeze your icepacks. (10p a pack; four at a time max. Takes 24 hours to freeze. )

We didn't use the laundry but there is one. The free WiFi is in the café and bar which explains the large numbers of pubescents hanging around there.

The bar is large and busy but sells decent beer, gin, and milk so no complaints there.

The washing up sinks don't have plugs but that's not an issue. Who doesn't take a bowl? There are only six but we never had to queue. The campsite clearly feels so large to some people that they felt the need to drive there.

The bins are by the sinks. There is no recycling whatsoever.

Yes, you have to hang your stuff on the hooks when you're showering but I'm not sure in what world you would shower with clothes on the floor. The showers are controlled by sensors rather than buttons so don't step backwards whilst drying yourself or your toddler. In the men's at least there are no facilities to wash infants.

The shower/loo blocks are cleaned regularly but are filthy. As far as I can work out, this was partly because there are no doormats to wipe feet on but partly because children are disgusting. At least, I hope it was children who seemed to think nothing of leaving loo roll streamed across the floor and toothpaste and shaving foam residue all across the sinks.

Loo roll is provided but does run out. As with any communal block, check before you sit down! My wife complained there are too few sinks and too little space in the female blocks; the male ones are fine. Essentially, unless you go immediately after they have been cleaned, the loos remind you of a nightclub at the end of the night, minus the vomit but with extra grass.

In high season, the pool simply cannot cater for the number of children who want to use it. (The novelty wears off for adults quite quickly given how cramped, loud, and dirty it is. ) There are some places where you have to pay for the pool or to book it in advance. That you can use it when you want is great but that shows in how unpleasant and overcrowded it is.

The views are phenomenal. The walk down to Horton beach is steep but easy (whether through the village or down the hill at the front of the site. ) There're two chippies, a pub, and a coffee shop in Port Eynon which is 15 minutes walk from Horton village. Don't try and take a buggy across the beach; there's a footpath north of it.

Pricewise, for a family of six, it's very reasonable. I think it's the same price for smaller families which is a bit steeper.

The campsite in itself is marvellous. However, its acceptance of large, short stay groups who are there to get pissed to loud music whilst their children run feral means we'll probably go elsewhere next year for our camping holiday.

We've been to other sites on Gower where they're very strict about additional guests and about music. We are clearly more suited to the culture of those sites. If you want a fun, relaxed weekend with your mates and want to do it in a tent, Bank Farm is a decent bet. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grumpiness 2 reviews from this member

 Paid Top rate, expected advertised entertainment but apparently not enough campers on site (although it looked pretty full) Swimming pool water clean but structure looked as if it hadn't been cleaned since its erection.

OK if you like walking through sand at the nearby beach. I would advise anyone to check to see if entertainment is booked before paying.

Pub and Cafe food very reasonable. Drinks at a cost you would expect. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BettyBlossom 8 reviews from this member

 Wonderful location and stunning views. It is a large site and so better for us to go off season. The coffee shop and restaurant were handy. Good place to people watch! Good dog walking areas too.

Cleanish facilities but as it is such a large site difficult to keep spotless 24/7.

Would visit again off season. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gazmister123 32 reviews from this member

 We spent three nights at bank farm in our tent (as it was a change from our motor home)

First impressions are that it's a big site, but there were a lack of toilet blocks, the main toilet block in the middle of the camping field seems to only have a few washing up sinks which got crowded during our whitsun week stay, I definitely do think they could benefit from some more wash blocks.

The toilets themselves were ok, they were definitely not what I could describe as clean, lack of soap and toilet paper, and at one point there was excrement of the floor in the sink area. But then this is through no fault of the campsite it is of the people using them, (it certainly makes you wander if they leave their home toilets in this state).

The swimming pool was nice, lovely size and deep enough to dive at the deep end, it seemed cold at first but it soon warmed up, the changing rooms and toilets there were ok, not brilliant but again I think this is cleanliness caused by people not being bothered to clean up after themselves.

Our tent pitch was spacious and had more than enough space for our 6 man tent, although I had to clear a fair bit of dog mess off our pitch (I have dogs who love camping but I wouldn't just let them do their business anywhere) again not the campsites fault but previous customers but the pitch and spacious and nice.

The views from the site are beautiful, looking right over port Eynon, you can walk into the village too which is beautiful with a dog friendly part to the beach, a few pubs and fish and chip shops as well as a surf clothes type shop and a beach shop. The walk takes about 10 minutes there and fifteen minutes back. (Uphill) Its also handy placed for visiting oxwich and Rhossilli, both stunning places.

Make sure you don't follow your sat nav to get here if you are towing or are in a motorhome (thin lanes), but the gower is a lot like that anyway (hence why I bought the tent)

I think bank farm would be a lovely place to be outside of a busy week, my three children under 10 struggled to get to sleep due to the noise of a group of campers next to us who clearly had no regard for keeping their kids under control or their own volumes, it's such a shame that nice experiences can have downsides because of other people's lack of consideration, it's the same with the cleanliness of toilet blocks etc, a little bit of thought for others from other people would have made the experience more fun.

The on site shop sold the basics and there was also a bar with reasonable prices and a cafe. The bar did nice food that was very reasonably prices, we can also recommend the breakfasts.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately I doubt we will be back, not in a peak season week anyway. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandy11 6 reviews from this member

 A large site with open views and plenty of space, however, we paid £27. 50 per night for our 3 man tent for the two of us plus electric and were disappointed with the toilet and shower facilities.

The ladies and gents facilities were dirty throughout our four night stay and seemed to be only wiped over once a day in the morning and toilet rolls ran out. My husband never managed to have a hot shower, only cold, and would have appreciated a plug in a sink so he could have a wet shave.

The ladies showers were so fierce and with only one door hook it was difficult to keep clothes/towels dry. The ladies soap dispenser ran out on Sunday and was still empty on Tuesday and the one hand drier didn't work at all. The washing up water was warm/cold. Other people were commenting and unhappy on the same faults.

There was litter in the hedge by the shower block which remained there throughout.

The bar food was plentiful but some meals tasted extra salty.

The entertainment was entertaining.

It is a shame that the lack of attention to detail spoiled an otherwise much needed break as this could be a really great site. 


Previous     139 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bank Farm Leisure Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Bank Farm Leisure Campsite have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bank Farm Leisure Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bank Farm Leisure Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swansea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3762 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement