Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Laytham Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Laytham Park
Laytham
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO42 4PS
Tel: 01759 318050
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 20 Reviews
                10/10 from 20 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eycaravanner 19 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night, lovely friendly, helpful couple who own it, set in beautiful countryside, two gates to get through, one has a code which we were given before pitching, a few people who stay there are there for the fishing obviously, pretty lake next to the site and some caravan storage too.

Villages nearby a short drive with plenty of pubs and eating places. Wonderful York is close by with tons of things to do and see.

It was very cold the weekend we stayed and the 2 toilet and shower rooms are not heated, for this reason and the fact that it was all not cleaned, we decided against using the shower, you put 1 in a box if you use it.

I have to say that the toilet cassette emptying point is the worst I have ever come across in 20 years of using them, you have to climb up some metal steps and tip the contents into a large plastic container via a giant funnel, you can see all the contents then you have to get down the steps to turn on the tap for rinsing your cassette and down the steps to turn the tap off again.

It was not for us.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sansan748 1 review from this member

Lovely quiet place. Owners are very welcoming and friendly. We stayed on a hard standing pitch with electric hook up for 7 nights. There is a large area to walk dogs, but if you have Jack Russells like us you definitely would not let them off their lead as they would be off trying to hunt the hares. Toilet/Shower block meets your needs, 1 for a shower which is very reasonable. Large fishing lake, lots of wild life to see. York town center is only approx 10 miles away, lovely shops and lots of different foods to taste. Would recommend a visit to the Yorkshire Air Museum where you can sit in WWII planes and look around the control room, lots of history, very interesting. York Maze was also close by, but due to the weather we didn't get to go. Would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Steve-gill 1 review from this member

Had a great weekend here, Sally and Peter made us very welcome, fishing was good caught plenty of roach and 1 carp, lake is massive, site is clean and tidy with only a few vans on, will be visiting again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue callis 11 reviews from this member

Lovely little site. Owners very friendly and once they had settled you in left you to enjoy your weekend. Fishing lake available to use which was free - lots of little fish to catch but lots of weed. Site facilities - toilet and shower are adequate - showers 1 - honesty box. We took our dog with us and the site owners have made a dog walk around the perimeter of a field - can also walk dogs around the lake.

The site is close to the Pocklington Canal which we accessed at Melbourne which is a short drive from the site. We had a lovely walk along the canal here, there are also narrow boat rides on a weekend too from here.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Camelsoutback 15 reviews from this member

Spent a delightful spring bank weekend with friends at this secluded site. Disturbed only by low flying birds and their spring time calls. The facilities are clean and well served but they charge a 1 for the shower, no grumble. Eden Camp is 45 mins drive away, well worth a visit as it is full of information. Elvington Air Museum, only 10 mins away. There are a lot of wild life parks. Selby Abbey is a lovely church, then just down the road is Howden, where Robert Thompson (House of Mouse) whose church is fitted out with his choir stalls etc, there are 30 mice to be found, hard enough finding 4.

Would we go back, definitely, not enough weekends left this year. Perhaps camp in the Autumn/Winter

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PMBJW 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely peaceful weekend at this fab little site, very secure can leave things out, fishing on site hubby and son only caught little fish but that is not the owners fault! Son has ASD the quietness of the site was amazing and he loved it, a lot of regulars on site who were all very friendly and helpful. We didn't stray of the site because that's what we wanted but Sally and Peter had all bases covered for info and take outs. Site was clean and tidy, toilet with shower always lovely and warm and both Peter and Sally are around to make you feel happy and safe but never ever in your face which a child with ASD really appreciates (as do his parents). Many thanks for a lovely weekend we will definitely be returning x we have had to give child friendliness 5 out of 10 but that's not the sites fault there's a lot of water around which is particularly unguarded but the site is aimed at older families not tittle ones. For my child it was 12/10 for families with little ones remember your children are your responsibility x

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rosemel 9 reviews from this member

A very nice site, run by the owners, She was a real gem of a person, never in a week saw her with a sour face, always had a smile she really cares for her customers, not in your face but on hand if you need help, Nice and Quite site with wildlife for company, A big fishing pool for free, highly recommend if only to meet the owner. Its About 4 mile to York, there is a tight lane to the site but I got down easily with a 35 foot car and van, A big thank you to you both for a good week.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Salmong 20 reviews from this member

I can only reiterate what others have posted previously.

We visited for the weekend and had a really relaxing time.

Owners very friendly and accommodating, pitches were all hard standing and were of a generous size, shower and toilet is a welcome addition, and both are clean and well looked after. There is also a large well stocked lake for all you anglers out there

The site is located about half a mile down a single track road off the B1228, very easy to find, and access is no problem - Situated very well for York, Selby, Howden there is plenty to do in the area, and I would definitely recommend Laytham Park for either a weekend break, or an extended stay.

There are some nice village pubs within a short drive - we had a meal at the Boot and Shoe in Ellerton - which was really good - homely village pub with friendly locals.

All in all a top site

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RogerBrenda 4 reviews from this member

Our third year on this site, we liked it in 2012 and have been visiting on a regular basis since. The site is well managed and together they help to make this site the success it has become. Both are extremely helpful and friendly and we now consider them as friends. We regularly bring our grandchildren who thoroughly enjoy the freedom this site offers. Installing the toilet and shower has been an added bonus and will be even better when the second block has been completed.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melmel74 25 reviews from this member

Just back from a 4 night stay at this lovely site. It is a 'basic' site but we loved it! There is now a 'proper' toilet with a shower cubicle (like a shower you might have at home, not a push button type like at the swimming pool)which was immaculate. There are a further 3 portaloos nearer the camping field.

The tent field was a pleasure to camp on as the grass was well kept and short and the field coped well with the bit of rain we had on arrival. There are a few electric hook ups where some caravans were set up and it looked like they could accommodate large tents easily there as well.

We saw loads of stars whilst camped as there is virtually no light pollution and the site is away from main roads so was very quiet at night time.

There is an information hut and eggs available from the chickens who were roaming about near the house. There are also some horses which made a nice sight and I believe a fishing lake on site.

The owners are a lovely, friendly and welcoming couple.

This site epitomises everything we love about these small sites and we will likely go back again as have family in the area. It is a good base for exploring York and also the coast but with none of the irritations that staying closer might come with (road noise especially as we saw other sites very close to A roads whilst staying).

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2457 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019