Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Orchard Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Glastonbury > Orchard Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Orchard Farm Certificated Site
Harepits Lane
Butleigh
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8TF
Tel: 01458 851 107
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Caravan/Motorhomes & 10 tents
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: RichardHKG 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site units nestled between Apple trees and has a calm and relaxed feel. Village shop, PO and pub very friendly. Villagers are welcoming and chatty. The camp sites owners and great hosts and on hand!

Great base for cycling to and from lovely Somerset villages. Also Great NT properties in area. Brilliant Stay

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SteppieBristol 17 reviews from this member

This is a delightful site run by people who really care about giving a positive experience to their guests.

Located on the edge of the pretty village of Butleigh, it's well located for lots of attractions, but you could also choose, as we did, to relax on site, take a not too strenuous walk through lovely countryside, and sample the delights of the village pub (about 10 mins walk from the site - very good beer and good, reasonably priced food at the Rose and Portcullis). It would be a good base for cycling as its set in an area with lots of quiet country lanes.

On one of the hottest weekends of the year so far we were very grateful for the shade of the apple trees (and can recommend the cider made from them.

It's not a regimented site. There are eight EHU - two on hard standing, the rest on grass. The facilities are quite basic - one ladies toilet, one unisex shower, and a washing up sink with cold water, but they are clean and well cared for. As its a small site, they were quite adequate. The owners are extremely friendldly and helpful with lots of advice on the local area.

It's a great place to relax for a weekend with a wonderful quiet calm atmosphere, but would be a good base for a longer stay exploring Somerset. Also check out the luxury camping pods which look amazing.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anton36 8 reviews from this member

Orchard Farm continues to be as peaceful and relaxing as ever. It is beautifully kept and the owners could not be more helpful or welcoming.

The new WiFi (£1. 50 per day) is not fast but works well. The new pods, which arrive later this month, should be a boost to the site as they all have their own toilet and shower. We did some great walks in the area and would recommend exploring the Avalon Marshes Heritage Walks

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Nanafarmarama 2 reviews from this member

Me my wife and two daughters have not long returned from orchard farm, this site is great and has to be in Somerset's top 5 best camp sites. The site is small with only 15 pitches I think but that is what makes it so special, there is also a lovely wodden pod which we stayed in. The pod is small but perfectly sized if you just want to relax and let the kids play, it has its own toilet and a fridge with a little kitchen area, it was perfect for us. The toilet block is lovely and clean with a shower which is hot and powerful.

The location of the site is a short drive to Glastonbury town, Shepton mallet and wells. We went to all these places as there is plenty to see and we are in love with this part of somerset. There are some lovely walks through the mendip hills and a visit to the Tor is highly recommended.

Orchard farm is run by a lovely couple called Steve and Kathy who are both lovely people, easy to talk to and will help you with knowelege of the surrounding area to help you plan your days out.

I would recommend that everyone who reads this review try this site, you will not be disappointed. If you love mysterious and magical places like Glastonbury or you love the festival this place is for you. If you love peace and quiet this place is for you. If you just love the countryside and a cracking local country pub this place is for you.

Like I have said this has to be one of the best campsites in somerset, I've been to a few in the surrounding area and this is up there with my best.

Many thanks Chris Kelly and girls.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Harryajh 12 reviews from this member

Lovely site, set in an Orchard. Owners very helpful Very peaceful with footpaths to explore. Shower and toilet block adequate. Recycling facilities. A lovely pub down the road within walking distance that serves good food at a reasonable price. Won't hesitate to come back when next in the area.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alanaperry 1 review from this member

Having recently decided to visit Glastonbury for the weekend for a tourist town break, we stumbled across the orchard campsite and decided to stay due to it's fantastic value. Once we arrived however, it became clear that we had found far more than we had expected.

The campsite itself is literally within the tree's of the orchard, making this unlike any campsite I have ever visited. This place was utterly charming, quiet and secluded with bags of character.

The toilet block was clean and ideal, we parked alongside our tent and in the morning we took a stroll through the adjoining orchard and field.

We found the owners to be helpful beyond all expectations, they really did go above and beyond to ensure that we made the most of our stay, even offering us a lift when our taxi failed to arrive! Thank you both for your kindness and hospitality.

When in town we visited several charming pubs, ate some great food, and really made the most of visiting the unusual shops and cafe's that us tourists tend to love. We made time to walk up Tor which I highly recommend, and with bags of history and legends of Avalon, we were fascinated.

If you are looking for simple charm, rustic authenticity and peace, I cannot recommend the orchard campsite enough, I will absolutely be returning when the weather warms in the spring, but in the meantime I will be booking to stay in the little lodge den that is nestled in a little part of the orchard on it's own. This campsite cannot be beaten on value and charm. Thank you for having us!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Katec29 1 review from this member

My three year old son and I stayed in the wooden pod. This was our first experience of staying in a pod and I think we were spoiled. It was clean, beautifully decorated, and had a real bed. Also having a toilet was fantastic. There is a small kitchen area with kettle, toaster and a sink. We took our camping hamper with us but didnít need to as there were plates, mugs, glasses and cutlery provided, as well as all cleaning materials you need. There is also a television, which was handy later in the evening when my son had gone to sleep. There is a nice little outdoor seating area, and the French doors open out to a beautiful view of the orchard.

There is a toilet and shower block for the campsite, and although we didnít use it we had a look and it was clean and well equipped. The pod is well situated for Glastonbury, Shepton Mallet and Street so would be great for a shopping weekend. I would not hesitate to recommend this to somebody thinking of staying there.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Minerva14 24 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site which we shared with only one or two others over the first 2 days, however as it filled up we found that the pitches are quite close to each other and not the recommended 6 metres apart, so if the campervan that parked next to us had fitted an awning, we would have been very close indeed. There is no play area as such and although children could probably use the main orchard area, the two next to us chose to play between our vehicles.

Steve is a very nice man and printed us some information for local walks. The farm opposite was quite noisy during the day and early evening with a chainsaw running for long periods so if you wanted to sit out and enjoy the sunshine, it would be irritating. We spend most of our time off site, walking so it didn't affect us so much. Steve advises that the farm owner doesn't live on site but was glad we'd mentioned it. The road that runs right by is not too busy but the traffic that does use it whizzes by so you're always aware that it's there and as there's house building just down the road it's likely to get busier.

The toilet block is clean and adequate however I couldn't work out how to pay and set the hot water up as there were no instructions so it was easier to use our own facilities. Levelling blocks are advised on this site as certainly 3 of the caravans and motorhomes needed them, even on the hardstanding pitches.

All in all this is a very nice site that is probably better out of season if what you want is peace and quiet in a lovely setting.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fen Marshall 17 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site with owners who are keen to do the best for you. It's a bit like staying in your own private orchard.

Local pub (without a sign!) does very good food. Street (if you must do Clark's Village!) is nearby but so is Ham Wall RSPB reserve and take an evening stroll up Lollover Hill near Dundon- amazing views. Lytes Cary (NT) is well worth a visit. The Poldon Hills (great butterfly sites) are a lovely walk, although you're never far from the road which is a shame.

An excellent centre for this part of Somerset.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ts17stan 3 reviews from this member

We stayed overnight as part of a sponsored cycle ride from Scotland to Devon & had 2 x 2 men tents plus a support van. Unable to plan ahead we rang up about an hour before arrival. The owner was very accommodating and sorted out an area in the Orchard we could use. The site was lovely and quiet with no background traffic noise. It was safe for children who were running around and it was very pleasant camping in an orchard. The owners were lovely people and even donated to the Charity we were raising money for. If you are looking for entertainment, bars & lots of facilities this is not for you. (although I believe there is a pub nearby)

If you are looking for a quiet, lovely peaceful site then this is the place!

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Glastonbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3177 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019