Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gleanndal Campsite South Uist

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > South Uist > Gleanndal Campsite South Uist Reviews

Gleanndal Campsite South Uist
3 North Glendale
South Uist
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS8 5UD
Tel: 01878 700545
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 6
Open: 01/01/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 4 Reviews
                8/10 from 4 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Larry10 15 reviews from this member

 Our second stay on this site. It's level and pleasant, they appear to be building another shower/toilet block (possibly opening 2020).

Showers cost 1 but ample time for a good shower. Facilities clean and we made use of laundry, 4 for wash and 2 dry although drying lines available.

The site cost us 20 including EHU which is good value. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stumpythebear 13 reviews from this member

 This site is a short drive from the port of Lochboisdale, which can be seen across the loch. It is perfectly placed over looking the beautiful sea loch, in a slightly raised position, surrounded on the other sides by low-lying hills.

It appears to be well sheltered from the winds. The owner, Paul, was welcoming and friendly. He is a crofter and professional singer/teacher, so is a busy man. The facilities are quite basic, and are a short walk up the drive to the back of the croft house, in an old out-building.

The facilities comprise WC, shower and washing machine in one room, which is not ideal. I think it would have been OK, (but it wasn't made quite clear to us), to use the WC in the bunk-house if the one for campers is in use or if someone is having a leisurely shower. It would really improve things if there was a separate WC. The space for campervans is quite compact. There are 3 hook-ups but, while we were there,

Paul said he would only allow 2 vans because he didn't want us to feel crowded. Despite this, Paul still only charged us 13 per night, with hook-up. The other van was a large caravan - I have to admire the driver bringing it down the narrow road and getting it into position. Our pitch was perfect as our van is small.

We looked out over the loch with an uninterrupted view. There is excellent walking all round this site, but you do need a map as paths are few and far between.

We walked on a trail over the pass to South Glendale and across the causeway to Eriskay, then caught the bus part way back. There is a supermarket about 10 minutes drive away, back on the main road.

I liked this campsite and would return. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elizab 1 review from this member

 The wonderful website with glowing description and beautiful photos left a little to be desired.

The area is lovely and most of the views fantastic. However, the hardstanding and turning area, with hook-up for 3, is not big enough for 3 motorhomes; fortunately no-one else arrived that night.

The camping area is not large enough for more than a 4xman tent. We watched a family struggle to find room for their 2 tents and they reported in the morning their sleeping bags were on a distinct slope and too close for comfort to rocks.

There is a shed which contains the washing machine, shower, toilet and handbasin all in one area, so for the 6 bunk hostel and camping area occupied one could wait in a cue of 10+ for a turn, unless on very friendly terms with all and sundry, and willing to shower while others wash, use a toilet and do the clothes wash.

The bunk room is very small - thte photo is misleading.

We were booked in for 2 nights but so disapointed that when the owner arrived home in the evening, we asked to leave the next day. Thee was a 5 cancellation fee. He called later that night to ask for the money. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susanfinch 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely remote and scene site. Owner away at the time but a neighbour sorted all payments etc and were very helpful.

The negatives were that the facilities were very basic. We did not require them but if you did they were sited in a shed like structure and just one space with toilet, shower, sink and washing machine. Not pleasant!

The only caravan / motorhome area consisted of two hardstanding area which were tight to get into. We have a large outfit but just managed it.

However, that said, the location was wonderful and we had a good few days there and loved it.

Don't expect luxury, just location, location! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gleanndal Campsite South Uist child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gleanndal Campsite South Uist?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Gleanndal Campsite South Uist dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near South Uist      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2469 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement