Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Low Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Thornton Le Dale > Low Farm Campsite Reviews

Low Farm Campsite
Ellerburn
Thornton Le Dale
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 7LL
Tel: 01751 470208  or  07972 280268
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March Until October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gary W B 1 review from this member

What a fantastic little place. Found this on a google search but it is a must try place. Well priced but was great for the 2 nights we stayed there. Nice and quiet and in a lovely location with a little stream running at the side of the site which the kids loved.

Val and Gary were amazing, really friendly, very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help.

Facilities were very clean and well maintained.

All in all a great place we would be retuning to.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Teamperko 1 review from this member

We absolutely love the place. Its beautiful, friendly and an all-round great place to camp. Catered for us a young family of 4 and our little jack Russell. Very clean toilets and showers.

Fresh local food also available. And only a short walk to Thornton le dale. Val and her husband do a great job of looking after there site and there guests.

We always feel very welcome. Can't wait to go again next year.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mikedillon75 1 review from this member

We have just come back from our weekend at Low Farm and it was fantastic. The hosts are brilliant and very welcoming. They even arranged some events for the bank holiday, which the kids loved!

The site is in a perfect location, 15 mins walk from Thornton Le Dale and around an hours walk (with a 8 and 10 year old) from Dalby Forest through some amazing scenery.

There was plenty of space for each tent, so you didn't feel like you were on top of one another.

The toilet block could be a challenge at times, with one mens toilet, but we were there at an exceptionally busy time so this wouldn't normally be an issue.

Overall, we had a brilliant time and are already planning when we can go back!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Oaktree1 1 review from this member

Fantastic little site

Val and Gary Very friendly and helpful, pointed out some fantastic walks and places to eat

Toilets and shower very clean

Will definitely be back

Many thanks.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bearsuccess 1 review from this member

Stunning campsite based on a small working farm near dalby forest. Lovely beck/river running along side the campsite with places to paddle and rope swings for the kids. Simple but effective facilities that are kept spotless.

The area is rich with wildlife - birds of prey, deer, bats, kingfishers all seen in our first few days here. The campsite is in the bottom of a valley so is sheltered from strong winds and means there is no light pollution so the night sky is as clear and bright as you can get.

The owners are lovely, accommodating people who will go out of their way so you can get the most from your stay. Upon arrival they pointed out all the local walks and bike rides! From a 15 min stroll to the village with two pubs to a 4 hour hike into and around the stunning Dalby Forest.

This campsite is perfect for children, and the owners are fantastic at making sure the site is quiet at night so everybody can enjoy a good nights rest.

To top it all, the location has got to be one of the best for exploring North Yorkshire. 30 mins drive will see you in Whitby, Scarborough or York - with the moors and little towns and villages just a stones throw away!

Best site we have found in 30 years of camping - just wish weíd have found it sooner!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Harryandjo 1 review from this member

Visited this site on bank holiday weekend. The owners are lovely people and very accommodating, friendly, and do everything they can for you.

This is a very pretty site in a lovely valley - 20 to 30 minute walk along the beck into Thornton le dale, and some lovely walks, cycling into Dalby forest.

It is a basic site with only one shower and a few toilets and they do not have electricity on site, but what they have they keep it spotless and this is one of our favourite campsites we have stayed at. Cant wait to go back. Look forward to our next visit soon.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bakers-on-Tour 1 review from this member

What a gem of a site! Our first visit and weíll definitely be back. Really friendly owners showed us around their farm and couldnít do enough to make sure that we had a pleasant stay.

Great location for walking or cycling into Dalby Forest or Thornton le Dale, good access to numerous seaside towns too! Canít wait to return again soon!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bakermatt 1 review from this member

We visited this lovely site on the weekend of the 18th August, the site is in a fantastic position to explore Dalby Forrest with walks and cycle routes nearby. The stream running to the side of the site is a fantastic place for the children to play and is relaxing to listen to, whilst watching the wildlife.

There is also a tranquil 15 minute walk along the stream to the centre of the village of Thornton le Dale. We appreciated the well managed site, noise is not tolerated at unsociable times, the couple who own the site are very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Dogs must be kept on a lead to protect the farm animals.

The shower and toilets were spotless; we understand the owner would like to increase the facilities in the future which would enhance the site further. We would definitely go back. And buy some more burgers and steaks for our BBQ.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ian Pap 1 review from this member

Camping as it should be ! If you're looking for a site with loads of facilities like ehu and a toilet block with loads of showers etc then this site's not for you BUT if you want a site where you can relax, play ball games, have a paddle in the stream, have a firepit and generally spend a relaxed and hassle free time then this is a gem !

The site has 1 very modern clean shower with 1 toilet for gents, 2 for the ladies and a cold water wash up area. The field is approx 2 acres and you are really well spread over the site unlike some sites that cram you in !

You can hire a fire pit for the weekend(£5 I think) which really brings back the camping days of old. The site is a 20 minutes walk away from Thornton le dale and you can walk into Dalby forest if you wish (5 mins in the car or 3 miles run or walk to the visitors centre).

Gary and Val who took over approx 2 years ago really are some of the most welcoming and warm owners we have ever come across. Nothing was to much and they even froze some of the group's unused BBQ meat so they could take it home!

Everyone is told on arrival that noise/music isn't welcome after 11pm which leads to a really relaxing and peaceful family site, stargazing on the bank holiday weekend was awesome. If you want a really boozy and noisy weekend go to another site and keep this gem of a site one of the most welcoming and relaxed sites we've found! Keep up the good work Gary and Val !

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markm49uk 4 reviews from this member

What a find! Fantastic location with super friendly owners making this our new go to, back to basics campsite. Gary and Val are working hard to make this a success and their efforts will surely make this the case - they have all the basics in place and the location could not be better for exploring the North Yorkshire Moors and the East Coast.

Due to the ridiculous summer weather this year part of the site were a little waterlogged but this was pointed out and we were given a choice of pitches were the ground was fine. We chose opposite the toilets and shower block as with 5 young children it is just easier - they donít allow driving to the toilets which we think is a great idea.

Out children loved the site, in an afternoon chickens roam the site and they sell suitable chicken food in the honesty box shop on site. Our kids loved feeding them each evening though watch them at bbq time - they love nicking the sausages !

They also loved the stream and the numerous rope swings - often disappearing for a couple of hours.

Facilities are fine - basic but good enough for us. What some people expect I donít know but this is how camping should be - rules enforced, camp fires allowed (off ground) - just good old fashioned camping in a fantastic place.

This will be our primary campsite now - canít wait to return next year!

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Thornton Le Dale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5613 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019