Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Ruisseau Du Treil

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Midi - Pyrenees > Site Reviews

Camping Ruisseau Du Treil
Larnagol
Cajarc
Lot
Midi - Pyrenees   (Browse area)
46160
Tel: 0033 05 65 31 23 39
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 49
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Harry01 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a fantastic visit to Camping Ruisseau Du Treil. The location is absolutely stunning, beyond beautiful. There's actually a small river running right through the area of the campsite, it's such a peaceful place that you can hear it gurgling most of the time.

Jenny and Nigel gave us such a warm welcome and we settled in very quickly in the mobile home, which is really well set up, feeling immediately at home and very well looked after. Facilities are good, clean, comprehensive and well thought out: plenty of hot water, blankets for cooler evenings, a lovely seating area, even a gazebo and table and chairs outside. There was plenty had we wanted to stay in but the surrounding area is so beautiful and yet surprisingly uncrowded that you're spoilt for choice. We'd recommend walking immediately from the campsite (amazing wildlife); Saint-Cirq-Lapopie not far off, a strikingly beautiful village with brilliant artisan shops and super restaurants, which can be walked to via a cliffside towpath; canoeing on either the Lot or the Cele, nearby; or visiting one of the nearby towns.

Swimming pool fabulous - perfect for cooling down on a warm afternoon. I thoroughly recommend, we'll be going back!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Longtimecaravaner 27 reviews from this member

If you are looking for a small haven of peace and quiet in the heart of the countryside then this is for you. The site is split into little fields of fairly level short grass with a few trees and a small stream running through. There are fields of wild flowers behind for taking a stroll and in May wild orchids abound. The ambiance is enhanced by the lack of lights at night [although of course the shower block is lit] and the fact the bar closes at ten to protect the peaceful atmosphere. If you like to party until late in the night then this is not the site for you.

The very pleasant owners are welcoming and will do anything required to make your stay enjoyable. In May the pool and food were not available but Jenny will bake your bread for you to order. WIFI is available over the whole site for E5 but there was no phone signal.

The area is beautiful with dramatic scenery and the main tourist attractions of St Cirq Lapopie and Cloche Merle caves within a few miles. The site guide given to new arrivals contains suggestions for bike rides and car tours with lots more ideas.

If you want glorious scenery, peace and quiet and welcoming owners then this site is for you.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Parlourbarn 22 reviews from this member

We arrived at the end of August, only to find both pools and the snack bar closed for the season, not what we were expecting as there is no mention of this on the website. Nor is there any mention that you have no mobile signal and as WiFi is only available in the bar area, we felt very isolated.

Be aware, the route suggested on the Web site from the A20 to the site means you leave at J57 with approximately 3 miles of very steep inclines down and hairpin bends, the reverse obviously on returning. If you have a large van as we do, you may want to consider slower inclines via La Bastide Murat to J56- it may be a mile or two more, but much easier on the car engine!

Bar was open and we sat talking to the lovely hosts most evenings. Yes as stated before, there are no lights on site, so don't forget a torch to get back to your good sized pitch.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caragirl 1 review from this member

A tranquil site- meaning no noise after 10pm! No lights on site so you need a torch for loo trips at night. Lots of rules. Toilets clean but in need of updating. ( one shower block ok) some pitches of good size - one field totally in shade. No loungers around pool- have to take your own- only deckchairs supplied. Although a lovely site and area would not return or recommend

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anton36 8 reviews from this member

The site: This is a very pretty site with so much potential.

Access: The site is easy enough to find but the route from the A20 is better suited to motorhomes. In any case you must watch out for the over hanging rock walls one side and the granite wall on the other. Reading other comments we also found the lack of proper sun loungers disappointing. In addition, the shower facilities are quite basic and essentially in a barn.

The area: The surrounding area is very pretty but limiting in the things to see unless you are willing to drive quite a way to get out of the valley.

Finally, we were very interested to read that the pool and bar had been closed. Other campers said this was not an uncommon comment. However, it spoilt our stay and we would not return.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Travelingleponts 1 review from this member

This was a gem of a campsite. We hadn't read any of the other reviews until we got home but we think they are all spot on. We arrived from another campsite in the Dordogne which was full and so tightly packed that we felt a little claustrophobic. To arrive at Ruisseau du Treil and be presented with so much space on our pitch was sheer delight. The campsite was nearly full but you wouldn't have thought so.

The site is situated in a small valley that joins the main Lot Valley. We spent some lovely lazy afternoons strolling along it and marvelling at the myriad of butterflies and insects. The river Lot is just a few minutes walk. You can hire pedalos and canoes just down the road at Cenevieres but we found the best place for canoeing is the Cele River - about a 15-20 minute drive away.

The owners Jenny and Nigel are very helpful and friendly. There is a bar and a very small shop and they do snacks in the evening. Their home made pizzas are the best we have tasted for a long time!

The two swimming pools are delightful and very clean.

Nearest shops are at Cajarc about 9km away so you have to be a bit organised which isn't a problem. We even borrowed bikes from the site to cycle into the town a couple of times.

Would definitely visit again and would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 97 reviews from this member

Lovely site, bigger than it looks but has a small feel to it. It wasn't anything like full when we were there so had a very pleasant feel. The shower and loo block were clean, the second one opened while we were there. In a good position for St Cirq Lapopie and the Lot area. The Abbey and little village of Marcillac sur Gele is well worth a visit. In July and August it has a night market. Bread can be ordered for the next day. Meals are available in the evening at the bar.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jasper0505 9 reviews from this member

From the time we arrived, the owners made us all very welcome, that included our dog that had a great time with Millie, their Retriever.

The site is quietly situated in a small valley just off the Lot and only a short walk to the River Lot. There is access to lots of dog friendly walks behind the site, you are able to wander for miles without the need to use roads.

The facilities are all adequate and clean, we didn’t use the pools because it was the last week of the season and they had been covered, but the weather wasn’t particularly inviting either… however, on a hotter day I bet they are most inviting…

The owners opened the bar each evening for an hour or two where we met up with other campers for a chat about the day, had a couple of drinks, all the dogs socialised and we all had a very enjoyable evening. Obviously being out of the main season it was pretty quiet allowing N&J time to spend with us. We enjoyed our evenings, everyone was very good company.

Well situated for visiting surrounding attractions La Cirq Lapopie is only 10 mins drive away with plenty of good restaurants despite its touristy appearance. Would recommend the site and will stay again when in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Seek80 1 review from this member

Outstanding tranquil and peaceful small and very friendly site!

Huge pitches with a choice of full, partial or no shade in a wooded valley.

Toilet, shower and wash up facilities are adequate and spotlessly kept.

The 2 swimming pools are immaculately kept, and there is an on-site bar with shady tables on the outside terrace.

We arrived at the end of June for an initial 4 night stay and had to drag ourselves away after 12nights

Excellent hosts for whom nothing seems to be a problem - the fact that they are English was also a bonus.

The Lot Valley is spectacular and the site is handily located for easy half day trips to the various attractions - caves with 25000 year old Neolithic paintings, delightful little towns and villages (some seemingly impossibly perched on the sides of the limestone cliffs along the Lot river).

Thoroughly recommended, and we will be sure to stay again when we are in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Capt seabass 1 review from this member

Found this site almost by accident.

Very pleased when we got there, small site but large pitches and the freedom to choose our own pitch. The facilities are very good and the owners (relatively new) are busy updating it all the time. The site is clean and well looked after by very friendly staff with adequate showers / toilet / washing up facilities, we loved the 2 swimming pools!

The owners who are English are very welcoming and go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay - nothing is too much trouble!

We were only there for 6 nights and would gladly have stayed longer as there is so much in the area to do / see - we only scratched the surface.

Will definitely be back!

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Midi - Pyrenees

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1356 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019