Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Rising Sun Inn

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > The Rising Sun Inn > Reviews

The Rising Sun Inn
St Davids Road
Pelcomb Bridge
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6EA
Tel: 01437 765171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only. It also has a separate area for tents, non members welcome.

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jeff Palmer 1 review from this member

 Great place to come staff are very helpful.

Booked for one night ended up staying another night booked in for a week later for three nights.

Quiet place to enjoy and the pub is on site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Stuee 22 reviews from this member

 Met up with our campervan group for a social gathering.

Plenty of grassy space and some hardstandings with EHU.

Also a stream to paddle in.

The pub was lovely although we sat in the beer garden with our naughty puppy.

The nearby bridleway was a handy walk but little else within walking distance.

The road is busy and quite noisy but didn't disturb sleep. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ukblueuk 10 reviews from this member

 Thought long and hard about leaving a review for this site. While my review will be rather negative don't let that put you off. It is a nice site, but not for me. I booked this site primarily for location and because it was attached to a pub (I like to go to a 'local' for a few pints during my stay)

First impressions I was impressed, while the owner wasn't expecting me when I arrived (had been booked for 3 months) I got a nice grass pitch, which is a little uneven. Then things got to spoil my initial impression. Toilets are clean but very basic. 1 Toilet, 1 sink, 1 urinal, 1 shower for the men (cant comment on the ladies) Clean but very very outdated. Then the biggest disappointment, the pub, when I was there it was very quiet for the whole fortnight. Only went in on 3 separate occasions and the lager was warm, I kept asking for ice which was melting straight away. Location was good for visiting beaches and attractions, good location for supermarkets only 5 mins by car. Didn't try the restaurant as I had dogs with me but it looked really nice. The nearest water point was right next to the chemical disposal which I thought was a tad unhygienic so I had to use the water point at the toilets near the entrance. I thought 20 a night for the pitch with EHU was too expensive considering the amenities. Like I said, I would not use this site again but don't let that put you off if you're just looking for a base and you don't mind paying a bit over the top. On a plus point the dogs thought it was the best holiday they ever had, they were absolutely shattered every night. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: EvansMills 1 review from this member

 We have stayed here twice now and have thoroughly enjoyed it both times. The site is small and friendly and ideally situated to explore Pembrokshire. If you are a dog walker, there is a bridle path about 2 mins walk from the site which is ideal to let the dogs off the lead and stretch their legs and Newgale beach is just down the road. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjjones17 19 reviews from this member

 Used the site as base to visit family in area, nice size camp and child friendly though some pitches bit uneven, facilities very very basic for males there was 1 sink 1 toilet 1 shower and very out dated.

Located on very busy road and next to turkey farm not great but wasn't overly noisy.

Clean water and waste disposal right next to each other wasn't ideal and whilst I had visited the pub in years gone by its gone down hill and food was ok but not great.

Suited our needs and if like lot others if you are looking for base to use beaches etc then good site but not best and wouldn't automatically think of using it again 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GeoffreyI 21 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site with an excellent restaurant and pub attached. The owners are very obliging and friendly and are very committed to keep up the high standards. The pitch is reasonably level with some areas on a slight elevation. We had no trouble gaining access to the toilets and showers however, I think in the future maybe a few more will become necessary. The access is extremely easy where you turn in off the A487 this could be a little noisy due to being close to the road, but we didn't find it problematic. The restaurant served excellent food at a reasonable price, children were also welcome in the restaurant. We spent a weekend there and would definitely go back again, the locality is also excellent for all the beaches in the surrounding area. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ENLLI 2 reviews from this member

 Back from a week at the very well kept/run site. A very friendly and helpful owners, nothing was of problem. Shows what is the countryside about. Pub very clean. Toilets were immaculate. Staff very friendly. Food homemade, steak cooked to perfection, wifes chicken same again, we really enjoyed our meals. 5 minutes to haverfordwest for shops, central location for touring the area, some really nice hidden away beaches. We will def be back. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Doddi2510 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a fabulous weekend away at the rising sun.

The site is spotless as are the toilets and shower room.

Dave the owner was extremely friendly and helpful and always busy keeping the site looking stunning.

I must admit I loved the free range chickens they are better trained than my dog.

I will definitely be returning back to this site it is in an ideal location just of the main road and with some beautiful beaches within a few miles. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Katy P 3 reviews from this member

 This is a small site which is kept spotlessly clean, as are the toilets and shower room.

No children's playground on the site but as a middle aged couple that's fine by us.

The Rising Sun Inn offers a large selection of meals, all of which appear to be reasonably priced.

The owners of the site are so helpful and friendly, going out of their way to assist.

The site is on a bus route though there is no formal bus stop, you just flag one down when you see it coming.

An earlier comment mentioned noisy crows but I can honestly say they didn't bother us at all, in fact until I saw them, I hadn't been aware of them, and I thought that the free range chickens wandering around in the day were a delight to watch. All in all we had a very relaxing weekend and I'd definitely re-visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abes 1 review from this member

 Good Location, just off the main road, easy to get on to, very friendly and helpful staff.

Shower and toilet very clean, washer and tumbler dry handy. Good number of electric hook ups.

Loved watching the free range chickens roaming the site - even enjoyed one of their eggs. Large picnic tables available for site use. Lovely meals in the Rising Sun good size portions and friendly staff.

Nice beaches 5 mins + 10 mins away by car. The perfect spot for touring around. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Rising Sun Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Rising Sun Inn?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Rising Sun Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Haverfordwest      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2668 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement