Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Silloth House

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Silloth House
Wharfe
Austwick
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA2 8DH
Tel: 07854368832  or  03301137407
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 13
Open: Easter To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Flamingteacher 11 reviews from this member

What a delightful site. What a welcoming host is Helen

Very flat & all pitches appear to be very well drained, hard standing or grass. Pitches are quite close together but it still feels peaceful.

The facilities are clean, bright & modern. 3 separate toilets, 3 shower rooms and very easy boring-stuff area.

Only quibble is that the electrics are easily overloaded. Indoor radiator worked brilliantly for 3 hours. Then stopped

One of the quietest & darkest sites ever. Only 15 minutes walk to the pub.

Please donít recommend this to the National Press x

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Wycoller 1 review from this member

This is a small site with 13 pitches, which is 6 seasonal caravans plus 7 tents or Campervans. We were in a campervan with electric hookup.

Beautiful location, and very friendly and helpful owner. Shown to pitch on arrival, owner ensures no one is too close. Quiet after 10:30pm during our stay, and not noisy before then. This was a bank holiday weekend.

Facilities are unisex with two showers and four toilets, all immaculately clean at all times of day. Showers are free. There are two dishwashes.

Facilities are next to the farmhouse which is a short walk from the campsite field, further than most sites and may be an issue at night if you donít have toilet facilities.

Open 7 months of the year.

Suitable for all but especially couples. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Morley1983 1 review from this member

Silloth House campsite is in a great location in such a relaxing area of the Yorkshire Dales, perfect for our weekend getaway.

Helen the campsite owner made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and was helpful throughout our stay. The facilities were well looked after spotless every time we used them.

Our children were very impressed with the stream that runs through the campsite, which kept them occupied for hours. When not in the stream there was plenty of space for them to run around having fun.

We visited the local village pub in Austwick which is only a 15min walk from the site meaning both my wife & I could have a drink.

Very happy with the choice we made and we will definitely be returning here on future trips.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JDigby03 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here three years ago and decided to stay again as it was going to be a nice weekend.

Having booked late Helen was very accommodating and even remembered our names!

The campsite was lovely.

We pitched at the side of the river and the kids had the stream and field to play in all weekend.

The facilities are a short walk and were kept immaculate.

We visited the gamecock pup just up the road on both evenings and had a great time.

Still a great site with friendly owners and good facilities. We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sheddyone 5 reviews from this member

The camping field is flat with the beck running down one side. In the corner of the field there is a very handy shed containing a fridge (to freeze blocks or store your milk/food) and microwave. The recycling bins are also in this area. You can park right next to your tent, and you must move your tent once during a full week stay to protect the grass.

The toilets / showers are a fairly long walk through the camping field and the driveway, almost to the road, across a footbridge then down the other side of the beck to almost opposite the camping field. There is one large private bathroom containing toilet, basin and shower. The other toilets/showers are further round this building in a room with two toilets, two showers and a washing-up sink. All the toilets use mascerators and there are warning notices telling you what you can/can't put down the loo. There's another washing-up sink on the outside of the building. The walk wasn't really a problem for our group, but families may find it an issue.

The village is a 15 min walk and has a village shop and pub with a mix of pub classics and some French dishes. The bar sells Thwaite's ales.

There are lots of walks and cycle rides from the site including a circular walk crossing the beck over the Clapper Bridge, an ancient stone footbridge, and two different walks from Austwick to Clapham, where there's a lovely cafe selling breakfasts in the morning, cake in the afternoon, and real ales in the evening! There's a regular day-time 591 bus service to Settle and Kirkby Lonsdale for people who want to do a linear walk back to the site.

For shopping, I recommend the Waitrose in Kirkby Lonsdale, or the local shops in Austwick and Clapham.

Overall, a lovely site, and I look forward to returning.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leshem 13 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite seating near a stream in a stunting vale.

The site is very small (a big plus for us) with ~10 pitches. Unfortunately they are all crowded on both sides of a single lane. Therefore it can get crowded at busy time. We were lucky to be the last in the row sow we had no neighbors on 3 sides.

The very friendly owner welcomed us, showed our pitch and the facility on arrival, yet was not very informative about the surrounding area.

On the plus side there was the stream were the kids spend all their time playing at the edge of the water.

The facilities were very clean and nice yet are at the farm house, good walk away.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Misqs17 1 review from this member

Lovely place to stay (quiet site) if you are planning to do 3 peaks challenge. The campsite is situated just 10-15 min (by car) from starting point (Pen-y-Ghent Cafe).

Good facilities, well-kept with clean toilets and hot showers.

Helen is very friendly and helpful.

Highly recommended, we will stay there again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happy-sol 1 review from this member

Just back from four wonderful days at this campsite, the best we've ever been to!

The site is small (which we like) but the facilities are excellent and Helen is very helpful in every way.

Toilets/shower block/washing up etc all first class and no extra charge for showers!

The location and its view are superb with many walks and places of interest nearby.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JDigby03 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful site, well kept camping field with a lovely small stream running through it and fantastic views.

Toilets and washing area are immaculate and the owners Helen and Jon are very friendly and helpful.

We stayed on the site in a family tent for four nights this June.

It's a small site and very peaceful.

The camping area we had was at the side of a little stream which our kids loved playing in together with playing games in the big field.

Helen was really helpful and gave us ideas of where to go in the area.

There's lots to do and see in the area with lots of lovely walks.

The village has a playground and tennis courts.

Both Helen and Jon were very friendly making sure we had a lovely stay.

On an evening we walked into The village and ate at the Gamecock which was excellent.

We will definitely be coming again.

Wonderful!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Janet Croxon 9 reviews from this member

We have just spent three nights at this site.

Having booked, I was a bit surprised that there had been no reviews since 2012.

I needn't have worried. The site is as lovely as described by other reviewers. We had a non EHU pitch backing on to the stream, with an amazing view from the front of our tents of the surrounding countryside.

The site is well-kept and the owner was very friendly and helpful.

There is a shower block with two showers and two toilets (all unisex), and two washing up areas, all clean and well cared for. There are only 13 pitches and because it was still term time there were no children on site during our visit.

Our only reservations about the site are that it is a long way to the toilet block and it is quite dark going through the owners' garden. I wouldn't have wanted to make the trip to the loo on my own in the dark.

The site is close to the village which has a pub and a shop. There is a small Co-op in Settle and also a lovely Booth's supermarket with plenty of parking. There is a fish and chip shop in Settle, which offers take-away and eat-in.

This was planned as our last camping trip so on our way home we went through all the sites we have stayed at. We all agreed that this is the loveliest.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1406 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!