Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Cedris Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn > Cedris Farm Reviews

Cedris Farm
Talyllyn
Abergynolwyn
Tywyn
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL36 9YU
Tel: 01654 782280  or  07787594169
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tornado17 1 review from this member

 Two Adults - Aged 40s - Tent Campers

A working farm with a few roaming chickens!

Site Placement :

Nestled in a beautiful deep valley alongside a lovely clear river, Cedris Farm is truly a wonderful place to stay. Working farm has the expected noise but for us we liked seeing the work on the farm going on. Did not detract at all from the peace. Big open skies and big rocky hills. Midges and horse flies can be an issue, but Sian keeps a supply of insect repellent available to purchase at the farmhouse. Road noise does not disturb and night time traffic is virtually nothing.

Pitches :

7 EHU fully grassed pitches with NO hardstands.

Numerous non EHU grass pitches.

EHU points are on one side of the farm track with pitch markers along the separating wire fence.

The camping field without EHU is in another area of the same field.

Toilets/Showers :

A small outbuilding that houses one male toilet and separate shower, one female toilet and separate shower, both male and female have two sinks with cold but no hot water. Showers are a little costly at £1 for five minutes but the cost of a pitch negates this.

The free freezer/fridge facilities are situated in the male side of the outbuilding, this you wouldnít know was there, a small sign outside would do the trick.

Cleaning of the toilet/washing facilities was adequate, a mop was provided in the shower but is in need a bucket to wring it out.

There is no way of getting any water from the shower to swill it out before you use it, should the occasion arise unless you pay.

If a mop bucket was provided, you could wash out the shower before you use it and afterwards.

We always wonder why people shower their pets in a public shower area. I would imagine site owners see some things they also would wish not to!

Laundry :

No facilities.

Washing Up :

Outdoor sink no hot water no cover. Freshwater tap in same area.

Chemical Disposal :

Yes.

Reception :

No reception building, but Sian is pretty much always there so you just knock at the farmhouse.

Wi-Fi :

None

Mobile Signal :

Non on 02 network (Suited us)

Feel Of The Site :

Small site with plenty of room.

Quiet, natural beauty, friendly hosts.

Basics done well.

Proís :

Beautiful setting, great wildlife, lovely clear river running alongside.

Quite close to some lovely places like RSPB reserves, Osprey Project etc.

12:00pm check out.

Conís :

No warm water for sinks in toilets for washing.

No hot water at pot washing stand.

No separate urinals in mens.

If site was busy, would the toilet/shower facility cope?

14:00 check in.

Considerations :

Noticed that the chemical disposal point had no water supply to wash out toilets from motorhomes and caravans so people were cleaning their toilet tanks at the fresh water tap point. I have more reason to question the person doing this than I have the site owners, but a tap at the disposal point would (hopefully) stop this.

Wish we could have pitched up before the stated 2pm time even though site was very quiet but appreciated the 12:00pm check out time, so canít have it all ways Some sites are flexible if quiet though. Being canvas campers we like the flexibility of a later checkout in case of rain.

Conclusion :

A lovely natural setting with a relaxing atmosphere. Prices were very reasonable even if you require electric which was offered at a very fair price should you need it.

If you are looking for late night parties, groups of noisy people. I advise you look elsewhere.

Another site we are genuinely grateful for the owners who allow us to share their bit of paradise. We would not hesitate to return. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Leon and Mieke 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful situated camping field. Dylan, the owner, nice chap, explained us where the nearest pub was. And, after we finished eating, picked us up by car to bring us back to his campsite. Thank you Dylan.

Mieke and Leon

Piet and Diny 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Loopy lo 1 review from this member

 What a little gem of a campsite. The outstanding views and the night sky (when it's clear) is absolutely breathtaking. If you want a little peace and quiet this is the place. Yes there was no phone signal and we could only get a few channels on the telly but it was bliss. The owners were very helpful and friendly. And there 2 boys :) Great place to stay.

Plenty of space, lots of hook up points, £1for 5 mins in shower was plenty of time. 1 shower and 1 toilet was never a problem never had to queue even if it was Easter hols and busy.

As for children if you don't want the noise of them playing don't camp during school holidays you will get that anywhere you go.

Definitely returning end of may 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: VR73 3 reviews from this member

 This site is set in stunning surroundings with a lovely stream running through it and views to die for. Quite a basic site, no hot water to wash hands with in the toilets and only one shower and one toilet each for men and women. The showers are quite expensive at £1 for 5 minutes but I suppose this is reflected in the price. The only downside for us was that there were lots of children kicking football's around the site for the entire week we were there. You were sat with your heart in your mouth waiting for it to smash into the side of the caravan. We did go and politely ask the children's parents if they could play further away which they did for a time but they soon drifted back. Apart from the fear of damage to our caravan the constant noise of a football being booted into a wall was far from relaxing. To end on a good note the site is close to some lovely walks and there's some nice places to visit within a 30 minute drive. I would like to visit again but the site being used as a football pitch means I probably won't and this is reflected in the stars I have awarded. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Garry harnell 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely flat pitch with a very close power hookup. There was plenty of space for our 2. 5m wide awning and vehicle to park alongside. The very clean shower block housed single separate mens and womens showers on 5 minute timers for a pound and toilets with handwash basins and mirrors too. Another shower would be useful but as it's a small site there's plenty of opportunity to shower. Part of that building had a room with local information regarding attractions, pubs etc and also two fridge freezers for visitors use. For caravanners there are easily accessed facilities for water provision and waste disposal. Alongside the site a fenced off stream is also very accessible for messing about in. It is shallow with a steady flow which obviously rises after very heavy rainfall but won't overflow the site. The nearest pub is only a few minutes drive away or 20 minutes walk via quiet country road at rear of campsite. You have direct access to the mountains for walking and mountain biking on the Cadair Idris side of the valley and castle ruins and waterfalls to check out within a ten minute drive. 5 minutes further drive gets you to the coast with free seafront parking, a beach with surfing / body boarding options and local shops and supermarket. I have to add that the views in all directions from Cedris farm are about as good as it gets in the u. K ! Can't wait for a return visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AL53HX 20 reviews from this member

 Had four nights at this site and, although the weather (is it October already ?) was abysmal, we still had a good break, it is a very basic farm site cold water only for personal wash and washing up, one toilet and shower, male/female, chemical waste is emptied down the farm drains.

We knew this when we booked so went prepared, the site is very close to the steam train station at Abergwynolwyn, close to Cader Idris, the seaside town of Twyin? and very very quiet at night (slept very well) if you like to watch a lot of TV, you may be unlucky, I couldn't get any channels despite using a signal finder, same with the radio, I could only find channel 198 on AM, no phone signal either, we had to go off site.

None of the above bothered us as we toured around this wonderful scenic area (it really is breathtaking when the weather allows, I went up to the Cad West car park to watch the low flying aircraft (saw three), the view down to Tallylynn? lake was magnificent, so, if you want a cheap, (£15 a night in July)quiet, very basic site with friendly owners, then I can recommend this site, if I can forecast good weather I would be back like a shot. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Markronaldward 1 review from this member

 This campsite is perfectly situated in a beautiful valley with easy access to excellent mountain walks and small traditional seaside resorts.

The site's amenities are simple but exceptionally clean and were always accessible in this recent half-term holiday.

The hosts are very welcoming and helped make our stay easy.

I would thoroughly recommend this site to all campers and caravanners with or without families.

We hope to return some day as we really enjoyed our three nights at the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CharlietheM 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, very peaceful, lovely location close to the beach and the Mach Loop. Friendly family who owns and runs the site. Clean facilities, fresh eggs and logs for fires available on site as well as fire grates. The only downside was the amount of midges on an evening we have all been bitten so many times. It was difficult to sit out on a night because of this reason. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

 OK so I'm a year behind the times, but the start of a new camping season has reminded me that this was the best site that I stayed at during 2016, and I stayed in many!

Very friendly, basic but lovely facilities, great family owners, wonderful mountain walks on the doorstep and the railway for added value. On a flat valley enclosed by steep mountain sides it reminded me of camping out in the Himalayas!

Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tazzie71 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed here during May half term week. What a lovely site. It's on a working farm. There are approx 7-8 pitches with electric, the rest of the field is used for tents. The pitches are all level & run along side a wire fence. Enough room for the pitch but not huge, as it was bank holiday I think they had squeezed a few more in which was disappointing. Grass is cut & collected & everywhere is lovely & clean. At £15 per night very cheap too!

The shower block is in an old stone barn/ shed type building, renovated to a high standard. Gents one side, ladies the other, each with 1 toilet & 1 shower. Even though it was busy we never had to wait for a shower. Showers are £1, which I thought was quite steep, but hot water is plentiful, also as the shower was broken by someone whilst we were there I can understand the charge! It's all brand new & spotlessly clean. In the gents there is a little room with a fridge & a freezer, free to use.

The owners are fantastic, very friendly & helpful. Walks around to make sure everyone is ok. They sell fire wood & provide a patio slab & fire pit too. They also sell eggs in the farm house.

The only disappointment we had was a family of 2 caravans, who turned up & from start to finish were rowdy, kids playing everywhere you controlled, even in the bins! They even came into our caravan & pinched out sons bike, toys etc! The owners were upset that they had ruined our holiday however they should have told them or maybe asked them to leave as we weren't the only ones to feel this way.

Also a few of the tent groups were noisy at night too, which doesn't go down well if it's meant to be a quiet campsite!

We would probably return, making sure it wasn't during a bank holiday weekend as they do tend to squeeze a few too many tents in!

Lovely walks, mainly cadair idris, lovely pubs etc in the area & the seaside town of Tywyn is only about 20 mins away by car.

Overall a lovely site, lovely location, will go back during a quieter time! 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cedris Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cedris Farm?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Cedris Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tywyn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1559 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December