Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Church Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Stevenage > Church Farm Campsite Reviews

Church Farm Campsite
Ardeley
Stevenage
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
SG2 7AH
Tel: 01438 861447
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100 Camping, 25 Wooden Cabins & 28 Bell Tents
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 32 Reviews
                7/10 from 32 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 Another one night stop here, this time on a Sunday night, I had an entire field to myself which was nice!

Lots of evidence of constant cleaning and attention of the toilets and facilities, due to covid. The showers were open which was a bonus - this is because they are individual units, almost alfresco in sheds, with signs up to let the staff know if you used them, so they could come and deep clean afterwards.

The site is vast, with lovely walking opportunities in all directions, with direct access to public footpaths.

£15. 95 for one night, no EHU, one adult one dog (no charge) 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I booked directly on their website and as in the past they always default the booking to include one child, please donít get caught by this as I have done in the past. However booking was simple and all paid online and details emailed on checking in process, etc.

I arrived and checked in at the farm shop who quickly found the booking and gave me the tag for my van. She told me which field was being used and off I went. Loads of space on the field, however it is quite sloping, but as we were in campervans it was a problem as we could chock up to become level. The bottom of the field is flatter, so if in a tent I would maybe consider pitching down there.

Very exposed site and we have wind all day long, however this is countered by the lovely views of the rolling countryside.

On site are plenty of compost toilets and showers here and there. These were kept clean and maintained regularly to ensure all were stocked, etc. Plenty of hand san in and around the facilities. Water points were plentiful too.

Loads of great countryside walking from the site and it is a peaceful area for a nice walk and get away from it all.

There is the Jolly Waggoners a 5 minute walk from the camping field and we booked this online and were greeted by really friendly staff who showed us to our table and provided table service throughout the afternoon. Reasonably priced and we also ate there and they were offering a good choice on the menu.

Campfires are allowed however they want you to buy a permit, and this is £12 to burn your own wood! Plenty of the campers had fires and the atmosphere was lovely. They insist no amplified music after 9pm, and they warden comes round to remind you of this. This was quite early in my opinion, however it did seem to work as all you could then hear was laughing and people having fun around the firepits.

Loads of space for children to run around, cycle, fly kites, kick a ball, etc. There is also the farm on site where they have plenty of animals for the children to pet, feed, etc.

Close to Stevenage, Baldock, Knebworth House, Hitchin and more, great location for visiting the area. There is a Budgens in Walkern where you can most things, and there is a farm shop on site with a good range of products. If you want bigger shops there are many large supermarkets in Stevenage.

I would return but only ever as a single camper, I cannot justify £34 per night for me and my wife to stay on a site with average facilities and especially not if the children come, they are charged at £11 each per night! Half your prices and I will bring the whole family and all my friends, however at these prices, it will only ever be just me. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site for 2021, once the Covid 19 restrictions allowed sites to reopen. Easy booking experience, cost £15. 95 a night, one person, one dog, no EHU - not too bad, but does get expensive if you are a couple and / or have children.

It's a huge site, with lots of options on where to pitch, most fields are have reasonably level bits and it wasn't too hard to get pitched flat with levellers. Great to have a campfire on the pitch.

Toilets and showers were open, and cleaned regularly. They're compost loos built over pits, and the showers are in individual sheds open to the elements a little, absolutely fine by me, but perhaps not everyone's cup of tea.

Visit the pub over the road from the campsite, great service, great food, well worth a visit.

Lot's of walking opportunities direct from site, direct access to public footpaths in all directions.

Would return. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Markd2 1 review from this member

 Lovely setting but the campsite was overcrowded with camping fields empty!

I think very expensive for a night with camp fire permission £66. Travelodge is cheaper!

There is a charge for everything and certainly it is a well oiled money making machine. Their pub across the road was really friendly and the camp staff were good. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracyw 1 review from this member

 Enjoyed very much

Staff helpful, accommodated for all needs

Good walks, lovely scenery, dog friendly, lots of space in between other people

Highly recommend and would return again 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night on the 4th July, the day the campsites were allowed to open due to the Coronavirus crisis - I'd missed being away so had to go

Booking was simple online, and all the info was emailed to me

Check in was well organised and painless, masks, alcohol gel etc in abundance around the site.

It's a very relaxed site attracting family groups mainly and young couples it appears.

Lovely campfire, and a cheeky pint in the pub 5 minutes walk across the road.

More facilities than previous years, composting loos (not for everyone!) gas powered showers, and washing up. No bins anywhere which is a pain.

Will be back at some point. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 A return visit to the site on opening day after CV-19 lockdown and booking on line was easy and straight forward. They do still default the booking to 1 x adult and 1 x child, so make sure you check and remove the child option if not taking any, as they will charge you on the booking

Arrival and check in was easy, they directed you to reception, and friendly staff greeted me and gave me a site map and wristband.

As before huge fields and pitch where you like, we have 4 campervans in the group and there was loads of space for us all and also plenty of space for games, etc.

They have composting toilets still and this year they have brought in a lot of portaloos so provide more facilities, these were kept spotless and fully stocked with hand san, etc.

Hand san and washing stations all over the place and showers too, which are gas run, but I did not use them as only one night, but they looked clean.

No bins, you have to take your own rubbish home.

Some planes flying in to Luton overhead, but not many and not too intrusive.

Fires are allowed, you can buy wood from the shop on site.

The shop stocks meats, bread, eggs, etc. And a good selection too.

The Jolly Waggoners across the road was open for opening day too and we reserved our table and sat in the garden for a couple of hours. They were ding a hog roast and serving food too, but we did not eat. The choice of drinks was limited, but I am sure this will get better as time goes on.

Overall a great site, a great stay and still a bit pricey at £13. 95, but they are making the facilities better and I will come again as on my own it is not too bad, but wouldn't come here with the family as too pricey. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 Just a one nighter here midweek with some friends, as we wanted somehwere to chill out with a campfire.

Facilities are very basic, we were in a huge field with a couple of compost toilets and a shower in a Portaloo cabin, which I didn't use. There is fresh water and a washing up bowl too.

To be fair, I don't think the site sets itself up for its facilities, it's more the "wild" camping type of feel with campfires which people go for.

Lots of walking opportunities direct from the site, with easy access to public footpaths. There's a pub opposite the entrance to the site which is really nice. Also at the entrance to the site is a cafe and farm shop, with a good butchers. There are farm walks and a "petting zoo" for the farm animals too.

Cost is £12. 50 per adult per night, and £9. 50 per child, which is ok if you are by yourself, but is very expensive for a family of four bearing in mind the very basic facilities.

But, it is what it is, and I will return for the open fires and the relaxed feel 


Date of Visit: May 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 A return visit to this site midweek so it was nice and quiet and we booked online. When I booked their system automatically defaulted to 1 adult and 1 child, however I did not notice this until I had paid and realised it had included a child on the booking. To be fair the guy at reception sorted it and promised me a refund, so maybe they are used to this happening, however this is something that I would suggest you look out for if you book online, wonder how many others get caught by this.

Site, as I have said before, if extremely basic and simply not worth the £12. 50 per adult per night. All they offer is a field, 3 compost toilets and one shower, which when busy would service around 500 people. Grim facilities but they do the job. I did not shower there as I only live localish and didn't fancy showering a wood hut.

The site is very relaxed and spacious, but not sure it would be the same at a weekend. The place was filling up as we left, and I have never seen security on site.

However with all the space it was great for games and the dogs and there is loads of walking and footpaths all around the site.

The Jolly Waggoners is at the entrance and sells fine ales and food.

There is a cafe and farm shop, it looked pricey, so I would suggest stocking up in the supermarket before you get here.

It is also a working farm so expect animals and there is a petting zoo.

I just wish they would drop the prices to reflect the very poor facilities on offer. Bring it down to around £6 per adult and £3 per children and this place would be absolutely spot on.

However I will come back as it is relaxed and cheap for just one person, I just would never bring the family here as cannot justify £44 per night for a pitch of grass with no proper facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TurboKerbo 2 reviews from this member

 I love this site. Very basic but very private due to the size of it. It's never too busy and the pitch sizes are perfect.

They have a fantastic farm shop and cafe on site and also a great pub just across the road that serves really good food.

I highly recommend this site but do think it's slightly over priced for the facilities included. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Church Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Church Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Church Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stevenage      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2741 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement