Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Croft No 2 Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Barra > Croft No 2 Caravan And Campsite Reviews

Croft No 2 Caravan And Campsite
2 Eoligarry
Isle Of Barra
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS9 5YD
Tel: 01871 890327  or  07772487169
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Oswestry Ed 9 reviews from this member

Now with new very clean refurbished free shower / toilet block. Washing machine available £2. 50 honesty jar.

Wash up area in former cattle byer with hot water. The sheltered site is slightly sloping and levellers may be required.

The owners could not be more helpful. Good sandy beeches close by with good walks from site.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 79 reviews from this member

We stayed at Croft No. 2 campsite on Barra for two nights in May 2017.

It is all grass on a slight slope but we had no difficulties maneuvering our 3. 5T motorhome at all.

We were delayed by a day by a Calmac ferry breakdown on the Oban to Castlebay route and, when we did eventually get away the next day, we were over 5 hours late. Thus we arrived at Castlebay at 11. 00pm rather than 6. 00pm!

Thankfully Angus was on hand with his torch to supervise where we pitched and showed us around the site facilities at close to midnight! We then had a runaway dog who, having been cooped up on the ferry for 4+ hours, escaped from the van & had a good run around the area with all its new smells, for a good hour. He finally returned at 1. 00am! Apologies to all our fellow campers for this disturbance in the early hours!

We donít have too much to add to all the previous reviews. The shower & washing machine [on an honesty box basis - £2. 50 per load] facilities were welcome as were the drying lines.

As others have said, the curving sandy beach was but yards away and gave our hound plenty of opportunity to let off even more steam!

We really should have allowed more time on Barra but we were scheduled to move up the islands after two days.

Castlebay is the only town [such as it is] but it does have a small community shop and a Co-Op store on the outskirts.

A trip to Vatersay, south of Castlebay, offers even more superb white sandy beaches as well as a Community Tea Room for refreshments.

All in all an excellent, laid back site with friendly & obliging owners.

PilgrimPhil

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SoozeeA 6 reviews from this member

What a friendly little site! We pulled up, and the owner called by on her way back from work. Mhairi was very friendly, explained everything and where to go for a walk. The site is tiny, but only one other campervan was on there that night. There is only one toilet and one shower, so if there was a number of campers, it would involve some queueing!

The location is fantastic - a superb beach across the road, and a walk to the top of the island for the sunset.

It belongs to C&CC, so have your card handy.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HannahsMenagerie 17 reviews from this member

A very friendly welcome and guided tour plus assistance on picking out a suitable pitch for the tent. Angus and Mary were usually somewhere around but unless you went looking for them left you in peace.

One end of site is flat and the tents pitched there, the rest of site is not particularly flat but there is a good supply of levellers for caravans and campervans.

There is only one W. C and shower but even though there were quite a few folks staying I never had to wait. They were always spotlessly clean and there is plenty of (very) hot water, clean hand towel, soap and a vase full of flowers. A washing machine is available on an honesty box basis and there is a clothes line with pegs available outside. In a separate building you can store anything you donít want to keep in your tent/van/car or hang things up to dry, there is also a fridge and a washing up area with (very) hot water.

The information board lists all sorts of things, including the arrival times of the planes at the local airport (if you donít know, Barra Airportís runway is the beach and watching planes land and take off is a spectator sport). The airport is about 5 minutes drive away or you can walk along the beach to Eoligarry Jetty then on the road, but you need to allow a good 40 to 50 minutes plus time to stop and admire the wildlife and scenery. The cafť at the Airport does good food and also provides free WiFi.

From the site itís less than a minute to a gorgeous white sand beach that goes on for miles, or you can walk round the back of the site to visit Spagen, the community wind turbine, and watch the sun go down over the North Atlantic Ocean. If you set off swimming from Spagen and head due west you wonít meet land until you hit Newfoundland in Canada.

The Dog and I spent 3 very pleasant nights there and could have stayed much longer, if we are ever up that way again then this will be our campsite of choice on Barra.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peterandjean 4 reviews from this member

We have stayed on this site in the past and always given good reviews. Things have changed since our last visit and new toilet facilities with a shower and washing machine have enhanced it to a much higher level. There is also a drying and storage area for campers along with a fridge and washing up facilities. Mary and Angus along with their two sons are very helpful with island information, assistance and an abundance of friendliness. The island is a very peaceful place to be, the beaches are amazing and don't miss the unique airport on the beach and it's superb to cafe.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Elizabet 1 review from this member

Please do not tell anyone. On the other hand: please do!

So beautiful, best view, very kind owners, clean, close to an wonderful quiet beach (like all the beaches on the Hebrides) one of the best places on earth to camp.

Very clean shower and toilet. Washing machine and shed for drying and dishes is comfortable.

Barra is the best best best.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Duncan R 1 review from this member

A fantastic campsite with beautiful toilet and shower facilities a right good touch having a washing machine in the same block. Angus the owner and his wife are a lovely couple and are more than happy to give you information about the island. Barra is beautiful and this campsite gives you a great base for touring around and the beach is only 50 m away. Definitely recommend Croft 2 thanks again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Melandjo 1 review from this member

In our month of travelling through the Outer Hebrides this was our first and overall probably the best campsite we stayed at

The view of the sea and islands opposite is superb with the colours of the sea and ever changing light.

Very peaceful and relaxing.

A small and intimate campsite with a delightful washing house which is very clean and chic with hand towels, soaps and flowers

Washing machine located in the wash house and pegs and a line outside

Mary could not have been kinder, more welcoming or more helpful with advice on what to do and where to go on Barra; visiting Vatersay, the coffee shop with wifi at the Airport - fabulous view of planes landing on the beach, Kisimul Castle, walks around etc

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachel58 2 reviews from this member

We were very happy staying here. The new facilities are spotlessly clean, and nice touches such as the liquid soap and flowers in the toilet/shower block were appreciated. Angus and Mary are a welcoming couple and have put some effort into improving their site. The washing machine is in the barn, as are plenty of drying lines. They will be installing washing up facilities in the barn next year, but meanwhile you need to have a bowl and can get water from the shower block. I felt really sorry to hear that a family had stolen the spare liquid soaps and used all of the clean hand towels which Mary had been keeping in a cupboard in the shower/toilet block, not behaviour that we would have wished on them. One or two families staying at the same time had very noisy and inconsiderate children - I realise that Mary is a gentle person but she may have to develop a tougher exterior in the future if subjected to folk who don't consider others on the site. Thank you Mary and Angus for a lovely stay!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robnixon 21 reviews from this member

We enjoyed a lovely 3 days at this site at the end of July. Situated in the beautiful north end of Barra, next to an extensive white sandy beach when the tide retreats, this is a lovely location for a holiday.

Great views from the site overlooking Eriskay and South Uist.

The new toilet block is a great addition and even through the site is small with five or six pitches, there was room for the children to play on the grass.

The owners are very helpful with advice on the local area.

The airport is a place which you must visit on Barra where the planes land twice a day on the beach at low tide. This is 5 mins drive away, but you can see them approach the airport from the site.

Nearest shop is the co-op in Castlebay (30 mins away), so stock up with food.

During our stay, we saw two otters playing on the beach at low tide. Great beaches, both at the site and opposite the airport over the dunes.

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4581 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019