Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Croft No 2 Caravan & Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Barra > Croft No 2 Caravan & Campsite Reviews

Croft No 2 Caravan & Campsite
Cinn Mhara 2a Eoligarry
Isle Of Barra
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS9 5YD
Tel: 01871890327  or  07703526864
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 46 Reviews
                9/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Carole 3 reviews from this member

 Very relaxed lovely views, Angus very helpful and friendly.

Great location as beach across the road from which you can walk all the way to the airport.

Facilities good and well organised for pandemic but might be stretched when busy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Danny2 1 review from this member

 Great location adjacent to the beach. Basic but everything you need and the toilet was extremely clean.

Angus was very friendly.

You have to see the plane land on the beach. Yes, the beach. However, there are no local stores and you need to be self sufficient.

Would visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Coward 1 review from this member

 A wonderful soft immaculate shower room and toilet.

Site over

The road from an amazing beach !

We canít wait to return !

Highly

Recommend !

Can Drive to other islands too from site ! Yes 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Danva2 1 review from this member

 Down to earth and friendly, nice pitches, everything you need with amazing views. Beach out front, sunset over the Atlantic an evening stroll out back. Great place.

We were on a tour of islands, could easily have spent a week here with or without kids. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jordan 1 review from this member

 Pros: Friendly host, clean and functional facilities, great location and fair price.

Cons: Slight slope.

Overall: Highly recommended.

Cheers

Jordan 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 Angus was very welcoming as usual and we are looking forward to returning soon.

The site is very tidy and well maintained.

The beach is the best weíve seen and the bird life is abundant 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stewar 1 review from this member

 Stayed here in 2017 and was just as good and clean and simple as before.

Lovely drive to Croft 2 past Barra Airport and two of the best beaches probably on Barra.

30min leisurely drive from castlebay and you can go either way round the island. Pop in and try the airport cafe.

Walk for 1 min to a lovely long sandy beach, take a small spade and try your luck for fresh scallops 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Oswestry Ed 12 reviews from this member

 Now with new very clean refurbished free shower / toilet block. Washing machine available £2. 50 honesty jar.

Wash up area in former cattle byer with hot water. The sheltered site is slightly sloping and levellers may be required.

The owners could not be more helpful. Good sandy beeches close by with good walks from site. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 82 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Croft No. 2 campsite on Barra for two nights in May 2017.

It is all grass on a slight slope but we had no difficulties maneuvering our 3. 5T motorhome at all.

We were delayed by a day by a Calmac ferry breakdown on the Oban to Castlebay route and, when we did eventually get away the next day, we were over 5 hours late. Thus we arrived at Castlebay at 11. 00pm rather than 6. 00pm!

Thankfully Angus was on hand with his torch to supervise where we pitched and showed us around the site facilities at close to midnight! We then had a runaway dog who, having been cooped up on the ferry for 4+ hours, escaped from the van & had a good run around the area with all its new smells, for a good hour. He finally returned at 1. 00am! Apologies to all our fellow campers for this disturbance in the early hours!

We donít have too much to add to all the previous reviews. The shower & washing machine [on an honesty box basis - £2. 50 per load] facilities were welcome as were the drying lines.

As others have said, the curving sandy beach was but yards away and gave our hound plenty of opportunity to let off even more steam!

We really should have allowed more time on Barra but we were scheduled to move up the islands after two days.

Castlebay is the only town [such as it is] but it does have a small community shop and a Co-Op store on the outskirts.

A trip to Vatersay, south of Castlebay, offers even more superb white sandy beaches as well as a Community Tea Room for refreshments.

All in all an excellent, laid back site with friendly & obliging owners.

PilgrimPhil 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SoozeeA 6 reviews from this member

 What a friendly little site! We pulled up, and the owner called by on her way back from work. Mhairi was very friendly, explained everything and where to go for a walk. The site is tiny, but only one other campervan was on there that night. There is only one toilet and one shower, so if there was a number of campers, it would involve some queueing!

The location is fantastic - a superb beach across the road, and a walk to the top of the island for the sunset.

It belongs to C&CC, so have your card handy. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Croft No 2 Caravan & Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Croft No 2 Caravan & Campsite?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Croft No 2 Caravan & Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Barra      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2031 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement