Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Leobay Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Rushenden > Leobay Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Leobay Camping And Caravan Site
Highfield
Alsager Avenue
Rushenden
Kent   (Browse area)
ME11 5LA
Tel: 07899 927467  or  01795 486827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (26)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Pakkred 1 review from this member

 A quirky site overlooking the confluence of the Rivers Swale and Medway.

It was one of the best pitches I have ever stayed on, being spacious, surrounded by privacy hedges and having a good size lawn with my own wooden table and benches.

Loads of birds to look at in addition to the wading birds on the rivers and the occasional passing ship - lovely.

From the site you can walk onto the large expanse of derelict industrial (port) land next to the river and then on to the marshes. Wonderful for watching nature and good for dog walking but definitely not beautiful.

The site was very quiet when I was there and also no nearby street lighting so it felt peaceful.

There is a 'summer house' and also a large kitchen and sitting area for campers. There is a car mechanic working on the site but that in no way impinged on my stay.

If you like quirky it is worth persevering as you drive through rather depressed areas and then down a rutted dirt road to reach this special site. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sueandrichard 15 reviews from this member

 The site is reached by a very bumpy road, but when you arrive its a really lovely place, that's thanks to the gardener who lives on site.

That's where the good reviews end, the showers and toilet leave very much to be desired, and as the previous reviews we didn't even meet the owner never mind tea and cake!

Queenborough itself isn't worth visiting and the only place to walk off site is on a run down path from the campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ALH1 28 reviews from this member

 Firstly, we chose this site as the locality suited us for our cycling route. We read the reviews, as we always do, which we’re quite diverse but as we were only staying a couple of days we decided to go for it!

After the bumpy approach we were greeted by the owner who was lovely and welcoming and invited us for the obligatory tea and cake which was very nice.

The pitches were large, each with a garden area with table and divided by hedging. All good so far. Electric only 10amp but have had before and had been fine, until we tried it! No way was it 10amp, tripped with only one electric item on so we knew we would be unable to cook our tea so had to shop for a no-cook tea for 2 nights - Not impressed!’

At least the shower exceeded expectations, was nice and hot and clean.

TV reception good. No local walks, no local shops.

If electric was better overall review score would have been better! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robandwendy 1 review from this member

 Steve is the most helpful and friendly owner. He welcomed us and are dog bluebell with open arms.

Ive told all my campers how lovely the place is. Going to come here every holiday from now on.

Well done steve and workers very clean around whole site. A. + stars. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Liz and Scott 4 reviews from this member

 Approach to Leobay not good but don't be put off. The site is lovely. Beautiful well kept gardens and flowers.

Lovely welcome with a coffee and cake. That's where it stops. The toilets/ showers are absolutely disgusting. Dirty, black mould, no toilet rolls. Just awful.

Without doubt the worst we have visited. There was a lovely communal area that was open to the public but unless your are a heavy smoker stay away because you can't see across the room for smoke and you have to endure that to make your payment.

We had wanted to go to Leobay for a long time having read the reviews. Would we go again. Not in a million years. Sorry. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan47 7 reviews from this member

 Leo Bay, Kent. Approach road full of pot holes, no male, female separate washing facilities. Washrooms dirty had not been cleaned for the 5 days we were there.

Initially booked for 10 days, when I complained about conditions we were instructed to leave the site by 12 noon. Offered a refund for remaining days.

Owner argued facilities were cleaned daily, and commented that my standards were too high when I showed him my concerns.

On his return with our refund he stated that they had now got a new grandchild and that spending time with the baby was more important than a bit of cleaning.

The most disgusting facilities we have ever had. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Madgeplus2 32 reviews from this member

 Made very welcome on arrival with a hot drink and a cupcake which we had whilst sitting in an open to all patio area overlooking the lovely flower and bird full gardens and the view over the estuary.

There are a lot of bird feeders here and they are refilled daily in order to satisfy the demand from the sparrows and collared doves, strangely enough very little evidence of bird poo on the van or anywhere else for that matter.

The entrance to the site is up an unmade road which is reasonable when dry not sure how good it would be if it had been raining a lot. The pitches are of reasonable size and have a mature hedge between each one giving a garden effect.

The facilities do not live up to the promise of the arrival, the toilets being up a few steps and then over a rickety base to two toilets and showers, to be shared between all the site occupants. Not impressed with the cleaning routine if indeed there was one. There was however a plentiful supply of hot water for a reasonable shower.

Friendly but expensive for what it offers.

If your into nature there is a lovely nature reserve just a few minutes drive away, with more butterflies that I have ever seen at one time plus a pair at least of marsh harriers and numerous other birds. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Poppyandskipper 14 reviews from this member

 Had another lovely 5 days at this quiet site. (well mostly quiet if you don't include the thousands of sparrows and other birds who frequent the many bird feeders on site! Sheila must have shares in the bird food industry! Delightful to watch the sparrows enjoying a dust bath in the roadway. )

Just one small improvement could be made if a plastic seat of some kind could be available to use in the shower block for those who are unable to stand for too long. Also worth mentioning is that the toilets and showers are up some rather steep wooden steps and not really suitable for anyone with walking problems.

Explored some places on the Island. Especially loved Harty Church and the amazing Criterion museum / picture house in Blue Town. Definitely worth a another visit when the BBC aren't filming there! 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mrs Mandy J smith 1 review from this member

 Well have to say staying this weekend was a pleasure. the new look shower block is fantastic and the new outdoor pergola is fantastic for a chill evening to sit and watch the stars with a little outdoor heating. What a fantastic relaxing place to be and with all the new improvements it just gets better and better. Well done guys you hard work is worth it 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camelsoutback 22 reviews from this member

 Access to the site is unique, but do not be put off, not for the faint hearted. As soon as you see the location of the site, the colourful and well maintained garden - all is forgiven. Then to be offered a cup of coffee or tea, with a cup cake, well, we did not want to leave. Joined by family in their motorhome, Steve could not have been more accommodating in allowing us to pitch adjacently. Services were good and being developed further, lots of lovely hot water. Touring the island, we had a lovely 6 days walking and seeing the sights as well as Chatham dockyard, additional information provided by Steve. Full action packed week. Superb sunsets over the Medway.

Lovely location, quiet and very restful. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Leobay Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Leobay Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Leobay Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rushenden      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3693 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement