Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Ruisseau Du Treil

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Midi - Pyrenees > Larnagol > Camping Ruisseau Du Treil > Reviews

Camping Ruisseau Du Treil
Lot
Larnagol
Midi - Pyrenees   (Browse area)
46160
Tel: +33 05 65 31 23 39
Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 49
Open: 01/05/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mumsjemima 2 reviews from this member

 I left a review of this site in June 2013 and thought it was time to leave another one. We've been coming most years since then and it remains one of our favourite sites anywhere.

It was taken over by Steve and Cheryl a year ago, another English couple, and they've been busy updating the wifi network, which now works throughout the site, refreshing some tired paintwork and making plans for the next few years.

They are enthusiastic and very welcoming hosts and it's enjoyable stopping off at the bar for a couple of beers or an ice-cream after dog walking.

They do excellent pizzas a couple of days a week and can arrange croissants or pain au chocolat for the morning.

The lovely park-like feeling remains the same with generous pitches and plenty of shade from mature trees.

For dog walking from the site, there are meadows behind the site full of wild flowers, quiet lanes, a path up through the woods to the cliff top with a marvellous view over the valley, and a track through the fields along the Lot a short way along the main road.

In June the birdsong and sound of the Ruisseau gurgling beside our pitch were all we could hear (last year it was dry so this was a special treat).

The facilities are relatively basic but very clean and adequate when we were there. There is a second block which is open in high season. Walks from the site bring marvellous views of villages clinging to rock faces and, of course, the river.

The little town of Cajarc is a 10 minute drive along an astounding road carved into the rock above the river and has bars, restaurants, an interesting medieval centre, a range of shops plus brilliant swimming for the dog.

This might be a bit daunting in a large motorhome but was fine in a camper van. There are lots of other fascinating places to visit from the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Harry01 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a fantastic visit to Camping Ruisseau Du Treil. The location is absolutely stunning, beyond beautiful. There's actually a small river running right through the area of the campsite, it's such a peaceful place that you can hear it gurgling most of the time.

Jenny and Nigel gave us such a warm welcome and we settled in very quickly in the mobile home, which is really well set up, feeling immediately at home and very well looked after. Facilities are good, clean, comprehensive and well thought out: plenty of hot water, blankets for cooler evenings, a lovely seating area, even a gazebo and table and chairs outside. There was plenty had we wanted to stay in but the surrounding area is so beautiful and yet surprisingly uncrowded that you're spoilt for choice. We'd recommend walking immediately from the campsite (amazing wildlife); Saint-Cirq-Lapopie not far off, a strikingly beautiful village with brilliant artisan shops and super restaurants, which can be walked to via a cliffside towpath; canoeing on either the Lot or the Cele, nearby; or visiting one of the nearby towns.

Swimming pool fabulous - perfect for cooling down on a warm afternoon. I thoroughly recommend, we'll be going back! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Longtimecaravaner 27 reviews from this member

 If you are looking for a small haven of peace and quiet in the heart of the countryside then this is for you. The site is split into little fields of fairly level short grass with a few trees and a small stream running through. There are fields of wild flowers behind for taking a stroll and in May wild orchids abound. The ambiance is enhanced by the lack of lights at night [although of course the shower block is lit] and the fact the bar closes at ten to protect the peaceful atmosphere. If you like to party until late in the night then this is not the site for you.

The very pleasant owners are welcoming and will do anything required to make your stay enjoyable. In May the pool and food were not available but Jenny will bake your bread for you to order. WIFI is available over the whole site for E5 but there was no phone signal.

The area is beautiful with dramatic scenery and the main tourist attractions of St Cirq Lapopie and Cloche Merle caves within a few miles. The site guide given to new arrivals contains suggestions for bike rides and car tours with lots more ideas.

If you want glorious scenery, peace and quiet and welcoming owners then this site is for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Parlourbarn 28 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the end of August, only to find both pools and the snack bar closed for the season, not what we were expecting as there is no mention of this on the website. Nor is there any mention that you have no mobile signal and as WiFi is only available in the bar area, we felt very isolated.

Be aware, the route suggested on the Web site from the A20 to the site means you leave at J57 with approximately 3 miles of very steep inclines down and hairpin bends, the reverse obviously on returning. If you have a large van as we do, you may want to consider slower inclines via La Bastide Murat to J56- it may be a mile or two more, but much easier on the car engine!

Bar was open and we sat talking to the lovely hosts most evenings. Yes as stated before, there are no lights on site, so don't forget a torch to get back to your good sized pitch. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caragirl 1 review from this member

 A tranquil site- meaning no noise after 10pm! No lights on site so you need a torch for loo trips at night. Lots of rules. Toilets clean but in need of updating. ( one shower block ok) some pitches of good size - one field totally in shade. No loungers around pool- have to take your own- only deckchairs supplied. Although a lovely site and area would not return or recommend 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anton36 8 reviews from this member

 The site: This is a very pretty site with so much potential.

Access: The site is easy enough to find but the route from the A20 is better suited to motorhomes. In any case you must watch out for the over hanging rock walls one side and the granite wall on the other. Reading other comments we also found the lack of proper sun loungers disappointing. In addition, the shower facilities are quite basic and essentially in a barn.

The area: The surrounding area is very pretty but limiting in the things to see unless you are willing to drive quite a way to get out of the valley.

Finally, we were very interested to read that the pool and bar had been closed. Other campers said this was not an uncommon comment. However, it spoilt our stay and we would not return. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Travelingleponts 1 review from this member

 This was a gem of a campsite. We hadn't read any of the other reviews until we got home but we think they are all spot on. We arrived from another campsite in the Dordogne which was full and so tightly packed that we felt a little claustrophobic. To arrive at Ruisseau du Treil and be presented with so much space on our pitch was sheer delight. The campsite was nearly full but you wouldn't have thought so.

The site is situated in a small valley that joins the main Lot Valley. We spent some lovely lazy afternoons strolling along it and marvelling at the myriad of butterflies and insects. The river Lot is just a few minutes walk. You can hire pedalos and canoes just down the road at Cenevieres but we found the best place for canoeing is the Cele River - about a 15-20 minute drive away.

The owners Jenny and Nigel are very helpful and friendly. There is a bar and a very small shop and they do snacks in the evening. Their home made pizzas are the best we have tasted for a long time!

The two swimming pools are delightful and very clean.

Nearest shops are at Cajarc about 9km away so you have to be a bit organised which isn't a problem. We even borrowed bikes from the site to cycle into the town a couple of times.

Would definitely visit again and would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 108 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, bigger than it looks but has a small feel to it. It wasn't anything like full when we were there so had a very pleasant feel. The shower and loo block were clean, the second one opened while we were there. In a good position for St Cirq Lapopie and the Lot area. The Abbey and little village of Marcillac sur Gele is well worth a visit. In July and August it has a night market. Bread can be ordered for the next day. Meals are available in the evening at the bar. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jasper0505 9 reviews from this member

 From the time we arrived, the owners made us all very welcome, that included our dog that had a great time with Millie, their Retriever.

The site is quietly situated in a small valley just off the Lot and only a short walk to the River Lot. There is access to lots of dog friendly walks behind the site, you are able to wander for miles without the need to use roads.

The facilities are all adequate and clean, we didn’t use the pools because it was the last week of the season and they had been covered, but the weather wasn’t particularly inviting either… however, on a hotter day I bet they are most inviting…

The owners opened the bar each evening for an hour or two where we met up with other campers for a chat about the day, had a couple of drinks, all the dogs socialised and we all had a very enjoyable evening. Obviously being out of the main season it was pretty quiet allowing N&J time to spend with us. We enjoyed our evenings, everyone was very good company.

Well situated for visiting surrounding attractions La Cirq Lapopie is only 10 mins drive away with plenty of good restaurants despite its touristy appearance. Would recommend the site and will stay again when in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Seek80 1 review from this member

 Outstanding tranquil and peaceful small and very friendly site!

Huge pitches with a choice of full, partial or no shade in a wooded valley.

Toilet, shower and wash up facilities are adequate and spotlessly kept.

The 2 swimming pools are immaculately kept, and there is an on-site bar with shady tables on the outside terrace.

We arrived at the end of June for an initial 4 night stay and had to drag ourselves away after 12nights

Excellent hosts for whom nothing seems to be a problem - the fact that they are English was also a bonus.

The Lot Valley is spectacular and the site is handily located for easy half day trips to the various attractions - caves with 25000 year old Neolithic paintings, delightful little towns and villages (some seemingly impossibly perched on the sides of the limestone cliffs along the Lot river).

Thoroughly recommended, and we will be sure to stay again when we are in the area. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Ruisseau Du Treil child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Ruisseau Du Treil have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Ruisseau Du Treil?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Ruisseau Du Treil dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Larnagol      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Midi - Pyrenees

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


199 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement