Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pillars Of Hercules Organic Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > Falkland > Pillars Of Hercules Organic Farm > Reviews

Pillars Of Hercules Organic Farm
Strathmiglo Road
Falkland
Fife   (Browse area)
KY15 7AD
Tel: 01337 857749
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 18
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: MikeandSam 32 reviews from this member

 Not a place for a relaxing stay for us. Probably good for staying with children. However we enjoyed the location; loads of good walks from the site and the village of Falkland is well worth a visit, plenty to see, cafes, pubs etc. We were able to get a meal and a drink and walk back to site along well marked estate paths.

Site is part of an interesting organic farm business with a thriving shop, cafe and nursery business but I had the impression that the camping side of things was not a priority.

Not a spot for relaxing - lots of activity around during the day and the overflow car park is adjacent to the campervan field and only separated by a rope fence.

Not keen on ball games being played close to vehicles.

On our first night lots of noise past midnight from teenagers camping in the cyclists camping area, no--one on site checking activity. Also seemed to be a couple of vans parking up "after hours" that left early in the morning.

We reported by email which was followed up on the morning we left. Advised out of hours contact number is on the pitch-up website but tbh not expecting to have to call someone I hadn't made a note and didn't feel like going online to root about for it. Perhaps could be included on booking confirmation email??

Showers and loos not the cleanest - and are immediately adjacent to cafe and shop. 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ccarri 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely time. The team were very accommodating when I requested a quiet pitch.

The farm is well known for its cafe and shop. The cafe serves vegetarian lunches and cakes. It was quite pricey especially at £3. 75 for a single fried egg in a roll but the other food looked better value.

The facilities are basic but nice. Showers and toilets were clean. They are shared with the cafe customers so can be busy during the day. There is a disabled toilet too.

The cafe has seating indoors, outdoors on a semi covered decking and in the garden area, across a small road.

There is a very basic fenced playpark with 2 flatseat swings and a seesaw. Unfortunately there were no toddler swings.

They also have a seating area under a polytunnel which would be great if it rained or you need some shelter.

We didn't venture far but I believe there are some woodland walks adjacent to the farm with plenty of parking. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tommy Smith 1 review from this member

 I've been pitching my tent during summers at Pillars of Hercules for more than a decade now, during trips over from Belgium to work at golf championships, and each year there seems to have been some sort of improvement that makes my stay more enjoyable than the last.

The cyclers (formerly Orchard) camping ground is quiet and comfortable and conveniently next to the organic food store and restaurant, and the well-maintained sanitary facilities.

The selection of organic foods, particularly the vegetables in summer is outstanding, and I always carry home a few of the many flowering plants that are available from their green houses.

The pleasant atmosphere at the Pillars is truly impressive, as are the peacefulness and good will of its staff and the customers it draws to its doors.

If these values are important to you, I am sure that you will enjoy it as much as I do. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lexiec 13 reviews from this member

 A new favourite campsite for us, in a fabulous location with excellent, clean facilities and the bonus of a farm shop and veggie cafe on site. We use the farm shop a lot - it's open from 9-6, so we could buy home made bread and eggs for breakfast and delicious sausages, burgers, wine, snacks, and all sorts of fruit & veg when we got back after a day out. Our son has a serious dairy allergy so it's always a treat for him to find places such as Pillars stocking interesting vegan goodies. We didn't have a chance to eat in the cafe but it was really handy to get take-away hot drinks when we couldn't be bothered to boil our kettle. And it was lovely to see that both the shop and cafe always seemed to busy with locals. The kids enjoyed the squirrel trail in the woods near the cafe.

We used Pillars as a base to go to the Fringe in Edinburgh (about 50 minutes drive) and also to St Andrews, which meant that we didn't have a lot of time to explore the immediate, lovely area. A shame, but the upside is we'll just have to go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bangell1959 3 reviews from this member

 Decided to try this site at the end of August for one night. Great little site on an organic farm just outside Falkland. Clean toilets shared by customers using the farm shop and great cafe. GF and V meals served all day with daily specials. Separate shower room and campers wash up room adj to shop. Two choices of where to pitch, first is a large flat open field which is further away from the toilets and you can take your car on to the field. Secondly is the fantastic orchard field which as the name suggests has plum and apple trees in abundance. No cars allowed there although parking is only 30 yards away. The bus stop to St Andrews and Falkland is right outside the site door and great walks through the Falkland estate start on the site. Great fire pit and rustic seating complete a great little site (firewood available to purchase at shop). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bluebird66 1 review from this member

 Great small campsite, split into two areas, The Orchard and further along is The Bankings, cars allowed in The Bankings field but not in the Orchard. Staff friendly and helpful, you book in at the shop. Toilet, shower and washing up facilities were very clean, also used by customers in shop/cafe. Would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tomsmum 5 reviews from this member

 Just back from a lovely but very windy weekend at this site. We were welcomed in the shop on arrival and pitched with 3 other family's on Bankings field, we were slightly concerned that the facilities were a bit distant from the site however this was all part of the adventure and we never had to queue for showers or toilets. It was fantastic fun to go hunting for twigs and have a great fire both evenings. Our small children all enjoyed the farm trail and eating eggs laid by the chickens on site. There is no park/ play facilities but the children had loads of space to run around and play ball.

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PRich 2 reviews from this member

 A last minute decision to go camping and we were dubious about going to Pillars as it said there were only 6 pitches. Please don't let this put you off. It is an AMAZING wee place! The previous reviews sold us to book so thank you, ensure this helps you book too. Very quaint, secluded camp site situated within the orchard and strawberry fields but only a 30 second walk to get to the beautiful organic café/farm shop. Shower facilities - great, campers wash up area - great, . Logs available to buy for only £5 if you want a camp fire (a must!), recycling area and everything is environmentally friendly. Wee short walks to the local town of Falkland (gorgeous) plus longer more energetic ones for the trepid walker. LOADS to do! Staff are sooooo friendly and helpful too. Need I say more. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Westcoaster 6 reviews from this member

 I stayed at Pillars of Hercules Bankings Field for one night in September and very much enjoyed the site.

You can camp in the Orchard or Bankings Field, and the cost for my tent and myself was £8. You can park your car next your tent in Bankings, but if you camp in the Orchard you park next the Pillars of Hercules restaurant and shop which is just a two minute walk away. The shop and café are very busy all day, but the campsite was quiet when I was there, only two other campers in the Bankings field, which is bounded by hedges and looks over farmland and hills. The site is very basic with just a water point in the field and it's a short walk back to the only toilets at the shop. There is one shower for ladies and one for gents and the loos are also used by the café visitors, and there's a washing up point for campers.

It's pretty dark walking along from the site to the loos - the darkness is nice as it's part of camping in the country - but a few lights to help point the way to the loos in the middle of the night would have been handy. Bankings was very quiet, which I enjoyed and bonfires are allowed (you can buy firewood for £5 a bag or pick up fallen wood). I got a great view of the stars sitting up late with a nice camp fire - lovely!

Pillars of Hercules is an organic restaurant and shop which stocks a good range of foods, also fruit and vegetables grown on the farm. There are lovely walks, including a farm trail round the crops, polytunnels and hen run. Falkland is a 20 minute walk away, and it's a short drive to Strathmiglo where there is a Co-op. There are no specific facilities for children, but there's masses of space for outdoor fun.

I enjoyed my stay and would camp here again - in particular I enjoyed the rurality and quietness. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Szabos 2 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from 5 nights at this lovely site. We stayed in the Orchard field and as we visited out of season for Scotland we were fortunate to have the field to ourselves for our stay!

The 2 camping fields (the Orchard and the Bankings) are part of an organic farm and cafe. The Orchard field is quite secluded and has a lovely fire pit which we made the most of for camp fires almost every night. The only downside is that you cannot park in the orchard alongside your tent, but there is a car park close by. The Bankings field is slightly further away from the facilities but is a larger field and you can park alongside your tent in this field. This field also has lovely views but is more exposed to the elements!

The Facilities were lovely and clean and modern. There is one shower in both the male and female toilet blocks, but despite this we did not have to queue for the shower once during our stay. The water for the shower and washing up area was always hot.

The Farm and Cafe are lovely, there is a farm trail that you can follow to see the whole site. We had lunch in the cafe on one of the days and the food was fantastic. It is all organically produced and vegetarian. The farm shop is well stocked, and although it is a bit dearer than supermarket prices, everything stocked is organic so you would expect to pay more! The Cafe and Farm shop are obviously very well known amongst the locals as it was busy every day!

This site is about 30 mins from St Andrews which is a lovely town and definitely worth a visit! The nearest village is Falkland which can be walked to through the woods from the site (the path is properly laid and it is a lovely walk)

If you are after a supermarket then the nearest ones are in Glenrothes. There is also a chip shop etc on the way out of Glenrothes should you fancy a quick tea!

We would definitely recommend this site, we visited with our 3 year old son and our dog and we all had a lovely time. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pillars Of Hercules Organic Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pillars Of Hercules Organic Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pillars Of Hercules Organic Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Falkland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4036 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement