Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chafford Park Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Chafford Park Camp Site
Ashurst
Tunbridge Wells
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN3 9UR
Tel: 07798 502758  or  01892 740222
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 19 Reviews
                7/10 from 19 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nic041981 1 review from this member

We arrive late Friday night to the owner came out to welcome us and ask if we wanted a fire pit and wood. We decided not to as it was 15 for the pit and 5 per bag of wood. My partner asked about the fishing she answered she would show him in the morning. We set up and went for a walk to find out where the toilet block was and showers. The toilet where in darkness so had to pee with the door open wasn't very nice. The showers toilet and washing area where clean even though it was really muddy A for effort there. We had a really nice time the 2 nights we where there but my partner never got to go fishing. If you want a quiet night away from home I would recommend but it is a bit on the experience side. But you can walk for miles it's such a lovely area

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lewishardwick 2 reviews from this member

Arrived for the late May bank holiday. Pretty much told to 'go find a pitch', they aren't marked in any way. Just grab a space. Also, you cannot keep you car by your pitch, you have to leave it near the toilet block.

Facilities were very disappointing. Two toilet cubicles, two showers. The showers are metered, 20p or 1. The coin trays weren't locked so worked out free, though it does avoid wasteful shower users. Do be warned, the whole floor will get wet (no shower screen) and with only a couple of hooks for clothes you're stuck for space. Just a pity the toilets rarely had toilet paper and the lights didn't work, at all. The washing up area at least had light, that's a positive note I guess.

Plenty of information about local facilities, farm shops, pubs, taxis etc. Along with details of their hampers available on site.

Hired a fire pit for one night, that plus 2 bags of iffy logs was 20! Went out the morning after, came back to find the fire pit missing (fair enough) but also the unused logs pretty much a whole bag taken. Guess they'll be sold again next time.

All in all, disappointed with the site. A working farm it may be, but with the 'wedding venue' in addition, I can't help but feel that the campsite was an after thought and a bit of a cash cow!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Illi 1 review from this member

For this time of year we ended up being the only people camping which was nice. I felt as though the camping for this place was a bit pricey considering it being out of season as well. When we arrived we paid for 3 nights (10 per person per night) I would of said at that time it should be 10 per pitch per night. We were told where to camp and if we wanted logs. This we felt was pricey for what we got 5 for a bag that didn't contain many logs but were quite big. If we hadn't brought an axe there isn't much chance we would of got a fire started. We then later found out you have to pay for the showers. It's lucky we had coins with us. It was quite expensive being 1 for about 9 minutes. But by the time you put your money in and get changed you don't get the whole time because the meter ifs outside. It made you wonder what people do when it's busy because there is not enough hooks or dry space to get changed in the cubicle. Another issue I had was on the website it says about fishing. We weren't told any info so rang the owner to find out, she stated that the lake wasn't really open but there was fish there so if we wanted to go she would be there in 20 minutes to direct us. One and a half hours later we were still waiting, I understand it's a working farm but when you have people paying to stay there a little effort would be nice. We waited then decided to go for a walk, when we came back the owner turned up and seemed quite abrupt that she had come to see us and we weren't there and asked if we wanted to still go fishing, by that time it was quite late in the evening. It seemed if you are going to say your campsite is open, even expecting maybe one guest, everything should be ready. It says you can bring dogs but they have to be on leads at all times, luckily we didn't bring ours as the farm dogs were constantly turning up at our tent unsupervised and a few times we had to shoo them from going into our food or stop preparing our food to get the dogs away. If we had brought our dog, ours being on the lead would of got scared and annoyed by the other dogs. Washing up liquid and bin bags turned up on the last evening we were there. There were good points such as the location, the noises of the owls and woodpeckers and the tree swing, also big metal drums to have a fire in but sadly this is somewhere I wouldn't want to return, maybe on a working farm a campsite seems inconvenient as it felt by the owners impression

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hchukins 1 review from this member

The campsite is beautiful and gives a sense of privacy even when it is busy. The owner was friendly and brought round logs and fire pits.

The facilities let the campsite down a bit - there was no hot water for washing up and the lights in the toilet block did not work for 2 of the 3 nights we were there. Also the shower rooms were a bit basic, although they were nice hot showers.

That aside, we had a great time and the children absolutely loved running around in the long grass and playing on the rope swings.

The Chafford Arms and Little Brown Jug were both good pubs for large groups to eat lunch in the garden.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thelew7 1 review from this member

Just returned from Chafford Park campsite. It's not the easiest to find, but once there, that's quickly forgotten.

Pitch: very good size on the edge of the field. We were tucked away in the corner which was very nice.

Facilities: 2 toilets and 2 showers. Didn't have to queue as was up and in the showers before 08:00. 2 twenty pence pieces yielded 4 minutes of hot water. 20 pence = 2 minutes. I'd take your own toilet roll as it did run low on the Monday morning. This probably wouldn't be a problem on a non Bank Holiday weekend. 1 wash sink which was quite busy. We were in our tent.

Local area: the supermarket was only 5 miles away and made a daily trip there. Hever castle was a 20 minute drive and there are many more attractions close by. We went for a lovely walk when the rain stopped and Fordcoombe village looked very good. There is a local pub, but the chilled white vino at the tent was too good.

Owners: very nice and came around numerous times throughout the day to see if we wanted wood etc.

Will be returning later in September.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eddieh71 1 review from this member

Just returned from a weekend camping on Chafford Park Camp Site.

It was a test really as I had always been apprehensive about camping and had been persuaded by my wife and children to give it a go.

We were lucky to have the hottest weekend this year and had a warm greeting on arrival.

We got stuck in as soon as we arrived trying to work out how to erect the tent. All good fun. My brother (also an inexperienced camper) joined us with his family and we had two pitches next to each other.

We had a wonderful time. So relaxing and the freedom for the children made the whole experience worthwhile.

The owner is a lovely lady who could not do enough for us. Also her helper who delivered wood for the camp fires (if required) was such a friendly and helpful chap.

The owner had some lovely dogs that the children adored. The rope swings and woods were an added bonus.

Amenities were good and clean. Two toilets and two large showers in a converted barn for men and same for women. Kitchen area clean for washing up. Though that did depend on the previous user. I followed one particular camper who felt it ok to leave his grease and bits of breakfast all round the sink. Just plain lazy.

That aside the fellow campers were very friendly and helpful to us first timers.

One slight criticism is that the site could do with a few more toilets and an extra sink for washing up. However it is nothing major.

The local pub 'Chafford Arms' serves good pub food and in a gorgeous setting. So question is would I camp again and come to this site again. That's a yes on both counts!

Oh yes a big chest freezer and fridge available with plenty of space to use.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bartcaz 1 review from this member

Beautiful location and very peaceful - apart from the aeroplanes, which seemed particularly loud in the middle of the night!

The campsite was very busy when we visited, so we did have to queue for the toilets and showers some of the time. The toilet paper kept running out too. The bins in the toilets were overflowing, the addition of some sani bins in the ladies would help.

The owners came round often and were very friendly.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahhill100 4 reviews from this member

A stunning location with excellent facilities and the ability to have campfires is always a number one priority for us, so that was great. However, our experience wasn't altogether positive.

We arrived late (9pm) on the Friday night after a horrendous journey (obviously not the campsite's fault!) and found ourselves a pitch. We hadn't had any instructions about pitching in any particular place and couldn't find any on the noticeboard in the toilets, so set up our own space, which was fine although a little confusing. We were half way through putting the tent up when a lovely guy came to greet us and offered us firewood which was wonderful. Unfortunately as we had been stuck in such horrendous traffic we had totally forgotten to stop at a cashpoint, so he gave us a bag of wood and said it would be fine to pay him for that and our three nights' camping tomorrow. That was lovely.

Unfortunately about 10 minutes later the owner came to see us and very abruptly asked us where our money was. I apologised, and explained that we'd had a five hour journey and that we had completely forgotten to stop at a cashpoint, but that we would gladly pay first thing in the morning. We have a big tent and loads of cooking equipment etc. So we obviously weren't going to pack up and run off at 6am. She wasn't happy with us and made this very clear.

My boyfriend went out in the car first thing in the morning and we were able to pay the owner. She didn't even say thank you, even though I apologised over and over again.

Unfortunately this put a bit of a downer on our weekend, as it made us feel very unwelcome. I know we should have had the money with us, but we are regular campers and have never experienced a campsite that is quite so strict.

The other comment I would have is that there was a big notice in the toilets asking people not to take toilet paper back to their tents. I have never been to a campsite that has to ask this - and the reason why I think people do it is that there appears to never be any in there! If you're paying 10 a night per person you do expect there to be enough toilet roll not to have to a) steal it or b) bring your own. I was also slightly annoyed about paying for the showers.

There are lots of campsites around this area of England, and it is absolutely beautiful - however, there are campsites very near to this one at the same price which have really positive vibe and are very welcoming, so I won't be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whiskywhiskymac 10 reviews from this member

I returned to here after two years to find that the owner has started to developed the site. The barn, that once housed two portaloos, has now been transformed into a shower, toilet and washing up block a great improvement. All were spotlessly clean.

The field is huge and cut around the outside, with the middle left the fallow and wild flowers very pretty and it affords everyone some privacy. There are fire pits and wood is available, with Sarah dropping by regularly to check that everyone is comfortable a nice touch. It is a beautiful farm, in a lovely location there is a rope swing for children and woods to explore. We also saw deer and an array of wild birds including gold finches and yellow hammers. And you are away from the road so there is no traffic noise.

Dogs are positively encouraged and there is no additional charge. The owner has three, all of whom are very friendly and join her on her rounds!

I would thoroughly recommend this site and will certainly be returning.

One observation, the showers are wonderfully hot and (unlike at many campsites) very spacious, however it would be really helpful if a plastic chair or stool were put in each for your clothes. Nothing fancy would be needed, but it would make things a lot easier!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robbie Robster 3 reviews from this member

First stay at Chafford Park, it came highly recommended. Fantastic site, one large field with camping all around it. 'Fire pits' provided, wood can be purchased from Sarah the owner. Dog friendly site. The site is a good distance away from the road so no traffic noise.

A large barn at the top of the field that housed a sink with constant hot water to for washing up, two flush toilets always stocked with toilet rolls and two coin operated showers. Not sure what was in the Gents side sorry. Fab hot showers (just what you need after a long walk or cycle) they cost 20p for two minutes or 1 for 10 mins if you want a really long shower. The owner is a great source of local information.

This is a great site for walkers tackling the Weald Way or other local foot paths. Can't rate the child friendliness as I didn't take children. Facilities could do with more toilets and washing up, I would imagine that they wouldn't be enough if the site was full.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2708 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019