Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Orchard Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Glastonbury > Orchard Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Orchard Farm Certificated Site
Harepits Lane
Butleigh
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8TF
Tel: 01458 851 107
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 6 Caravan/Motorhomes
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

Photos (14)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sharon 1 review from this member

 We loved this site. From the moment we pitched up, we felt relaxed. Steve was very helpful.

We loved the quietness and the noises from the sheep. We watched a family help Steve feed the sheep which was fascinating and when the local farmer was moving the sheep up the road, my husband was asked to help herd them in one direction and not go off piste into the gardens opposite.

We visited The Clarkes Village which was 4 miles down the road and we also visited friends locally.

We would definitely be back and would recommend a visit. If you have friends or family without motorhomes or caravans, the site has beautiful glamping pods, for them to join you. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davidv 1 review from this member

 What a little gem. Steve the owner was so friendly and helpful.

Toilets and showers spotless. Very dog friendly lovely 10 min stroll to a pub serving food.

The campsite is as you would expect from the name in an orchard. So peaceful.

We will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sincla 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful site surrounded by apple trees. Owners are very helpful and keep the site and facilities clean and tidy.

We cycled to Glastonbury and around the local area and felt quite safe.

We also played golf at the local course which the owner, Steve, told us about. He also gave us a good incite into the local shops and pubs. Hopefully, we can stay longer next time 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jester132 5 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful little site. Very quiet and peaceful.

All the pitches are set in and amongst the apple trees. The facilities are good and the site is dog friendly.

Well worth another visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rads 15 reviews from this member

 Lovely level site in part of an orchard on the outskirts of Butleigh. There are two hardstanding pitches and the rest are grass. If you are at the far end of the site, the WiFi is non-existent, but a quick walk to the entrance gets some signal.

Views from the site northwards, towards Glastonbury, are lovely. It is very peaceful and well run by the owners. This extends to a comprehensive set of information which comes with your booking confirmation.

Not a problem for us, but the road by the site entrance is thin. If you have a newer wide caravan or a twin axle 'van, you will need to be at the top of your game when it comes to manoeuvring into/out of the entrance.

There are plenty of walks directly from site. We did a village circular walk and also a walk into Great Breach Wood.

There is a well stocked village shop/Post Office and also the Sourdough Farm Shop, which is essentially a garden summerhouse, stocked with some necessities and some luxury items.

If the owner is not there, there is an honesty box or you can pay by BACS later. Didn't try the pub, nor the tea room.

In short, a lovely site, which justifies a return visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Springr 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site, a short stroll from the beautiful village of Burleigh.

Good for walking as public footpath run beside the campsite.

Owner very friendly and helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: RichardHKG 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site units nestled between Apple trees and has a calm and relaxed feel. Village shop, PO and pub very friendly. Villagers are welcoming and chatty. The camp sites owners and great hosts and on hand!

Great base for cycling to and from lovely Somerset villages. Also Great NT properties in area. Brilliant Stay 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SteppieBristol 18 reviews from this member

 This is a delightful site run by people who really care about giving a positive experience to their guests.

Located on the edge of the pretty village of Butleigh, it's well located for lots of attractions, but you could also choose, as we did, to relax on site, take a not too strenuous walk through lovely countryside, and sample the delights of the village pub (about 10 mins walk from the site - very good beer and good, reasonably priced food at the Rose and Portcullis). It would be a good base for cycling as its set in an area with lots of quiet country lanes.

On one of the hottest weekends of the year so far we were very grateful for the shade of the apple trees (and can recommend the cider made from them.

It's not a regimented site. There are eight EHU - two on hard standing, the rest on grass. The facilities are quite basic - one ladies toilet, one unisex shower, and a washing up sink with cold water, but they are clean and well cared for. As its a small site, they were quite adequate. The owners are extremely friendldly and helpful with lots of advice on the local area.

It's a great place to relax for a weekend with a wonderful quiet calm atmosphere, but would be a good base for a longer stay exploring Somerset. Also check out the luxury camping pods which look amazing. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anton36 8 reviews from this member

 Orchard Farm continues to be as peaceful and relaxing as ever. It is beautifully kept and the owners could not be more helpful or welcoming.

The new WiFi (1. 50 per day) is not fast but works well. The new pods, which arrive later this month, should be a boost to the site as they all have their own toilet and shower. We did some great walks in the area and would recommend exploring the Avalon Marshes Heritage Walks 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Nanafarmarama 2 reviews from this member

 Me my wife and two daughters have not long returned from orchard farm, this site is great and has to be in Somerset's top 5 best camp sites. The site is small with only 15 pitches I think but that is what makes it so special, there is also a lovely wodden pod which we stayed in. The pod is small but perfectly sized if you just want to relax and let the kids play, it has its own toilet and a fridge with a little kitchen area, it was perfect for us. The toilet block is lovely and clean with a shower which is hot and powerful.

The location of the site is a short drive to Glastonbury town, Shepton mallet and wells. We went to all these places as there is plenty to see and we are in love with this part of somerset. There are some lovely walks through the mendip hills and a visit to the Tor is highly recommended.

Orchard farm is run by a lovely couple called Steve and Kathy who are both lovely people, easy to talk to and will help you with knowelege of the surrounding area to help you plan your days out.

I would recommend that everyone who reads this review try this site, you will not be disappointed. If you love mysterious and magical places like Glastonbury or you love the festival this place is for you. If you love peace and quiet this place is for you. If you just love the countryside and a cracking local country pub this place is for you.

Like I have said this has to be one of the best campsites in somerset, I've been to a few in the surrounding area and this is up there with my best.

Many thanks Chris Kelly and girls. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Orchard Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Orchard Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Orchard Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glastonbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4131 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement