Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fernlea Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Errol > Fernlea Certificated Location Reviews

Fernlea Certificated Location
East Leys
Errol
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH2 7TD
Tel: 01821 642791
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: IainM 22 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant CL site.

Warm welcome from the owner.

Choice of pitches including a hardstanding which I chose.

Water piped to each pitch which effectively gives superpitch facilities on a CL! Handy when showering in the caravan.

Centrally placed for Perth and Dundee and their environs.

Perthshire Caravans five minutes away if you need anything whilst there.

Will certainly return for a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Derek barnes 1 review from this member

 We discovered this site in 2015 and were pleasantly surprised. The owners David and Joan could not be nicer and more friendly. The site is small but very comfortable with electric hook up and water for each individual pitch which is great with permanent running water to the van which saves a lot of work topping up water all the time. Open outlooks on both sides and the village of Errol only 2 minutes drive or 10 minute walk away with the coop and good butchers shop. Nice walks around and the bus stops at the site both to Dundee and Perth at regular times (20 mins to Perth) There is a winery close by which we found very useful, and fresh eggs on site as they have hens and ducks, which are very amusing. We have now been back 3 times and will continue to use the site whenever we have a few days to spare as it is reachable for us in 1. 5 hours from East Fortune. For a c/l site this is superb. Well done David and Joan. See you soon 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nickyholly 6 reviews from this member

 Arrived later than planned so unfortunately due to time of year it was dark on arrival. Small site and not very clearly signposted and then lay out was difficult with a motorhome. Local pub has closed so any facilities will need to driven to (5 miles)

Right next to road, lawns & shrubs well kept as previously mentioned. Views ok and basic facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scottishdave 1 review from this member

 We had originally booked to stay on this site for three nights and ended up staying for eight.

Its a cracking little Caravan Club Certificated Location with everything you need if you have your own facilities. Each pitch has electric, its own water point and grey waste can be drained to water the various shrubs and fruit trees around the pitches. The pitches are stone chip hard standing surrounded by closely mown grass which has has the clippings collected. This of course means you don't trail grass into your unit which is a pet hate of mine. The surrounding plants and shrubs are well tended and the owners garden is a riot of colour. They obviously take a lot of care with their surroundings.

The one negative point I would say about the facilities is the black or chemical waste point. Its slightly Heath Robinson like and would benefit from a little reworking. Having said that its a trifling point, it works and can be used easily enough.

I had the pleasure of being able to stand in the washroom of my unit and watch the antics of the ducks and chickens whilst I brushed my teeth. I think my teeth have never been so clean as you could stand for ages watching the ducks running around tallking to each other. I never realised they were quite so vocal.

The owners are a lovely couple. Very helpful and informative about the local area and willing to stand and chat if you wanted.

When we were there we had a visit by the Caravan Club regional CL inspector/ advisor who came for a chat about how we were finding the site and asked to see our club membership card. It just so happend that our stay coincided with his annual inspection of the site.

As I already said, a cracking little CL that I hope I can use again and have no hesitation in recommending to others. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevehanover 8 reviews from this member

 Don`t want this secret to get out but that would be unfair on the owners

Excellent little site just what we needed to chill out.

The owner greeted us on arrival and informed us of all the ins and outs of the site.

The main entertainment of the visit was provided by all the hens and ducks, who are real characters. They also provided us with lovely eggs for breakfast. The owner is a keen gardener and he gifted us one of the best cucumbers I have ever tasted. We will definitely return to this little gem. Many thanks we had a Quacking time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maureenst 1 review from this member

 Fernlea, Errol--a site not to be missed on your travels through Scotland. We had booked for one week and stayed for two weeks as we felt so relaxed and happy.

The owners made us most welcome. He helped to set up our outfit and both were ready to give information and advice on any topic we mentioned, being very generous with their time. The caravans are on hard standing, surrounded by well kept grass, flower beds and fruit trees. Water and electric points are nearby and fresh eggs available for breakfast.

The entertainment we found to be 'second to none' and spent many hours watching and feeding the hens and ducks. The ducks and their tiny chicks were comical-- great entertainment.

We could walk through the fields to the nearby Airfield and Sunday Car Boot Sale. The village of Errol is a thriving village with excellent shops. Do try the butchers steak pies and fruit pies, in fact try everything in the shop.

Reliable buses to Perth and Dundee pass the site.

Glamis Castle is only one of the many places to visit in the area, it is exceptional.

We hope to return in the near future and hope the weather is always good in Errol!It was very kind to us. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Snapper2 2 reviews from this member

 Being unable to use a CL in the area that we had previously used last year we were fortunate to be David and Joan's first tourer visitors. We had business in Dundee and Perth. We were invited to comment on anything which we felt might improve things for following visitors. We needed to make only one suggestion, which was acted upon before we left the site. We returned again this year, and will, all being well, be returning again next.

Our little dogs enjoy the site, and are fascinated by the chickens and ducks. Points of interest include a couple of disintegrating aircraft nearby, the winery, ideally suited for visiting both Dundee and Perth, fruit farms, boot sale, vehicle auction, and (not just for emergency requirements)

Perthshire caravans just a few miles away. Eggs for breakfast. The best of free range and what flavour! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Linda2559 1 review from this member

 A real gem of a site, David and Joan have done themselves proud, providing a peaceful haven for those who don, t mind using their own facilities.

Lovely views, hard standing, electric hook up, great value for money with the added bonus of the free entertainment from the chickens and ducks.

Ideal for walking to the car boot on a Sunday or for visiting Perth and Dundee.

After spending a lovely week here, we cant wait to return, our opinion is. This is the 'best cl site in Scotland' go try it! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dutton 4 reviews from this member

 After a very long journey (5HRS). We received a very warm welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.

David is a mind full of information, on where to go and what to see.

Like the other review the Ducks & Chickens make you laugh with their antics, especially on a wet and windy day.

The weather could have been better, but it did not keep us in. We even took a trip to Edinburgh on the train from Dundee good day out. We took trips to Dundee & Perth on the bus (the bus stop is just outside the campsite)it saves you looking for parking lots.

Glamis is not far away well worth a visit, There is a lot to see and do, it's just a pity that it rained so much, but the ducks & chickens made up for the weather or lack of it.

For a new site David & Joan have done a lot of hard work, in the short time they have been open, just the odd tweak or so and they have got it right.

All in all a good site and great hosts. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Donside 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, with extremely welcoming and friendly owners. The campsite is ideally positioned for visits to the dealership at Perthshire Caravans, about three miles from the site.

Our trip on this occasion was to have a relaxing weekend and finish off with having some work done to the van before we headed home on the Monday.

The site is in a lovely quiet location, within easy reach of local amenities, but, who needs outside entertainment !, when we could sit in the van and watch the antics and comedy, of life in the little 'duck and chicken village'. This is a section of garden that is fenced off and populated by David and Joans collection of amusing birds.

To complete the eperience, what better, than to finish off with fresh eggs for breakfast curtesy of Mrs Hen.

We really like this site and will be regular visitors. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fernlea Certificated Location child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fernlea Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fernlea Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Errol      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5529 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement