Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Muggeridge Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Battlesbridge > Muggeridge Farm Reviews

Muggeridge Farm
5 Maltings Road
Battlesbridge
Essex   (Browse area)
SS11 7RF
Tel: 01268 769000
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Slowroad 49 reviews from this member

Well, as others have said, a nice quiet field in an interesting and slightly quirky setting, very cheerful and helpful site manager, but very delapidated 'facilities'. Floors mopped daily and loo roll and hand towels replenished, but difficult to make things look clean when they are as old as this. Also there's no hot water for washing-up nor in the washbasins, just the showers, the one which was working was OK and at least hot.

The price (10 for pitch and 1 per extra person) is great value for 2 people or more, but a bit steep for one person. Still, I enjoyed my time there, it was in the right place for my trip, and preferable to a crowded (and possibly even more expensive) caravan site.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Liamburrows@ymail.c 3 reviews from this member

Great little site for 10 plus 2 per extra person. Roasting weekend in June and as I didn't require elec I could pretty much camp where I wanted. 2 great local pubs serving good quality food. Basic showers and toilets which could perhaps benefit from a revamp. Great if you are into antiques and a train station 2 mins walk from which you can explore burnham on crouch and Southminster. The site office is in the middle of the antique centre and the guy john was most helpful. Will def be returning very soon.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jeffgame 26 reviews from this member

This is primarily a venue for shows and events, camping and caravans are an incidental. We were here mid week and it was quite quiet. There are several large fields with 16a hook-ups at various points around the perimeter. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were told to find a spot that we liked, there was plenty of choice. Limited facilities, a couple of water points, chemical disposal and blocks of toilets and showers in portacabins. Only the disabled one was open and although it was cleaned every day it was falling apart. The showers were usable, but although there were 3 in the block, if you wanted privacy only one could be used at a time. Battlesbridge is an interesting and quirky place, quite dog friendly. Advertised as the biggest antiques centre in Essex, there are lots of small units selling curios and collectables and a 7 story granary. There are several cafes, 2 pubs within 5 mins walk and a micro brewery with a huge choice of real beers. We eat at the Hawk, food was good and reasonably priced. There's lots of outside seating if the weather is ok, but they will let you take dogs inside.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Swanny65 11 reviews from this member

Spent a wet and windy Easter at Muggeridge Farm !

The site is a large grassed sloping field with a selection of electric points around the site. Loads of room to pitch. It appears there is a restriction on the number of units permitted on site as there could easily be room for 50+ units. As a result the site is quiet once the antiques center closes and the gates are locked.

All the staff on site were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. A micro brewery opened on site this Easter.

Battlesbridge train station is a 400 yd walk away. Off peak family travelcard to London 46. 00 with a journey time of under 1 hour.

Two local pubs in the village. We visited The Hawk. Popular restaurant, tasty food but a little over my budget.

The toilet blocks could do with a revamp but you cant have everything for 15. 00 a night inc electric.

Once the antiques center is closed entry to and from the site is via separate gated access.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Oldcodgers 21 reviews from this member

Easy to find when you know how. From A1245 signs Antique centre Battlebridge, over narrow bridge

Don't turn in the granary/ mill take 1st road on right Maltings rd after 20yards take left through the Antique shops. John can be found in the sales office. He was welcoming and helpful and showed us to the site. 2 large fields, not busy and we had a pick of sites with electric hook up. Facilities basic but very clean, did not use the showers. Great site for dog owners, they could run free over both fields. Enjoyed looking at the antiques over 3/4 sites. Enjoyed a lunch across the road, well known for homemade pie and mash. No shop locally so need to go prepared. Site good for Southend, Canvey Island, Chelmsford or exploring Essex. Nearly forgot good TV reception. Would use the site again

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charlmaree 1 review from this member

Decided to stay here and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and had a good walk around the shops.

Close to railway line and with the wind from that end we could hear them quite often. There is 4 Toilets on site but only the disabled was unlock and not serviced. No hot water to wash dishes and the basins doesn't look like they have been washed in a very long time.

It was very difficult to find the actual sales shop but when we did, the Staff (Jon) was very friendly and explained everything we needed to know.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SamP 5 reviews from this member

Just returned after 5 nights at this site, so I'll write this whilst it's all still fresh in my mind.

It's a large open field, with a small number of electricity supply posts near a hedge in the middle. The site is flat with a very gentle slope.

The most important feature to note is the facilities. As other have stated they are 'basic' and very much in need of some updating/repair/replacement, but they do work. If you are the sort of person who likes everything to be 'just so' you will _not_ be happy on this site - but then you will expect to pay more than 10 (+ 3 for electricity) per night.

Mind you, there was always toilet paper & paper towels available, which is not always true on sites which cost a lot more.

When we arrived the only other occupants were two chaps in a tent. Shortly after they left two caravans arrived, so things were not crowded.

The showers are in a 'portacabin' with three shower cubicles (there's another cabin with two showers). You'll need to lock the outer door unless you're happy to have company whilst you shower, and the cubicles are pretty small (if your Body Mass Index is over 30, you'll need to keep your elbows close to your sides).

Whilst the floor of the portacabin seems to have been cleaned each day, the shower cubicles themselves don't seem to attract much cleaning effort, so I found I was washing myself with one hand and the inside of the cubicle with the other.

Examine the shower cubicle carefully before you step inside. The doors are the concertina/fold in half type and you will need a handle on the inside if you are ever to get out again.

My Wife used one and was only able to escape again by reaching up & over the top of the cubicle to push the door open from outside - the handle on the inside was broken so there was nothing to get a grip on.

There are two pubs within a short walk. We didn't fancy the nearest (The Barge Inn) so we walked another 200 yards to The Hawk. The food there was good & not overpriced.

The only shops nearby are all Antiques stalls/shops. These are worth a visit, but I found it quite depressing that everyday items from my younger days are now considered 'Antiques' and priced accordingly.

There was a (Wedding? Engagement?) party held on the site whilst we were there & the music was quite noticeable - even though were were pitched some distance away - but it ended before midnight and didn't cause us any problems.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Venflonval 2 reviews from this member

I spent five weeks at this site in my mobile home while I was working locally on a short term contract. The site is large, the facilities are fairly basic but totally functional. Access is through the antiques centre which confused me at first. At night access is via a track and a gate. I read on a previous review that this was tricky to negotiate. I had no problems with it at all - not even after weeks of rain and lots of mud. There are no local shops so make sure you are well stocked. There are a couple of local pubs where you can get meals. I have two dogs - the site is really dog friendly and not too far from excellent dog walking places.

The staff are the most helpful & friendliest bunch you could ever wish to meet, I had a few problems with my van while there and they really helped me out.

The surrounding antique units and motorcycle museum make it a very interesting place to be.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vwman 3 reviews from this member

We chose this site because of location but regretted it once we were in. It took a little time finding our way through all the antique stalls to locate what might be the reception as there were no signs, however once there the owner was very cheerful and helpful and led us to the large camping field. The toilet block was an old container with doors which didn't close. Even the cubicle locks were broken so there was no privacy, and also no hot water. Generally in a state of disrepair and needing at least a good clean. Dishwashing was open air except the 2 sinks were full of tree debris and unusable and only cold water. This could be a pleasant site especially for antique lovers but it needs a good refurbish, and a few signs to make the most of it.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lovely 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst in the area. This campsite is very basic. The toilets and showers are in Porta cabins, although they are a bit ropey the showers are free and hot. The site is huge so you could probably always get a pitch. Jon the site manager is very friendly. There was a wedding in the field next to us but it ended at midnight and it didn't bother us. We paid 10 per night which is probably fair for such a basic site. The antique yard is a treasure trove and definitely worth a look around. We ate at the nearby Toby carvery. This is a good site for a couple of nights but I wouldn't stay longer as we were in a tent and would need more facilities if staying longer. If you don't mind basic this is a good site.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Battlesbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5836 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019