Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Airhouses Certificated Location

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

CLOSED: Airhouses Certificated Location
Oxton
Lauder
Borders   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed from 2017

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this site no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tyefoster 4 reviews from this member

The positives of this site, are wonderful views down the valley towards Lauder, a shower cubicle and w. C.

Spacious pitches each with EHU and water supply tap.

On the negative side:

The mile long farm road has numerous deep potholes that are difficult to avoid, especially when towing, and extreme care must be taken to avoid damaging your car/van/motorhome.

Beware! Not mentioned on their website, but, if you have visitors, (even for a short coffee visit), you will be charged £5 per person (inc young children) plus £5 for their car! which seems over the top as this is additional to an already pricey £20 a night CL.

Management response: Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are glad you enjoyed your 9 day stay at Airhouses. To address your negative comments, the one mile drive has had a considerable amount of money spent on it but there are a few potholes appearing. As this now part of a Court Action, we can do little in the way of repairs until after October. However the actual access to the Caravan Park is pretty good over all and certainly better than a lot of the Council roads!

Our terms and conditions when booking are very clear about extra cars and visitors. You opted for the low occupancy discount which is for two people. If you had not taken the discount your booking would have covered 4 people, one car and one caravan. We are not just a Caravan Park. We are a working farm and also have lots of different animals for guests to enjoy. We have lots of little Shetland ponies, alpacas, llama, pigs, hens and bantams. All of these can be fed, taken for walks etc. by guests. We and our guests also value the peace and quiet at Airhouses and if we had no control over the numbers, as I explained to you, then there is a chance we could lose this. If everyone had 3 extra people at one time that becomes a lot of additional people, cars, wear and tear etc.

Your visitors were coming for lunch and wanted to take the animals for a walk. All this is obviously free to paying guests so we do not feel £5 per person is unreasonable for visitors at the height of the season. In addition there are very few places you can park a car for £5 for a few hours. So we hope this explains our position

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Purplemadboy 4 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, very peaceful and with beautiful views (especially from the welsh pool pitch). As others have said huge pitches, water at each pitch though not on the service side (explained on website)

Portaloo and portashower are spotless as is the site. There is also free wifi.

The only slight downside is the mile long drive that is covered in loose chippings, you can't drive an faster than 10mph without splattering your car with stones. In saying that we can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lottydog 19 reviews from this member

Have just come back from a wonderful Easter spent at this site. So very peaceful and well kept. Pitches are very large and as an added bonus have water. The one toilet was kept very clean. We did not use the shower would have been a bit chilly first thing in the morning. But again it looked very clean and tidy although a bit on the small side.

If you love wildlife and farm animals this is the site for you. We saw deer & hares, one of which ran right across out pitch. We will definitely be back next year.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Macy 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful views, very remote, well kept pitches, did not use toilet or shower but they were very clean. Had a great day out with our grandson at Edinburgh Zoo and Vogrie Country Park. Walked into Oxton one afternoon very pleasant, took about 45mins with pushchair and had a drink at the pub before an uphill climb back to Airhouses.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 174 reviews from this member

A site of two halfs.

Good points. We enjoyed the total peace & quiet, the sound of owls, the pretty views, the free-range hens visiting for scraps, the efficient online booking, relaxed helpful owners and the high spec hard stands. These were huge (no. 2 Well Field was about 18m deep and 10m wide) and with enough grass between to fit in other pitches: it felt very roomy. For us, the individual stand pipe and TV point were luxuries.

Pitch no. 1 gets the best views, the most sun in the evening (the sun goes behind the hill that the site is cut into) and is the most exposed; No. 5 is the most enclosed by trees; pitches 2-4 grade between. The access track up from Oxton was not a problem. Dog walk on open fields not being used by livestock (as advised by the owner) and the access track verge.

However, the portaloo and portashower are basic. They are clean (and well ventilated) but lack electric light or background heating - you need a torch to use the loo or shower at night; the 'beach hut' for changing is cute, but there's no escaping the fact that there's open air between the hut and the free unlimited hot water of the shower. On similar sites, toilet and shower may be together in a portacabin or timber garden chalet as a family room where the tourist leaflets, book swap etc are dry, with a towel rail for background heat. But this does need capital investment, and I guess that's gone into getting the pitches right: the toilet and shower feel temporary. If your unit is self-contained, the shower isn't an issue. Otherwise, we're happy to recommend the site. £18 with 2-person discount, £20 without.

Plenty to do locally - Border towns with different characters, houses & gardens to visit, rivers to walk beside, rugby to watch, and some great golf courses.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tyefoster 4 reviews from this member

The site itself is well laid out and has huge pitches with plenty of room between each one.

Each pitch has information point, EHU, Aerial point and cold water supply tap.

Tranquil out of the way site with far reaching views over the village(Oxton)and beyond.

A great place for wildlife spotting.

The toilet cubicle and shower cubicle are spotlessly clean.

On the down side however, the shower cubicle has no area for keeping your clothes or towel dry.

There are no hard paths to the w. C. /shower area or the bins.

If you have a hose connection for your water supply, you will need a long one as the taps are not at the usual service side of the van.

The biggest concern was the poor condition of the unsurfaced approach road which has some appaling potholes, some of which could not be avoided.

These negative points detract from what is otherwise a great site and although pricier than most, I would still recommend a visit.

Management response: A big thank you to “Tyefoster” and “Arty” who have taken the time to place a review on this site and many thanks for your positive remarks.

With regards to the negative comments we now have a small single WC and a separate shower with lots of hot water and plenty of pressure. We have taken note that it is difficult to change as the shower area is small and we have put in place a “beach hut” for changing which is just in front of the shower. This not only provides a pleasant and dry environment but also offers a bit more privacy for the shower. Stepping stone are also being added from the gravel driveway to the Chemical Disposal point and the WC and Shower facilities.

Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the placing of the water taps. We did have all the facilities at the one point on each pitch but the Caravan Club inspector insisted we moved the water taps well away. The Caravan Club also ask that we request people not to attach their hose pipes to the taps in case of cross contamination. However, the taps all have non return valves so there is no question of contamination from our water but there could I suppose potentially be a risk from the actual tap from the previous visitor but we feel that should be up to the individual and is highly unlikely.

The Council single track road has plenty of passing places and visibility on the bend has now been improved considerably. Our own farm track is through unfenced fields so plenty of room and visibility is perfect. Following the very wet summer last year the road did suffer. However, the potholes are being filled in this week and the whole road is being resurfaced over the next few weeks.

You both mention price. There are not a lot of CL sites who will be VAT registered so 20% of the cost automatically goes to the Government! Electricity costs are high and each site is metered so we are able to calculate the cost per night of the electricity. There is also the cost of the hot water in the shower; the cost of the wireless connection to each pitch; upkeep; loo rolls; cleaning etc. etc. So I do hope you understand.

We have an on line booking system to avoid you coming 2 miles off the main A68 to find there is no pitch available but do hope that this doesn’t deter people from telephoning on route to check availability.

Again thank you for taking the time to write a review

Carol

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Arty 8 reviews from this member

This is a brand new cl, in fact we were only the second caravan to use it. The location is fantastic with views to die for,each pitch has its own water, electric and tv hook up. There is also free wifi available.It is part of a farm and is adjacent to a group of luxury holiday lodges.

If you like isolation you will like this site, once you leave the single track access road you have about another half mile or so to tow up quite a steep hill on an untarmacked surface.

If you have a 4x4 this is no problem but it played havoc with my citroens suspension.

The only other downside is there is no wc at present only chemical disposal, but the owners have plans to install one later in year.They are also looking at tarmacking the access road at some point in the future.

Unusually for a cl you can check availability, book and pay for your pitch online.

A bit pricey at £15 a night but all in all a good site with potential to be a great site


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Borders

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3690 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!