Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fleet Farm Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Hayling Island > Fleet Farm Camping & Caravan Site Reviews

Fleet Farm Camping & Caravan Site
Yew Tree Road
Hayling Island
Hampshire   (Browse area)
PO11 0QE
Tel: 02392 463684
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 31 Reviews
                5/10 from 31 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Crowievfr 2 reviews from this member

 A tired, grotty, dirty camp site. No need to list all the bad points, I really don't have the time.

Only good thing about this site is leaving it. Don't waste your money. I have to give a rating of 1 because you can't put 0 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Craig381sara 11 reviews from this member

 We made This our first ever caravan trip to this site and were bitterly disappointed and nearly sold our van

The location is nice, on the edge of an area of outstanding natural beauty and with a small creek right into the site. That is where the virtues end, however.

The bathrooms are extremely basic, just a bare-brick shed with plastic roof panels. This would be fine if they were clean but they looked completely uncared for and we never once saw anybody cleaning them. They lacked the little touches that show somebody has put some thought in, like hooks for towels or shelves for your toothbrush. One evening, all bar one cubicle had run out of loo roll.

Kids run riot shouting and yelling till late at night

A couple of people commented that the owner tries to maximise income without really investing in the business and this comes across. There are sited caravans that would look welcoming if they were clean and the clutter of scrap and old pallets were removed.

Care and attention would do this site wonders as it in a good location

We have stayed at sites costing half the price of Fleet farm with better facilities.

Sadly, we won't be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Quoroll 10 reviews from this member

 Previous reviewers sum up this site pretty well. It is very overpriced and very dated, yet it is clearly popular with some people. I spoke to one regular user who told me that her grandmother had a van on the site 50 years ago and that the family had been coming ever since.

Several of the touring vans looked like they hadn't moved since the 1960's, so I can believe it. There were lots of kids whizzing around on bikes and although it is great to see youngsters out of doors, having them den building in the hedge behind your van doesn't make for a very peaceful stay.

The toilet block was well past it's sell by date and although acceptably clean (not sparkling) the asbestos roof might only have been held up by the density of the cobwebs.

My main gripe however was the rip off pricing. 20 for a pitch 4 for electric and a 2:50 booking fee. Outrageous for a small pitch and very limited on site facilities.

The Warden was friendly

One to avoid 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Malcnwendy 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site as owner was speaking to warden, very rude man, warden very helpful and friendly.

Quite nice aspect to site but stored caravans quite untidy and detracts from surroundings

Pricing structure quite complicated, probably intentional as its overpriced.

Facilities abysmal, not nearly clean enough, very dated, and inadequet. Never sure what's going to descend on you from the cobweb infested rafters and the showers barely a trickle.

Wont be booking again 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chewter 1 review from this member

 Nice location. Very pleasant warden. Shower and toilet block dated. Too many permanent vans there that where not maintained. Didn't use the play area as I don't have children. There was no shop or laundrette on site.

The shower and toilet block was very cold had to use the one in our caravan. Its very nice at hayling island. The site could have been a lot better. It was nice looking over the creek and to see the swans.

Lots of people knew one another that's had there vans there permanently 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stuart30 2 reviews from this member

 Having had a week at Fleet Farm I felt a review was needed.

The site has the Potential to be a great relaxing site, however sadly that's just not the case.

Pricing is the main issue, 25 per night for a tent larger than 4 person is reasonable, but then add on 10 per night for a small pop up Gazebo, 2. 75 for a small camping trailer and the 4 for electric soon adds up to a very expensive price per night, considering ALL the above was contained with in the perimeter of the pitch, so didn't take up extra space.

The Owner makes NO effort to welcome guests, in fact we felt like we were intruding into his Back Garden.

Toilets and showers are adequate if you have low expectations. Whilst clean, the celling housed maybe 2 years worth of dead creepy crawlies which was very off putting, as was the very old style showers that trickled water.

As someone has stated it really is of the Carry of Camping Era, but sadly without the humour.

However the biggest issue we had was the pitches, the owner allowed 3 very large tents to pitch side by side, the last one the guy ropes actually pegged down tight against our tent, distance between tents maybe 3 feet at very best.

Would we go back. No not even if pitch was free, would we recommend the site. Not a chance.

The Warden does deserve a pat on the back. Friendly chap who is happy to have a chat and offer any info on local places to see etc. Very nice chap. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Karenmatt 3 reviews from this member

 Overall the appearance of the side of the site in the trees where we were pitched is very bad, owners of caravans stored need to be told to tidy the pitches up a bit as they make the site look shoddy. The toilet block needs updating and cleaning or knocking down and rebuilt.

Pricing tariff takes some working out and worked out to 27.00 a night as they classed our small teardrop caravan as a trailer and had to pay an extra 2.75 also 2.75 for an awning, if we had as a car and caravan it would have been 17.50, we took no more space than the average pitch then add 4.00 for electric hook up.

Having been to Hayling before the area is lovely to visit but the campsite will not be stayed at again. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Valellis 8 reviews from this member

 Very basic site. Friendly warden but owner a bit sharp with the way he spoke to the warden infront of customers. The overall appearance of the site was a bit shoddy, lots of caravans parked up for storage that could do with a strimmer for the grass around them to tidy the place up a bit.

The showers were very outdated so I used the shower in the caravan. Could be a very nice site with a bit of TLC.

Dog friendly with walks very close by. I guess all this was reflected in the price which was very reasonable. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sambob 4 reviews from this member

 As it was my sons tenth birthday we decided to take him and his brothers to hayling island fair. My wife and I decided we would make a weekend of it so we took the caravan and booked into fleet farm.

On arrival at 8. 30 pm in the dark! the warden showed us to our pitch (he is very helpful)

On Saturday morning I went on my usual look about (as you do) and the first thing that came to mind was Carry on Camping.

The toilet block is rather outdated but it was clean (ish) and some of the cubicles had no toilet paper in them.

There are caravans on the camping/touring field that have been there for years with decking around them and welsh dressers in the awnings! And some were actually on blocks with the wheels removed, the awnings on some were covered in seagull poo and the vans were green with algae.

This really detracts from what could be a fantastic site, as it is right next to a creek and is amongst mature oak trees.

There are some nice pubs a short walk away that serve food and there are various takeaways that will deliver to the site.

Hayling fair has some really good and scary rides now, and they do arm bands that cost 10 from 11am till 5pm or 5 from 6pm till 9pm for unlimited rides, really good value if you go out of season when its not busy.

The site has a small kids play area that consist of 1 baby swing/a normal swing/small slide and a climbing frame.

The site is ideally situated for trips to chichester / goodwood racecourse / gunwharf quays in portsmouth / southsea sea front.

I would use this site again as I found its little oddities amusing and it will take large family groups as long as they behave. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Louiemac73 4 reviews from this member

 Warden: Readily available on arrival and lives on site.

Pitch: Flat but seemed a bit random. 4 Electric points all together in the middle of the field and so leads running across field which could have been a problem if we had children with us.

Toilet block: Shabby is the one word I would use to describe them. I think 4 showers and toilets in the ladies. Plenty of hot water. The rest of my comments are negative: the floor was never brushed or mopped in the 4 days we were there, the block itself had some superficial cleaning on our 4th day but that left a lot to be desired, even the mop bucket which you use to clean the shower after you've used it was filled with dirty water and had no clean smell to it, one of the toilet seats had come off and on the final morning only one toilet had toilet roll.

We easily visited Portsmouth and Chichester by car and walked to the main beach at Hayling Island, although some might find it a bit too far, but there is a bus service available.

The site in general is far from the best I have stayed at and there is a general feeling of clutter as caravans are stored on the site and they look very shabby and give a built up feeling to the field. I do not think this site should be advertised as a camping site; it is a caravan site which takes tents.

There is road noise too.

I though that for 22 which we paid, I would get better as I have done at other sites.

I'll be going back to Dorset again next time! 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fleet Farm Camping & Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fleet Farm Camping & Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fleet Farm Camping & Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hayling Island      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2912 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement