Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Low Moor Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Low Moor Caravan Park Reviews

Low Moor Caravan Park
Low Moor
Kirkby Thore
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 1XQ
Tel: 01768 361231
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 6
Open: 12/04/2021 to 09/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Sophia 1 review from this member

 Coming here growing up, was lovely to come as an adult now.

Loved it very much will return again in the summer.

October was still a lovely time to go lots to do lovely walks x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steve4 1 review from this member

 Clean site, very friendly and helpful owner. Site enterance not best indicated and on busy road, but plenty of space to slow down and get off main flow of traffic.

We found this to be a great stop over. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SJSScotland 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed here to break a journey to North Yorkshire for a couple of days. Site was easy to find and noise from A66 not noticeable at all at the bottom of the site where we were. Site is a mix of touring and statics, but most of the touring pitches seemed to be taken up with seasonal pitching. Only looked to be a couple of available pitches for actual touring. Owners very friendly and helpful, easy cycle into Kirkby Thore to a wonderful restaurant, The Bridge. Also easy cycle into Appleby. Would stay again enroute to somewhere, and to eat at The Bridge again, not sure this is a site for an extended stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bigpig 3 reviews from this member

 I really liked this site, nicely laid out and tidy too. The views are stunning.

The toilets were clean and heated. Only one shower each for the mens/ladies but that was all that is needed for such a small site. The shower is free and is of a good standard. I think most people use their facilities in their caravans.

The noise from the A66 really quietens down at night, and even during the day it isn't intrusive.

The hard standings are good quality and there is plenty of space on each pitch. There is plenty of grassy area for kids to play ball games etc.

The reception from the owners was very pleasant. The goats, horses and sheep on the farm are lovely to watch.

Penrith and Appleby are close by. I can recommend the Ashiana indian restaurant in Appleby, the food was of a very high standard.

At 16 a night I thought it was very good value. I will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lunar Rodent 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our 2nd visit to this lovely site, we didn't see 'Caddy' this time but maybe on our next visit. We travel with two caravans and the lovely lady owner even helped us to get them both ino position, not everyone would show this kindness! Last time we were here it was October, end of season and we had the site to ourselves. This time there were more people on site with caravans, motornomes & tents, but the pitches are so spacious that it does not feel overcrowded! Being only ladies we didn't go into the Mens facilities, but the toilets and shower were kept immaculate at all times! The shower is spacious and very comfortable. There is also a hairdryer if needed which takes 20p coins. The views from all areas of the site are spectacular, instead of watching the T. V. In the evenings, I found myself looking out at the beautiful Cumbrian fells. This site is very peaceful and Quiet, and is just a stone's throw away from any of the Cumbrian towns or villages that anyone might like to visit. I would recommend this place to anyone it is wonderful here. Xx  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wendywu 3 reviews from this member

 My ideal site! We have 3 children my boy aged 7 and 2 girls aged 10 and 13 and they all had a great time. We had horses, goats, sheep and a highland cow to the side and behind our caravan, children thought it was great.

Very friendly lady met us on arrival giving us a warm welcome. Plenty space on the grass in front for ball games with the children. Children's Park could do with upgrading but children still enjoyed it. Children came back to the caravan a shade of orange telling us they'd found a sand pit! Not sure they were meant to be playing in the sand they found but did think if it had been play sand they would have been amused for hours!

Outdoor pool and play area at shap which was 15 mins away in the car, also visited the dam at shap for a picnic. Clean toilets, only one shower but it's a small quiet site so it's not a problem.

Children had bikes with them and enjoyed bike rides around the quiet back road to the side of the site. No games room, no pub, no shop just great site for a breakaway with the family.

We had 3 nights with friends beside us with boys aged 10 and 13 and a 2 year old girl, we both agreed how safe we felt the children were on this site which allowed us to relax more! Loved it!

Children can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lyn007 4 reviews from this member

 There are wonderful views of the mountains in the Lake District in the distance. Toilet facilities very clean. 50p token required for a shower.

It was a shame about the noise of the traffic on the road nearby(A66), even on a Sunday night. It is a nice site though, reasonably flat, not huge.

Can walk down a small country lane that runs beside the site. Owner friendly.

So only downside was the noise of the traffic. It is a good overnight stop when travelling to Scotland, or a good base for the lovely area. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Becca199212 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 weeks in the summer. I wasn't expecting much after a very unwelcoming arrival by an elderly lady, however, the rest of the family were very friendly- even showing me around their farm and always giving a smile when passing.

I did enjoy my stay on the site, the facilities were kept in very good condition and the shower was one of the best I've used whilst camping- although there is only one so sometimes had to queue when other campers were using it.

As other reviews have said- the road running behind the camp-site is constantly noisy but this can't be helped.

There's plenty of scenic walks along the River Eden once you figure out the right direction to take and plenty to do in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slowroad 52 reviews from this member

 I stopped over for one night on my cycle tour round Cumbria. It's a rather old-fashioned site but is clean and has all the essential facilities.

The tent field is slightly sloping, but there's a flatter area at the bottom. It was pretty quiet, there was only one other tent. As it is set back from, and lower than the road, it is protected from the worst of the road noise. However the main road was so busy that I didn't dare walk or cycle along the road to look at the village, so I can't comment on facilities there. I had got there via side roads to the south of the site - recommended if you are cycling.

I'd use this site again as a bargain stop-over. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Danstann 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for one night to break our journey on the way to and back from Scotland. It's a small and basic site on a working farm and was ideal for our needs. The toilet block was very clean with one locked shower in both the ladies and gents (a charge of 50p is made for the key each time you want to use it). There is a small play area with 2 swings, seesaw and slide and plenty of room for ball games. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Low Moor Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Low Moor Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Low Moor Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4832 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement