Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Municipal L Olympic

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Wimereux > Camping Municipal L Olympic Reviews

Camping Municipal L Olympic
49 Rue De La Liberation
Wimereux
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
62930
Tel: +33 3 21 32 45 63
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 161
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Montesa 34 reviews from this member

March 2019.

Overnight ACSI price stopover near to Tunnel (30 mins / 19 miles). Easy access to & from Motorway by same routing of about 3 miles.

NB Reception was closed 1pm to 3pm on our visit and access road onto site became congested with units.

Usual French quirkiness with various aspects which we accept but would clearly irritate & upset some.

Pleasant enough open location on edge of town, diesel & Shopping options nearby and we found all was very acceptable.

There is a visible train line near.

Grass was being cut during our overnight stop. Pitches were fine and didn't chock up as noted. There were some undulations.

We would gladly return if needed a site near the tunnel or ports.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 112 reviews from this member

This review seems at odds with the previous ones.

Situated just 20 minutes from the Tunnel with very easy access to the A16, this would seem a perfect stopover for early Channel crossings if you have a motorhome

The site is very sloping and the pitches deeply rutted, For a caravan, heavy chocking is generally required ( the odd mountaineering crampon might come in handy. ) Each pitch has ehu (blue plug) and water point

The main sanitaire area was closed and that under the reception building was old, tired and in need of some attention. There is no toilet paper provided but there is a very helpful sign telling you not to drink the water in the toilet pan. However the showers are hot, in a heated area and very clean.

Wi-fi is only available in the communal hall by reception, when reception is open. It costs €3 a day per appliance.

Possibly because it has been a long hard season, but the reception staff were the worst we have come across. Preferring to sit and watch their television programme rather than come to the front grill. Even then it was with such ill grace. I cannot think that this was the normal behaviour at this site.

Wimereux town is quite quirky and worth a wander.

For us the stopoff for the return to the Tunnel will be Licques which is the same distance away, flat pitches, free wifi and pleasant owners.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Selawman 3 reviews from this member

Arrived at this site having briefly first visited the Apache camp that is ‘L Ete Indian’ just up the road (avoid that place like the plague)!

As a result this was a very welcome breath of fresh air (and even closer to the town).

Very friendly & efficient reception staff.

Most pitches hedged and large. (Depending on your pitch you may need extra long hook up lead, or, like me, use an extension).

Located a few minutes walk to the beach & restaurants this site is an ideal stopover for the Tunnel & Calais Port.

No loo seats or toilet roll so take your own, (roll that is). That said, well maintained, clean & well worth using as a stop over. On that basis, well recommended!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnypanic 15 reviews from this member

A very basic site with minimal facilities.

Situated about a 25 min was from the centre of town and about 5 min from the beach.

The showers and toilets were clean and well maintained.

Be aware that the site closes midday for a couple of hours leaving a queue of camping vehicles banked up at the entrance. Unfortunately some happy campers don't realise that the vehicle at the front has been waiting the longest and there can be a race when reception opens! I appreciate this is not the fault of the site, just rude individuals.

All said, this is a good site for a stopover and in good weather the beach is beautiful. Some good places to eat at in town and also a lovely little shop that makes and sells biscuits.

Definitely worth considering.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Snillah 3 reviews from this member

This was our 5th visit to this site as it is very convenient both for Calais and the vet which is a 15 minute walk away. Reception is efficient with pitch allocation and a slip with barrier code. Pitches are a good size, mostly flat with hedging, all grass and well drained which was an issue this year. There are water points and electricity posts between pitches. The two toilet blocks, quite dated, are always clean with adequately hot water - no paper or seats, but new hand dryers. There is a playground, a fenced ball games area and a boulodrome. There has been some investment recently I think as the site was smarter with fresh planting, redecorated sanitaires and a new motorhome emptying point. The electricity is 4amps, which needs careful managing, but is adequate for summer. The bread van calls at 8am. Reception is closed from 1 -3pm. Good motorway access so makes a good stop over.

A 10 minute stroll takes you to the beach that only exists at high tide. This is mostly no dog, but at low tide the beach under the cliff is good for a walk. Nice town with usual shops, including a fabulous chocolate one, and many restaurants. Lots of big empty beaches nearby and Napoleon on his column is worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark Glover 1 review from this member

Perfectly clean and pleasant site. Despite mixed reviews we chose this site to be close to the town, and were very happy with our choice. Wimereux is very nice, with a good selection of restaurants. The bakeries were great, although a van visits the site each morning selling croissants etc. For fifteen euros a night on a municipal site it was never going to be luxurious, and the absence of seats on campsite toilets in France still baffles me, but they were clean. The pitches were nice and flat, and screened from each other by good sized hedges, which gave a nice level of privacy. Overall a good cheap site within easy walking distance of a very nice seaside town.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Morepints 38 reviews from this member

We'd visited the town often before: a quiet resort with a few good restaurants; the streets between the main street and the promenade are full of Belle Epoque cottages, brightly painted. The beach is windswept; the coast is used for windsurfing and sand-yachting.

This was our first visit to the site. Having arrived at 1. 15, we soon realised that the Accueil was shut 1. 00 - 3. 00. At least we were first in the queue that built up; it looks like there's a second toilet block behind reception, judging by the number of people with wet hair etc coming from that way.

The management were very efficient getting us all installed: issued with the facture with details from carnet (14€ pn tax included on ACSI) and with a slip with the barrier code. We were shown a plan of the site with empty pitches marked with red pins; at least you get a sense of where the spaces were. The longer-stays (I assume local) were lower in the valley. The breeze was catching the higher pitches a bit. There are about three or four 'closes' of eight or so pitches on the right - further along is nearer the loos. Electric/water posts were reasonably frequent.

The toilet block, even in late September, was clean and reasonably modern, with good supply of hot water.

All in all, a useful stopoff; worth a couple of days if you're new to the area.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Feelyjordan 17 reviews from this member

Our first impression was of a crowded transit site with few toilets and and no toilet paper. The facilities are basic but were kept clean.

WIFI is not included in price, an extra 3 Euros per day. We didn't try it,

There was a queue to get onto the site with traffic backing up on a residential street, it must be a real problem for the locals.

We did not see any separate screened pitches, but rather pitches were arranged in groups with hedging around. The pitches were quite large however.

It was overcast during our stay there so perhaps we did not see Wimereux at its best, but it came across as a slightly down at heel seaside resort, fortunately without excessive commercial exploitation.

It is possible to walk along the coast to to Ambleteuse. There are long empty beaches reminiscent of Northumberland, while Vauban's Fort Mahon is interesting. We had hoped to get the bus back to Wimereux, but it runs very infrequently so we had a longer walk than anticipated!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Noosner 6 reviews from this member

We turned up on spec at this site, intending to use it as a stopover. But we ended up staying 3 days as we liked it a lot. Wimereux is really lovely - a traditional small French resort with sandy beaches and a family atmosphere. I visited the town several times 30 years ago, when the beach was desolate and pebbly, and am impressed by how much the town has been improved without losing character.

The site was lovely, with no pitches too far from the toilet block and little hedges that gave each pitch privacy while allowing a sense of community. We were allowed to pitch wherever we liked, which is always something we appreciate - ditto the man in a van who delivered bread and croissants one morning.

The location was perfect - a few minutes walk into town and set back off the coast, so avoiding the strong wind that affects that part of France's coastline.

I agree with the first reviewer that the site seems austere on arrival. There are lots of strict notices everywhere! For example, they claim to lock the shower block from 22. 00-7. 00. However when we were there the block was never locked and the instruction about paying the day before you left wasn't followed up either.

I would definitely visit this site again with great pleasure.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Franbee 169 reviews from this member

Someone on here mentioned this site as being not too far from Calais, so as we were arriving from the Tunnel decided to look for it. We found it easily enough from the motorway, but there was a barrier down and the reception closed at 8.30, so we had to move on. However, as the site was quite close to the sea, we thought we would stay on the way back, which we did.

The girl on reception was friendly and spoke english, but it was very busy, phone ringing, workmen coming in the back door to ask her questions. She allocated us a pitch and gave us a map showing how to find it. We weren't offered a code for the barrier, and were asked to pay in the morning before we left.

The pitches are mostly flat and grassy, and divided by hedges, though the site is actually on a slope, and there are no trees, making the site look rather desolate. There are areas of chalets.

The facilities are separate for men and women, not many of them though, unless there is another block elsewhere. The shower was nice and hot, as was the washing up water in a separate room. There is a children's play area outside the facility block, plus a grassy area.

A short walk from the site, across the main road brings you to the beach and pleasant promenade, which has the usual seaside attractions. The town centre is nearby too, though we didn't investigate it, but drove through on our way back north.

Maybe because there was a cold wind blowing in a sea fog, we didn't really take to this site, but would be happy to use it again for a seaside day visit. The price was moderate.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Wimereux      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3098 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder