Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Honeysuckle Cottage Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Morpeth > Honeysuckle Cottage Caravan Park Reviews

Honeysuckle Cottage Caravan Park
Old Felton Lane
Widdrington
Morpeth
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE61 5DR
Tel: 0800 7076099
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 15
Open: January To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Static Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Whether748 1 review from this member

As of June 2019 this site has now been reopen and redeveloped to the most highest standards, with breath taken views. All new static caravan for sale, all a great price.

It’s a hinden gem so quiet and peaceful

You will be amazed with the transformation just can’t wait to go back 😃
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kerryq1008 1 review from this member

Im a bit reluctant to leave a review about this awesome site for the fear of to many people finding out about it, Little gem of a campsite if you want hussle and bussle go down the road, however if your looking for peace and quiet this is your place stunning views friendly people who cant do enough to help. Showers, toilets, drinking water fantastic, chickens roaming free not to mention the cockrel hes a right character!bill and meta trish and dave go out of thier way to help with anything. Excellent base for trips around beautiful northumberland myself my husband and two children aged 7 and 10 have already booked to visit again. CANT WAIT!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Basils campers 5 reviews from this member

Just had a miserable 2 nights at this site. It is quiet and rural so have slept well. Toilet block a disgrace - old, dirty and cold (although local spider population clearly very happy there) and It felt a total cheek having a sign up saying please clean after use when clearly they haven't been cleaned for ages. Only water tap for filling water storage bottles is above the chemical waste, which is a hole in the ground, so ended up buying mineral water to drink because had no idea if this was safe drinking water or not. Even if there had been indicator that this was drinking water we wouldn't have felt happy using it given proximity and splash risk from chemical waste. . Static caravans in someone's garden is how we would describe this site. Surrounding area not much better with a lovely looking lake and fields but all blocked off with big signs saying 'private' 'keep out' and notices warning of security protection. And all for £20 per night! If we hadn't been visiting family in the area we wouldn't have stayed and definitely will not return. Northumberland is an amazing place to visit and lots of lovely beaches and good pubs within driving distance of this site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SNes73 1 review from this member

Just had another fantastic visit to Honeysuckle caravan park. Super, little site and excellent for children to roam around in safety. Toilet and shower facilities spotless and fully stocked again. We found everyone on the site helpful, even coming too see if you need help setting up, Excellent value at £20 a night including hook-up with no hidden charges which is a pleasant change being 2 adults, 2 children a dog and awning. Close to a local village with a co-op store, restaurant and chip shop and also the beach close by

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kelliemarie 2 reviews from this member

Well what can I say other than we thoroughly enjoyed our two nights stay at Honeysuckle Cottage. Lovely little meadow where we pitched our tent. Amble, Druridge Bay and Alnwick are not too far away if you want to venture out. Our two boys thought the chickens, turkeys and cockerel that were roaming around were fab. Not to mention this cockerel thinks morning time is 9. 30am which was fab. So no early early morning wake up calls as you would expect.

The washroom facilities were great. Three separate rooms each equipt with a toilet, shower and sink and big enough for our family of four to get in together which was great. Always well stocked with loo roll and always clean. The owners were very welcoming and the little play area was canny for the kids. We will be back without a doubt especially at £10 per night. A bargain price for a lovely stay.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jasie 14 reviews from this member

Decided to come here based on reviews, but were a little disappointed. In my view this was someone’s very large front garden with a number of permanent tourers, a few statics squeezed in as close together as possible and a paddock area for visitors. The “paddock” was also an area to leave an almost derelict static which we later found was occupied and left over building supplies…. Not overly child friendly.

Take care with the EHU, it wasn’t in a good state and was rated at 5 Amps. Re previous reviews of noise, the work has finished and it was very quiet.

Overall we weren’t too bothered as we were only here to visit the local area, we had no time stay on site…it was just somewhere to pitch up and sleep.

Locally we did the obligatory Alnwick Castle (book online tickets for castle only – we wouldn’t have had time to do the gardens the same day).

Cragside was a favourite by the kids (7&4). As NT members this was great, but without it sounded very expensive. The house was interesting and the kids loved exploring the labyrinth and were worn out suitably in the play area and the necessary picnic. The 6 mile drive around the estate was a chance to relax.

Didn’t find much in Amble (there was a small Tesco, butcher and many hardware and tat shops) Although Spurreli, the ice cream shop opposite the tourist information centre was amazing.

Not a site we would return to, although the price does suitably reflect what you get, and is an ideal base for the tourist stuff.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alison Chandler 1 review from this member

It was our first time camping so didn't know what to expect.

Our party was in 3 tents and there were 13 of us from 2 to 55 years.

The 2 toilet/shower rooms were nipping clean and only 25 meters from our tent. We could have done with somewhere to wash dishes and there possibly was somewhere but we didn't ask. We were in the meadow on a slight slope which didn't raise a problem to us. There were a mixture of tourer caravans and tents there.

The owner was very friendly and came straight out to greet us with keys when we arrived on site.

There was plenty of room for us to play run around games with the kids which some of the other campers joined in with, a great family atmosphere was had by all.

There were 2 caravans on the meadow that had dogs with them which were tied up all the time so it didn't pose a problem for the children running around.

There are shops and takeaways in nearby Widdrington Station, possibly 5 mins drive away. We didn't explore the area because we only live 10 miles away.

We experienced brilliant sunshine through the day and torrential rain throughout the night and next morning so now I think we are well seasoned!

We'll be back soon I'm sure.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Carole58 1 review from this member

Little gem of a campsite. Small, quiet and well maintained. Facilities were simple but immaculately clean with plenty of hot water for showers. Good location for visiting Northumbrian coast, being approximately halfway between Amble and Morpeth. Near to local pub which served pub food. Nearest convenience store was at Widdrington Station about a 5-10 minute drive away. Small children's play area. Lovely, friendly owners who went out of their way to ensure a happy stay. Would be happy to recommend site to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AntonyN 2 reviews from this member

I stayed here with three children and a dog in our large tent for five nights beginning on one of the wettest days in August but eventually getting sunkissed on three lovely hot days. We had the best time ever!

The owners are without doubt the friendliest most helpful people I have ever met in my many years of camping. Nothing was too much trouble for either of them and they gave generously of their time in sorting out a nightmare situation for me that threatened to end our holiday before it began properly.

The tent pitches are in the 'Meadow' just beyond the caravan pitches. We had been allocated a pitch on the caravan field as the owner had thought we wanted an EHU. It was a bit too close to the other units for my liking and we didn't want EHU so we elected to pitch in the meadow. There are a few flat areas in the meadow and certainly enough space to get a reasonably flat pitch if you are not too fussy about which way your tent faces. We managed to pitch on the high ground just at the entrance to the meadow area.

To say it had been raining does not do justice to the torrential downpour that had arrived earlier in the morning. The owners had text me to warn me before we set off about the rain and that the ground was a bit boggy, it was. They clearly could not have warned me that my tent had decided to spring leaks through every available surface in response to the rain, although given the couple's attention to detail it would not have surprised me had they done so. I spent much of the first night avoiding the rain dripping into my bedroom, checking that the children weren't drowning and on the internet on my phone trying to find somewhere to buy a replacement tent in the morning. On learning of my predicament the following morning the owners found me a cheap large tent through the wonders of their internet connection within 10 minutes and within another hour we were back on site pitching for the second time.

I chose this site for its remoteness, and limited facilities and it did not disappoint. There is a children's play swing and slide, much like you might get for a large home garden, EHU for those who want it and three single occupancy shower/toilet units. The showers are huge, plenty of space to swing a cat or small child if they are young enough that you need to supervise them (child not cat, don't take a cat in the shower that's just weird!). The toilets were always clean and well provided with loo-roll. The hot water was free and delivered through electric shower units, always hot and always lots of water.

The site is inhabited by several chickens, a cockerel that appears to think that sunrise is about 09:30 (no bad thing it could have been crowing from before 06:00) and three turkeys. These have the run of the site during the day.

The owners have various plans for improvements having only opened up the 'Meadow' in the last year since increased demand arrived from listing on this site. A dish-washing area (the only thing I felt was lacking during our stay) will be put in and some hardcore will be placed at the entrance to the meadow - this will certainly help with vehicle access and egress.

Adjacent to the site they are returning to nature the ex-opencast workings. This involves men in large diesel-engined machines chugging up and down moving large quantities of earth. They started each morning at 07:00 and finished at 19:00, however it was only at those times that you could hear them as they prepared to take their machines out to the work area from overnight storage and then returned them at the end of the day and they look like the work is nearly completed. The owners expect it will be finished next year and then this will truly be a tranquil hideaway with only infrequent short-lived trains in the distance to disturb your peace.

Drurridge Bay (the most beautiful beach in the area is only 3 miles away) and Alnwick with the castle (very expensive but we were on a free return within 12 months visit)is only a short drive. Plenty of walking around and about and loads of history to re-live. We visited Newbiggin -by-the-Sea (faded glory; but the community run cafe at the end of the promenade and the art trail are worth it) also Woodhorn Colliery just outside Newbiggin, this free exhibition documents the long mining history of the area and is well worth a visit.

I don't generally go back to campsites, preferring instead to try new sites in remote places I've never been to before: This site has me seriously considering this strategy. At £12. 50 a night (including EHU if you want it) you just can't beat it, perhaps we will return.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pit-yakka 1 review from this member

This is a beautiful site set in gorgeous Northumberland with easy access to a diverse range of attractions and activities. The new Northumberlandia is only a few miles away and there's a wonderful farm shop and resturant near by.

The site owners are welcoming, friendly and really go the extra mile. The facilities are fine and the free range chickens and turkeys are super cool.

The site is well maintained and the toilets etc are cleaned on a daily basis. The clientèle are also friendly and helpful.

This really is a gem of a site and I will definitely be visiting again.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5555 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019