Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Champs Field

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Champs Field
Home Farm
Colton
Tadcaster
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LS24 8EP
Tel: 01904 744371
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 7
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fenderbender 7 reviews from this member

First of all, this is a lovely little site in a great location, the owners are helpful and friendly.

There is a problem however. Although they don't allow dogs, they do allow their own dog to wander onto the field resulting in dog mess which is not picked up, children play and inevitably it gets trailed into the van.

It was the same when I visited last year. Because of this I will not be visiting again. Sorry.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

Champs Field is a small grass field behind a farm that has room for half-a-dozen caravans or tents.

It's not easy to spot from the main road through Colton village though, and is located up a fairly tight driveway.

However, the field is quiet and well-tended. Toilets and pay-for-use showers are located in a converted garage. The elsan point and washing-up station are next door.

There is a pub (the Old Sun) five minutes walk through the village, and a fish-and-chip shop on the A64 Bilborough services two minutes drive up the road.

The site is handy for visiting York and Tadcaster, as well as for overnighting if travelling north-south on the A1M.

PS - If you're a trainspotter then this site is heaven. Just a mile down the road is a small car park overlooking the busy confluence of the Leeds-York and London-Edinburgh main lines, where you can watch and photograph all manner of trains passing by.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Drivermeg 15 reviews from this member

Just returned from this gem of a site. Ideal for a chill out. A quaint little shop selling amongst other things their own beef from their 'Dexter' cows. One shower costing one pound for 7/8 minutes and one toilet. Usual electric hook up, water and elsan disposable point. A lovely Pub just a few minutes walk away serving very good food at slightly more expensive prices but well worth it. York a short drive away or a bus ride. Other attractions close by as shown in the sites book. Will need levelling blocks for most pitches. Met by lovely owners and nothing was too much through out our stay. Will definitely be going back. Is now a no dog site.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Liz Holmes 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from Champs Field and it is a lovely little site but worth noting a few points. We booked online for 2 nights via the website at £12. 50 per night which I thought was great value for money. However we didnít realise you had to request electric hookup when you booked and there was nowhere on the booking to add electric as an extra although you could select the fire pits etc for additional amount? There was no mention of the extra cost on the website which turned out to be another £4. 50 per night which was a bit of a surprise when we returned from a day out to find an envelope requesting an extra £9. 00. Not that we mind for paying using the facilities but would save the hassle and embarrassment it we knew from the start. It seemed we werenít the only ones confused by this, as we were then asked by fellow campers that we had taken their hookup and also assumed it came with price, which just causes hassle for everyone. Therefore whilst it looks inclusive on the website, it isnít so make sure you either add a note on your booking or ring up and specifically ask for it.

When we arrived, we were expecting to have one of the normal pitches but the booking system seems to have over booked and therefore we didnít have a proper pitch. Thankfully we were a small unit and fitted into a little slot. The toilet facilities were spotless although a toiler roll holder would be more hygienic than left on floor. There was a pot wash but the hot water tap did not work. The site is for 6 units but we ended up on pitch Ď7í and seemed to us quite cramped when it was full, no separate area for kids to play and quite smokey when all the fire pits were going. It doesnít help when a tenter decides to put 2 tents on a single pitch which was inconsiderate and rather cheeky. There is a bus every 2 hours into York (1 hour journey) which is handy but felt like Harry Potters Knight Bus as it was a bumpy ride and a bit too fast on very narrow roads. I wouldnít recommend cycling in the area as it was quite dangerous. The owner is very nice and has a lovely little shop but not always open.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nch25 2 reviews from this member

This a is a great small campsite with 6 generous pitches with electric hook up should you require it. We didn't use it. Went with friends for a quick weekend getaway. We only met Angela and Christine, mother and daughter (I understand) who were so generous with their time and who opened up for us to get shower tokens and logs for the fire basket. This site has 1 shower and 1 toilet for which there was never a queue. Shower are £1 each and give 7 minutes of shower time. This site is a music free site so the other noises is laughter from the other campers and the farmyard noises that you expect on a working farm. There is also a beautiful camping cabin which is for hire in its own enclosed space. The farm shop also sells it's own eggs and meat packs which we were there long enough to try but will definitely next we go. The old sun inn is 5 minutes down the road which does excellent meals not cheap pub grub, but exquisitely cooked foods, but at the weekend you definitely need to book. I cannot give a rating for children as I did not see any. Will we return, without a doubt, would I recommend, without hesitation.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johndwstark 1 review from this member

Just back from Champs Field and cannot recommend this highly enough.

Decided to go here to introduce my partner to camping and she loved it. It's a small, quiet site with large pitches and they all have a metered hook up.

There is a communal campfire which we didn't have a chance to use but will use next time for sure.

The facilities are exactly what you need- hot shower, running water, toilet and, should you require, a fridge and kettle in the campers room.

The location is ideal for York, only 5 minutes from a good park & ride & large supermarket.

The shop sells almost everything you need though.

We had a big downpour for over an hour and the ground was still solid underfoot so, we would not have had an issue in the rainy seasons (all 4).

On a final note, the family that run it are fantastic and make you feel that there's nothing they couldn't sort for you.

We're already looking to book again in August.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ljelondon 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely little campsite -- we've been there two years in a row now and the children are already insisting on going next year.

There's one small field of pitches (round three sides of the field) with a communal campfire on the fourth side and space in the middle of the field for children to play -- and it's one of those sites where (in the summer holidays at least) your children will make quick holiday friendships.

The toilet block consists of one toilet and one shower cubicle but that is generally plenty and you rarely have to wait for more than a minute or so. The shower runs on tokens and is possibly the only thing I would change if I could; you either have to be around when the farm shop is open to get tokens or ring the bell and disturb the family to get them (which seems a bit churlish for a shower). But it's not a big issue at all.

The food in the farm shop is lovely but it's only open fairly short hours so you'll probably need to supplement with shopping elsewhere.

The farm is in a lovely quiet spot but there are lots of options for sightseeing and eating out in the (relatively) local area. It's a great base for exploring Yorkshire.

The only problem is that now I expect all other campsites to be like this and am disappointed when they fall short!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tedcamper 2 reviews from this member

This site is a little gem. The family who run it make you feel like an old friend from the off. The field is great, fairly flat and spacious. There are ample electric hook ups and small but well kept shower and toilet just on the edge of the field. There is also a fridge and a kettle for campers to use and a few ride on bikes etc to keep the kids entertained. We were only charged £10 a night and then 15p per unit for electricity. Exceptional value compared to what you pay at some sites.

The farm shop on site serves meat direct from the farm at very reasonable prices for zero food miles and amazing taste. The pub in the village is excellent with great food and you are so well placed right off the A64 to visit York or the coast that there is no reason not to visit. Just be prepared for a traditional cockerel wake up call. Will be returning again without any doubt.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rikoshea 3 reviews from this member

Great little spot, I took the kids for a night outside, It, s only 12 miles from home but they felt like they were a million miles away. As soon as we pulled up they saw the ride on toys that were left out for guests to play on, they were still riding round the field at 21. 30 when we went to bed. I loved the camp fire, we took a load of wood to burn and toasted marshmallows and muffins.

The toilet was clean and the shelter room is a nice touch. As we were there for the night we didn't use the shower but it did look clean.

We had a warm welcome and after a good chat I found out the owner was the Mother in law to an old school friend!The Saturday night we went there was nobody else there so we had the place to ourselves.

I would recommend this site to anyone and at these prices its a gem.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nell62 5 reviews from this member

What a wonder find this is. Very friendly and relaxing. There is one toilet and separate shower which is £1 and lasts a long time. Electric hook up which is charged separate. Although it was the bank holiday we only went for 2 nights and was only charged for 2(no 3 night minimum) the owner had forgot to book us in and came to our vans with 'sorry cake' which was delicious. Farm shop on site. There is a pub 5 minutes walk away that seems more of an eating house. We did have our sunday dinner there and it was ok. Rufforth car boot 4 miles away. Great for children. Definitely going to return sometime.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3341 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0947